We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food service a bit slow”

Dee-Lite Bar & Grill
Ranked #62 of 106 Restaurants in Grand Haven
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lansing, MI
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good food service a bit slow”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

It was a busy Sunday morning and a waiting list to be seated. We went to the "seat yourself" counter to watch the cooks do their thing. Took ten minutes to get waters and menus. No silverware. Ordered the corned beef hash and eggs with a side of gravy and a ham & cheese omlette. One of the cooks went on break just as our order went in.

We enjoyed watching the cooking show while waiting for our ticket to be filled. Finally observed our order being prepared and plated. Twenty five minutes and still no silverware. Our server Monika was quite busy but responded to our requests promptly. Put some gravy on the hash and it was great. That could be a new menu item perhaps.

We would go back to Dee-Lite because we are crazy about hash and gravy.

Dennis & Beth
Dewitt, MI

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bruizer_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    46
    24
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food but service was a little slow.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Went to Dee-Lite in the middle of the week. It was a beautiful and warm day for the middle of Sept. I think they were busier than they expected because of the nice day so the two waitresses were a little overwhelmed. The menu had a wide variety of items and the four of us all enjoyed our meals. My Mushroom pasta was excellent. The pace of the service was not really a problem for us since we were not on a schedule, but there were some people there that were not happy. As far as I am concerned I would eat ther again just for the delicious food.

Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND RAPIDS
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best breakfasts in town”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We've been there many times. This time had the chef combine the salmon and the vegetarian (spinach, avocado & tomatoe) with holandaise on side - WOW, delish! Daughter had breakfast wrap and said it was very tasty and eggs done perfecly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PAMELA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Can't put my finger on it, but I just had FUN. Nice atmosphere, good service....it was a dee-light. Went with friends.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank hansonv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Mi
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tired menu, needs update”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I've eaten at Dee-lite many times over the years and most recently on a Sunday evening.
Firstly, the Sunday night live entertainment, well very good, need to crank it down from 11. Being a smaller establishment they would benefit from some sound deadening. One could not carry a conversation let alone communicate well with the servers. Many families with smaller children had to leave because their children were crying from the noise.
Next, the Lunch/Dinner menu hasn't change much over the years. It has grown tired.
The servers are still very pleasant & given its prime location downtown, Dee-lite still gardners a large crowd. Unfortunately it is in need of an update.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mddoc151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dee-Lite Bar & Grill also viewed

Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
Grand Haven, Ottawa County
 

Been to Dee-Lite Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing