We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aggressive Bed Bugs sent my wife to the doctors...”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Reviewed January 4, 2012

At first it was easy to over look the falling wall paper and run down look because it was next to my moms nursing home. We had two queen beds, the wife took one, I took the other. After the first day', the wife complained that her back itching, and we thought it may have been a rash from her new sweater. Making a long story short, we finally located the source of the red itching bumps, bed bugs. The General Manager felt that a partial refund, two days out of a week was more than fair. It appears that the health department of Grand Haven was already familiar with this hotel, and failed to fully exterminate as requested.

Room Tip: For ten bucks more, you can located a better place...bug free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jimyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 141 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were originally staying for 2 nights here, but decided at the last minute to cut it down to just 1. This is no bad reflection at all on the Rodeway. Staff, especially the gentleman on duty when we arrived, were friendly and helpful. Our room was okay, very clean, but cramped with the addition of a rollway adult bed in it. We were on the ground floor and traffic noise made for a somewhat restless night's sleep. We did not partake of breakfast, but it appeared to be plentiful although basic. There was no coffee maker in our room, but we were able to get coffee in the morning before we left.

I will say that I feel that this Rodeway represents really good value for what we paid, with the addition of great staff, far superior to the ones at the last one I used in Chicago last year. The experience there nearly put me off the Rodeway for life. An opinion I am happy to revise after meeting the staff here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondenNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We've stayed here many times over the last 10 years. It's not fancy, but the price is right and it's clean and comfortable. It's within walking distance of the Big Lake and all that downtown Grand Haven affords. You can't beat the price.!

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room in back. This place is on 31 and the traffic can be a bit much in the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sudiepav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Not a fancy hotel but the room was clean, manager was very friendly and helpful with any questions we had. Only about 1 mile from the beach and Grand Haven's downtown shopping area. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We did not plan to spend a whole lot of time in the room so the broken remote and weak WiFi were a minor inconvenience. It's a bargain price to be that close to beautiful Lake Michigan!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

It looks kind of shady from the road... but the room we stayed in was very clean! Tubs and sink were clean, and so was the bed! The price was worth it. If you're looking for a fancy hotel this isn't it... but if you're just getting a room for the night before a Michigan's Adventure trip-- this hotel is worth it. Only bad thing- Old Tv.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinUpPrincess1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The front desk staff was great! There was a sweet, young but experienced girl who checked us in and she went out of the way to give us directions to the local attractions! The rooms were clean, a bit outdated, but very neat. Breakfast was good, waffles, bagels, cereal. Overall, we'll be back just for the friendly staff!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AWESOME911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Haven
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Haven
0.3 mi away
Best Western Beacon Inn
Best Western Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
496 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake
1.1 mi away
The Harbor House Inn
The Harbor House Inn
#3 of 9 in Grand Haven
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boyden House Inn
Boyden House Inn
#2 of 9 in Grand Haven
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1010 S Beacon Blvd, Grand Haven, MI 49417-2614 (Formerly Fountain Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grand Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Grand Haven
Price Range: $58 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Grand Haven
Rodeway Inn Grand Haven
Grand Haven Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing