We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Grand Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn Grand Blanc
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Blanc
Certificate of Excellence
Escanaba, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

When home furnace failed, I was forced to find a warm room for the night. I should have been concerned when I found a packed parking lot. The hotel was full that night, which made for
a noisy stay. When I called the desk to complain about rampaging kids at midnight, Mike, the nice young man at the desk, did come up and tried to get them to calm down, but, really, there wasn't a lot he could do without parental support. The rooms were a tad on the small size, especially the bathroom but they were frightfully clean with nice ameneties. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was fantasic. The scrambled eggs and bacon were a nice surprised. At check-out, the new desk clerk, Cali, apologized for the noise and offered me a deal on the next night as recompense if I should need it. I would have no qualms about staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dayoppermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    70
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
94
33
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buena Park, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was suprised to find such a clean, modern hotel. The staff was the nicest I have experienced in a long time. From the desk clerks to the housekeeping a big thank you for making our stay so nice. The pool was wonderful and I enjoyed having it to myself.
Breakfast was ok not super but ok and it filled us up. I would recommened this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kibtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

The breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had! They have waffles eggs and bacon, which I thought was way better than just boxed cereals and bagels. The room was extremely clean and well kept. The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amishler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed for a few nights.

First, the positives: Good location (off the highway), nice breakfast selection, overall friendly staff. Fairly clean. Loved that the room had a fridge and microwave.

Negatives: Our room and the entire second floor hallway reeked of smoke even though this is advertised as a non-smoking hotel. The smoke smell settled in our shower curtain and linens and didn't get any better at all during our 4 day stay. There is only one person who works the night shift, so nobody is able to "monitor" the floors in the evening. Each night there were people shouting, running, and slamming doors on the second floor. Our last night was especially awful - a family/group stayed on our floor and started partying around 11 p.m. and were still going when we checked out at 4 a.m. to catch our flight. We alerted the front desk, and he said there were other complaints about this group from several other guests and they had been kicked out of the pool area at 3 a.m. for being so loud. They were in the halls with bottles of booze and smoking and shouting to each other down the hallway. He said since it was just him, he couldn't monitor them, but how many complaints should he have gotten before they were asked to leave? Overall it was a nice stay. His attitude seemed like he was shrugging it off and there wasn't much he could do.

Overall, it has a basic motel feel - fairly clean but not exceptional. Good if you are traveling and need a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igotoou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were attending a wedding in Grand Blanc and a block of rooms had been reserved at this hotel for guests. As I am a person who is allergic to dogs and cats, we had concerns as it is a pet friendly hotel. When I called, the front desk person said pets were restricted to a section of rooms on the first floor so they booked us into a room on the second floor, well away from the pet friendly section. The first day we were there, as I was leaving our room, I heard a dog barking in the room right across the hall! When I said something to the person at the front desk, they said they had made an exception for this particular guest as he was staying at the hotel long-term. I tried to explain that dog/cat allergens can linger in a room long after the pet is gone and it would be a problem for an allergy/asthma sufferer to have that room, they didn't seem to understand the issue.

Our room was clean, but rather small in size. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet - hot, scrambled eggs with bacon/sausage as well as the typical breakfast buffet items.

Internet service was spotty. We were able to access the internet on Saturday, but not on Sunday or Monday morning. We were told that they were having a tech person come look at the problem sometime on Monday.

The pool area was lovely and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizbeth02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Nicely updated, very clean hotel. Comfortable accomodations. We didn't use the pool area, but it appeared clean and well kept. Breakfast was your normal hot buffet style. The staff was keeping it well stocked. The eating establishments are limited immediately around the hotel, but more selections are a short drive away. Just ask the helpful desk staff for directions.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadiesmom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

I've had a lot of trouble finding good lodging in the Flint area. The hotel looked nice from the outside, and the room itself was pretty good. The selection of t.v. channels was a little below average. The location is not a big plus. There's very little in the way of food choices nearby, so everything is a drive to get to. Also, the layout didn't work well for hauling in loads of work gear, but that doesn't apply to most people. The hotel itself was okay. The big issues I had were with the staff. With the exception of one worker at the front desk, no one really seemed to care all that much. I know it's work and workers would rather be somewhere else, but there has to be an effort to hide that fact. I really didn't see that effort most of the time. The worst episode was after the second night. At the continental breakfast, I saw the worker scrapping material off of the waffle iron. That's fine so far. Blowing on it to remove the leavings was not. That only violates every aspect of food handling/preparation that exists. Needless to say, I didn't touch the continental breakfast the rest of the stay (and they probably weren't to thrilled about the note I left at the breakfast area warning other guests about the waffle iron! Hey, just looking out for my fellow guests!) I informed the manager and it took over five days to get a resolution out of it. There's no reason it should have taken that long. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Check into another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbobKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Blanc
3.8 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Flint / Grand Blanc
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Blanc
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Flint / Grand Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Flint Airport Inn & Suites
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Flint Grand Blanc
13.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Flint
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Grand Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Grand Blanc

Property: Comfort Inn Grand Blanc
Address: 9040 Holly Rd, Grand Blanc, MI 48439-8336 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn Grand Blanc/Flint Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Blanc
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Blanc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Grand Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll have everything you need to enjoy a relaxing stay at the Comfort Inn(R) hotel in Grand Blanc, MI near Bishop International Airport. While here, visit these attractions near our pet-friendly leisure hotel in Grand Blanc: - Baker College of Flint - Genesys Banquet and Convention Center - Woodfield Country Club - Kettering University If you're traveling for work, take advantage of access to copy and fax services before relaxing with family, friends or colleagues in the indoor heated pool. Additional amenities at this smoke-free Grand Blanc hotel include: - Free WiFi - Free coffee - Fitness center - Guest laundry service - Valet cleaning services Get going with a great breakfast. Start your morning in Grand Blanc with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Our inviting guest rooms have the amenities you need to get refreshed and ready to take on the day. Room amenities include TVs, hair dryers, coffee makers, desks, safes, irons, ironing boards, microwaves and refrigerators. Whether you're traveling for leisure or business, alone or with your kids, Comfort Inn offers accommodations for every type of travel. Grand Blanc hotels like ours are proud to offer hotel rooms to relax and unwind no matter what reason you travel. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Grand Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Grand Blanc
Comfort Inn & Suites Grand Blanc Hotel Grand Blanc
Grand Blanc Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing