We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, Comfy, Close to the Action, and Great for Groups”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serendipity Resort & Suites
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming, Comfy, Close to the Action, and Great for Groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Whatever your personal taste in lodging you're almost sure to find something to like at Serendipity. Here are some of the things I, and the group I was with, enjoyed.

+ The units are clean, comfortable, cheerful, and individually decorated -- there's nothing here resembling cookie-cutter corporate hotel rooms.
+ The location is excellent -- one to two blocks from dining, shopping, and entertainment, two blocks from the channel boardwalk, and from there a short drive or leisurely walk to the beach.
+ The common areas are friendly and a great place for groups to gather; if you're traveling with friends you can each have your own private space in the unit but spend time in a nice shared space outdoors in the pool, at the tiki hut, by the fire pit, or in the grilling & dining area, and there are enough distinct areas to accommodate multiple parties simultaneously.
+ The owners, Sheila and Todd, are knowledgable, friendly, and engaged. If you're unfamiliar with Grand Haven they can help you decide where to go and what to do. You might feel so comfortable you won't even want to leave the resort but you really should -- Grand Haven's a neat little town.

Bonus tip: If you're not traveling with school-age children consider visiting in September (which is one of the nicest times of year in Grand Haven.) Crowds are lighter, days are warm, nights are cooler, and the big lake has had all summer to warm up so the beach is about at its best. It's an ideal time to visit western Michigan, especially the lakeshore.

Room Tip: All of the suites at Serendipity are individual and if you're not sure what to book ask the owne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AK_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My daughters (ages 18 and 21) and I stayed at the Lillie House for 2 nights recently and really enjoyed our stay. Suite 2, the room we stayed in met all of our needs. We had a nice kitchen, free Wi-Fi, a nice parking spot and 2 comfy beds. The bathroom was a little small, but the three of us girls managed. The location was very nice, just a block from the cute downtown shopping and less than a mile from the beach. We wished we had reserved one more night, but the room was booked. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 206SusanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My friends and I rented the Compass Rose suites 1 and 2 for a weekend in September. Unfortunately, on the day of travel, the other family's children had fevers and were unable to come. The owners gave us a full refund on one unit and my husband and I stayed with our daughter in the second unit.

We had a wonderful time in Grand Haven! The Compass Rose was perfect for us. It was incredibly clean. It is an older house so there was no central air but fortunately in September we didn't really need it. It is in a great location, approx. 2 blocks to downtown and 2 blocks to the boardwalk. The staff was wonderful, the pool area was really nice as well. We have an infant so we didn't use the pool but were able to watch football in the tiki hut after she went to bed (our monitor worked at that distance). The only downside was the beds, not the most comfortable. We will bring our own pillows next time.

We are looking forward to our family vacation next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littleli07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here on our first trip to grand haven in the Lillie House. It was a basic room and nice kitchen area but the bathroom was tiny tiny, but you're on vacation so we made it work. Very clean, but the home is from the 1880's so don't expect new, it's pretty cool actually. Anyway the staff is incredibly friendly and accomodating. The pool is right next door and has a a nice surrounding area. these homes would be a terrific set-up for different familiies wanting to stay near each other and having the pool right there. Then it is such a short walk to town and you don't have to worry about driving there or parking - especially during coast guard week which we happened to be there for. It is aso a short drive to the beaches. Overall happy with our stay and would return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miablue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Charles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

What a wonderful location! Easy walk to the quaint downtown and the waterfront. The indoor areas were everything we could want - large and very clean. It was so convenient to have a kitchen too. The outdoor areas were great as well - the pool was warm (which was nice on the cool evenings), the kids enjoyed the hammock and pool table, and the adults loved visiting around the firepit and dining on the deck. All the staff we encountered were kind and helpful. This is not a fancy "resort" as you'd think of a big chain resort hotel; it has much more character and we highly recommend it for a comfortable, relaxed trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden House which has a large deck. The back door opens directly to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Haven
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Haven
12.3 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#3 of 6 in Grand Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
7.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Resort & Suites

Property: Serendipity Resort & Suites
Address: 200 Franklin Ave, Grand Haven, MI 49417-1360
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grand Haven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity Resort & Suites combines turn-of-the-century architecture with modern and comfortable hotel conveniences to provide our guests the finest vacation experiences. Our adjoining homes and suites in Grand Haven are located two blocks from the world famous Grand Haven waterfront and musical fountain and are a ten minute stroll along the waterway to a mile of Lake Michigan sugar-sand beaches. And we're on the sunset side! Serendipity Resort is featured as the place to stay in Everyday with Rachel Ray, Midwest Living's Best of the Midwest and Lake Magazine. The adjoining homes and suites encircle a lagoon shaped swimming pool, tiki hut and grilling area which are all enjoyed by our guests. The resort is within a two minute walk of Grand Haven galleries, shops and several unique local dining establishments. Consider our hotel for your next family vacation or perhaps a family reunion or wedding or for that special corporate retreat experience. We are ready to serve and believe your vacation will be unique and enjoyable! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing