We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erindi Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our three nights at the Old Traders Lodge was excellent and very relaxing. The rooms are spacious and comfortable overlooking two water holes and the evenings were rewarding with even elephants coming to drink water. The game drives were excellent and we were fortunate to have a very passionate game ranger named Tim who really went the extra mile to make sure that all our needs were met. The large verandah overlooking the dam area is also very rewarding and one can see lots of animals. There was even a kill by wild dog one afternoon. Although the buffet does not have a large choice we were satisfied and found the meals tasty. The wine prices were reasonable. I would certainly highly recommend Erindi for a 2 to 3 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarleneP986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    120
    52
    18
    9
See reviews for
137
189
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schöllkrippen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Old Traders Lodge - the rooms are large enough, well furnished and clean. Bathroom is very large. No lights in front of the rooms - impractical when guests come to the room in darkness.
Superb continental and english breakfast - lunch was also ok - the dinner meals not very inventive. Often chicken and very seldom local meat. If people pay so much for staying at that location they can expect another quality of the meals (only dinner !!)
Game drives various - the quality and experience of the guides too. Some of them should show more passion for the drives and the search for animals.
Most animals seen at the waterholes directly at the lodge - that were great and wonderful sightings.
Overall a lodge where you can see plenty and different species of animals - the seldom seen too. Suitable for families too. For a typical individual holiday in Namibia is the lodge for our taste too big.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TakamiseTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights at Old Traders Lodge during August. It was exactly what we were looking for in terms of relaxation. My two year old daughter just wanted to see elephants and Erindi did not disappoint. A herd of elephant (with a large number of calves) frequented the waterholes in front of the lodge and it was a real treat for us. The hippo and rhino were also at the waterhole with their calves. Quite a sight.
It might seem to be "managed game" but that is exactly why you go there...to see game at your own leisure.
You go to Erindi to relax because your day will consist of game viewing, eating and sleeping. You will do a lot of eating as the food is good (especially the cakes served during the morning and the afternoon).
The luxury rooms are spacious, very clean and has everything that one needs for a two night stay.

I can highly recocommend Old Traders Lodge for a relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Any luxury room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSAWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was working in Namibia for a short term assignment and had a long weekend to get away for some game tours. The Old Traders Lodge was outstanding overall with the dining room looking out over two water holes and so there were a lot of animals. The buffets were the weak point of the visit but not bad overall, good variety of food but the quality could have been better. The rooms were great and looked over a water hole that had lots of animals visiting at night including lions one evening. The game drives were great and a big difference from many that are overcrowded with Land Rovers. I plan to bring my family back for a tour next year and would highly recommend Erindi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund, Namibia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

By the time we left I felt homesick for leaving a place I had only been at for 3 days. The food is delicious, the service quality is really admirable and the game rangers are top notch by being well informed. Keep up the good work team Erindi. We will be back very soon!

Room Tip: Superior suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurgen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allershausen
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

One of the best Camps I`ve ever seen in Namibia. The lodge is perfect , and ,not normal for Africa, everything is in perfect condition and working. My Parents,retired, and me were totally satisfied with this lodge. Visiting NAM without visiting Erindi let you miss the best of Namibia. Thanks to all of the staff of Erindi for this beautiful days.

Room Tip: closed to the pool in the Family Lodge is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wagi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walvis Bay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Camp Elephant was surely worth it! Loads of animals at the watering hole! The kids had a blast at the swimming pool and play park! The farm stall has loads of interesting goodies and you can really find almost anything if forgotten! Chalets are well equipped!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erindi Game Reserve
20.7 mi away
Klein Eden Guest Farm
Klein Eden Guest Farm
#5 of 15 in Omaruru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ovita Wildlife
Ovita Wildlife
#8 of 9 in Okahandja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
8.9 mi away
Haasenhof Guestfarm
Haasenhof Guestfarm
#2 of 10 in Okahandja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
173.2 mi away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
201.5 mi away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#9 of 35 in Etosha National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge

Property: Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge
Address: Erindi Game Reserve, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Erindi Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Erindi Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an exhilarating nature experience, enjoy the space and comfort of our luxury suites. Guests can spot various game species on their way to one of two watering holes within the Old Traders Camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Erindi Private Game Reserve / Old Traders Hotel Okahandja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing