We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant on the channel”
Review of Snug Harbor

Snug Harbor
Ranked #6 of 104 Restaurants in Grand Haven
Price range: $14 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Restaurant on the channel”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Eating inside the Snug Harbor is an average experience. The food is OK. Service good. Bonus is the large windows overlooking the boardwalk and the channel. But in the summer, the outside deck is the place to be. It's small so at peak times, be prepared for a wait. But nothing is better than sitting outside, sipping on your drinks, watching all the boats in Grand Haven's channel. You can also watch people walking on the board walk.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MichiganCameraGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    155
    53
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Visit in the Daylight!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I were paying a visit to Grand Haven for a little get-a-way in between Christmas and New Year's. We are Michigan natives, but had never visited Grand Haven!! We stayed at the Harbor House Inn (very nice place, reviewed elsewhere), and Snug Harbor was recommended because it was close to the lodging. It is just a short distance, but in the evening with the temps dropping, we drove.

They weren't busy, were seated promptly, and the waitress/server was very attentive. We had a window seat with a view of the canal, although in the winter darkness, one cannot see much!!

We ordered clam chowder and salmon bruschetta. While waiting for our meal, we noted how dark the lighting was. We each had Nooks, so could read a bit while waiting for the food to arrive. When it did, we mentioned to the waitress about the darkness of the lighting. She indicated that a lot of people complain about it, but the owner/manager wants the lights turned down low. Well, if this was adding to some romantic atmosphere . . . maybe a case could be made, but this is essentially a bar.

The bruschette came out of the kitchen very attractively plated, from what I could see in the near darkness. The food was above average, but I am not a fan of eating in the dark. Our server was attentive, but we would only eat here in the daylight--after we had tried all of the other fine eateries in the area!

We mentioned the poor lighting to others at the HHI (even a few locals), and they all remarked about the quirk of the manager insisting that eating in the dark is somehow an attraction for repeat business. IMO, I don't think so.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pnedry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The scenery is good (sitting by the window). The food was tasty! Our family ordered the Nachos, Chicken dish (had mushrooms, cream sauce, spinach), and burgers. The nachos easily serve MORE than 2 people.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Aptly Named Snug Harbor”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Interesting menu, good food, nice view right on the river channel leading out to Lake Michigan in the distance. Dinner is not inexpensive, but the atmosphere on a cold December evening was cozy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreatLakesMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice View”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Cute place with a great view of the pier from the deck. My family especially loves the chowder and the hummus sandwich. Last time I ate here, I ordered the black bean cake appetizer and they were way overcooked. But usually I get the bean burrito and those have always been good. Huge portion and it's stuffed with beans, rice and cheese. Yum!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uketab16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snug Harbor also viewed

Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 

Been to Snug Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing