We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worked Out Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worked Out Great”
Reviewed May 25, 2009

The location was great. The value was good and so was the room. The service - especially by the Bob (the manager) was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venkataraman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    35
    13
    17
See reviews for
42
42
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

Large clean rooms, free internet access and free breakfast (usual muffins and other baked goods, as well as make your own waffles station). Service was lacking at checkout, otherwise can't complain.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2008

My husband and I had a charter fishing trip scheduled so I went online and found what I thought was a fairly inexpensive, although not cheap at $75.00 a night, hotel. It was close to the marina we had to go to. Upon driving up you could tell it needs some paint on the outside and maybe some sort of flowers or plants or something. It just looks kind of dingy. We checked in with the "ethnic" clerk and proceeded up to our room. Their were stains on the carpet, cobwebs in the corners by the ceiling, the refrigerator didn't get cold and everything in the place was old and shabby. We decided to stay the one night since our fishing trip was bright and early but I went downstairs and got a refund for the second night. The second night we went to a different place that was the same price and 100% nicer and cleaner. I don't recommend this place unless you really don't care where you lay your head. To put it in a nutshell, I looked under the covers to make sure there weren't any bugs.

  • Liked — the water pressure in the shower
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mich2639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Haven hotels

Merrionette Park
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

This motel is fine, as long as you are not traveling with children. There is no pool or things for c hildren to do. They would be bored. It is a nice motel with little amenities. The continental breakfast was fine for us: bagels, cereal, muffins. I have gotten less for more money. If you are staying on the bottom floors, you will hear the people above running up the stairs, otherwise it was quiet. The air conditioning worked great. Room were very clean. Nice to have microwave and good sized refrigerator. Bring your own hair dryer or iron if you need one, none in room. Good value for the price, but don't expect alot.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — would have liked a pool.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jimandnango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcihigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

I have stayed at this property three times now in the past year while traveling on business. Always 2-3 nights at a time. The staff has been very friendly and helpful. The amenities for the price are great, including the refrig and microwave. The breakfast was basic, but always available when I have been there. (Coffee, juice, sweet rolls/bagels/toast) Otherwise, rooms are basic, but always clean and comfortable. They will even hold a specific room on request. Traveling all over Michigan on business and working within a reimbursement budget, this is one of the nicest places, and I always feel comfortable knowing that I am going to be taken care of when I stay here. Love to sit on the upper deck and drink a glass of wine at the end of the day.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank michiganelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We had a bad vibe about the place when we pulled in the parking lot. We came to Grand Haven on a last minute, one day beach trip and this was the cheapest price for a night I could find online. The picture didn't look to bad online but I was deceived.

The clerk could barely speak audible english and was very rude sounding when he spoke. We got our key which was to a room at ground level.

We went to check it out. Very faint yellow lighting, cinder block walls, awful smell, no shower curtain. There were punk teen ages kids smoking right outside our room and were looking inside and watching us, which creeped us out even more. We knew immediately that we could not stay here.

My husband went to tell the clerk we were not staying and he was irrate. He was cursing, I assume, in his native language and was huffing and puffing on his walk to our room. He had to check and make sure we didn't ruin the room and after he stood surveying the room, and remaking the beds that we hadn't even sat on, he refunded us. We went to the Holiday Inn down the road. Almost double the price, but we at least felt safe.

A very creepy place. I will be leary of booking a cheep place online from now on.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Brooklynsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2007

must have changed owners because staff was unfriendly and rooms shown to us had dirty bathrooms and paint/drywall falling from ceiling. staff very difficult when we told them the rooms were too bad to stay.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MichiganJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Haven
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Haven
8.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
8.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
44 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1010 S Beacon Blvd, Grand Haven, MI 49417-2614 (Formerly Fountain Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grand Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Grand Haven
Rodeway Inn Grand Haven
Grand Haven Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing