We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black mold on my bottle of Sprite!!!”
Review of Sam's Tacos

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sam's Tacos
Ranked #76 of 104 Restaurants in Grand Haven
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
2 reviews
“Black mold on my bottle of Sprite!!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was in the restaurant today with my two young children for lunch. We love Mexican food, as my family is part Mexican. We had never been here before, so we were excited to try it out. They only serve bottled drinks here. I was half way through my bottle of Sprite when I noticed the bottle was covered in black mold!!! Absolutely disgusting. There wasn't a manager available to handle this so the poor young girl had to attempt to rectify it. I spoke on the phone later to the owner, who was very nice and apologetic, but tried telling me it was dirt. It was absolutely NOT dirt. He did acknowledge that there was mold on there and that he took care of the problem. Those that were also in there may have been told it was dirt, to save the reputation, but it was 100% mold. I know the difference.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spartanfan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Authentic!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Had dinner at Sam's Tacos tonight with my daughters and it was delicious! We were welcomed warmly, enjoyed our complimentary basket of chips with house sales and 5 different sauces of varying degrees of heat, and got our dinners in a very reasonable time frame. My 3rd visit to Sam's and will be back! The Soppes dinner is the real deal!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nachos & Coke”
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Grabbed a nachos & coke on a hot summer day. The nachos were better than most. I would stop again if in the area. It's a tiny place and might have 10 seats, maybe. There was a little wait time to get the food but have seen worse.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marzland424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Mexican food in west Michigan!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Always great authentic Mexican food. I have been taking my family there at least twice a month for over a year. For a while it was every weekend. We live 20 miles away but it is well worth the drive. No cheap food all high quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaleS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
“Dont Eat here”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Horrible Service, order got screwed up and then they said they wouldn't fix it and i had to pay for it. Had to threaten calling the BBB and owner before they took it off the bill.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbayl0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Tacos also viewed

Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 

Been to Sam's Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing