We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bigger than expected”
Review of Old Traders Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erindi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Traders Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

After many years of wanting to visit Erindi Game Reserve, we eventually arrived there. The drive from Omaruru Game Lodge was longer than expected and VERY DUSTY! We entered through the Omaruru Gate and drove all the way up the the Old Traders Lodge (not knowing we are booked into Camp Elephant! This is where they have the Selfcatering Units (15) and Camping sites (29). Erindi comprises of 70 719 Hectare. It is USE.

After a dusty dry road, we enjoyed a drink at Old Traders Lodge (overlooking a waterhole) and immediately spotted a group of wild dogs hunting a warthog. Two crocodiles lying in the sun and elephants came to drink.

We arrived eventually at Camp Elephant and at our surprise, these is a shop next to reception! Here you can buy some food products, souvenirs etc. The Camp sites are lovely, not to mention the Selfcatering Units (ZAR1500 per unit for 2 persons!) (about 140 euros). They are fantastic! Very expensive but lovely. Overlooking a waterhole as well where we had hippos all day long. We had no energy to take the safari drive so we actually saw very little of animals in Erindi. If I knew our unit was based in Camp Elephant (very far from the main Lodge), I probably would'nt have stayed there. It was a very dry season in Namibia and we had to depart very early the next morning. But our lovely selfcatering unit made up for all of what we did'nt see!

(At least we saw lots of animals the evening before, in Omaruru Game Lodge without any driving).

The staff at Erindi are very friendly and helpful and accommodating (also when we arrived in Old Traders Lodge) - the guy explained a shortcut back to Camp Elephant for us.

If you have time and money, you will enjoy Erindi!

Room Tip: Selfcatering unit no 15 is at the very end, so you will not have too many neighbours! As for the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItalyEleonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike T, Guest Relations Manager at Old Traders Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Eleonora,

We are delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience on Erindi! Thank you for allowing us to have you as a guest in our pristine environment and reserve.

Your compliments have been forwarded to the owners and we hope to see you on Erindi very soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 533 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our three nights at the Old Traders Lodge was excellent and very relaxing. The rooms are spacious and comfortable overlooking two water holes and the evenings were rewarding with even elephants coming to drink water. The game drives were excellent and we were fortunate to have a very passionate game ranger named Tim who really went the extra mile to make sure that all our needs were met. The large verandah overlooking the dam area is also very rewarding and one can see lots of animals. There was even a kill by wild dog one afternoon. Although the buffet does not have a large choice we were satisfied and found the meals tasty. The wine prices were reasonable. I would certainly highly recommend Erindi for a 2 to 3 night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarleneP986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Old Traders Lodge - the rooms are large enough, well furnished and clean. Bathroom is very large. No lights in front of the rooms - impractical when guests come to the room in darkness.
Superb continental and english breakfast - lunch was also ok - the dinner meals not very inventive. Often chicken and very seldom local meat. If people pay so much for staying at that location they can expect another quality of the meals (only dinner !!)
Game drives various - the quality and experience of the guides too. Some of them should show more passion for the drives and the search for animals.
Most animals seen at the waterholes directly at the lodge - that were great and wonderful sightings.
Overall a lodge where you can see plenty and different species of animals - the seldom seen too. Suitable for families too. For a typical individual holiday in Namibia is the lodge for our taste too big.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TakamiseTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights at Old Traders Lodge during August. It was exactly what we were looking for in terms of relaxation. My two year old daughter just wanted to see elephants and Erindi did not disappoint. A herd of elephant (with a large number of calves) frequented the waterholes in front of the lodge and it was a real treat for us. The hippo and rhino were also at the waterhole with their calves. Quite a sight.
It might seem to be "managed game" but that is exactly why you go there...to see game at your own leisure.
You go to Erindi to relax because your day will consist of game viewing, eating and sleeping. You will do a lot of eating as the food is good (especially the cakes served during the morning and the afternoon).
The luxury rooms are spacious, very clean and has everything that one needs for a two night stay.

I can highly recocommend Old Traders Lodge for a relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Any luxury room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSAWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was working in Namibia for a short term assignment and had a long weekend to get away for some game tours. The Old Traders Lodge was outstanding overall with the dining room looking out over two water holes and so there were a lot of animals. The buffets were the weak point of the visit but not bad overall, good variety of food but the quality could have been better. The rooms were great and looked over a water hole that had lots of animals visiting at night including lions one evening. The game drives were great and a big difference from many that are overcrowded with Land Rovers. I plan to bring my family back for a tour next year and would highly recommend Erindi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

By the time we left I felt homesick for leaving a place I had only been at for 3 days. The food is delicious, the service quality is really admirable and the game rangers are top notch by being well informed. Keep up the good work team Erindi. We will be back very soon!

Room Tip: Superior suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurgen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

One of the best Camps I`ve ever seen in Namibia. The lodge is perfect , and ,not normal for Africa, everything is in perfect condition and working. My Parents,retired, and me were totally satisfied with this lodge. Visiting NAM without visiting Erindi let you miss the best of Namibia. Thanks to all of the staff of Erindi for this beautiful days.

Room Tip: closed to the pool in the Family Lodge is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wagi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erindi Game Reserve
20.7 mi away
Klein Eden Guest Farm
Klein Eden Guest Farm
#7 of 17 in Omaruru
31 reviews
11.5 mi away
Ovita Wildlife
Ovita Wildlife
#5 of 12 in Okahandja
9 reviews
9 mi away
Haasenhof Guestfarm
Haasenhof Guestfarm
#2 of 10 in Okahandja
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hoodia Desert Lodge
Hoodia Desert Lodge
#1 of 9 in Sesriem
409 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Old Traders Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Traders Lodge

Address: Erindi Game Reserve, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Erindi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Erindi Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Traders Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an exhilarating nature experience, enjoy the space and comfort of our luxury suites. Guests can spot various game species on their way to one of two watering holes within the Old Traders Camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Hotel Okahandja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing