We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting and location but.spotty service”
Review of The Homestead

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Arbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Homestead
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glen Arbor
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Homestead is beautifully situated on more than 700 acres , much of it on a high bluff commanding stunning views of Lake Michigan. Unfortunately, not all of their accommodations are up to the.setting. We found our suite's promised lake view was a sliver of water through the trees, and the rooms were shabby. Worse, our beds felt like the mattresses dated back to the resort's origins about ninety years ago. We offered to pay more for better accommodations and changed to a nicer suite with a great view, but still with terrible beds. Service was hit or miss. The staff with whom we interacted were pleasant and helpful but there weren't nearly enough of them and there seemed to be little supervision. At lunch we saw a couple wait nearly an hour for their bill, only to be told that cash was not accepted. We waited forty minutes for our bill. Management evidently is aware of this problem, as there were billboards even many miles away advertising for employees, In summary, a great location close to Glen Arbor, Leland and other towns, a wonderful lakeside setting, outdated rooms, and badly understaffed. All this for top dollar.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davemh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, General Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

We appreciate your candid response and would like to thank you. While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and beauty of the property, we are very sorry to hear that your accommodations did not provide the restful comfort necessary and that we did not provide the efficient level of service at the beachfront restaurant. If you would be so kind to provide us a private message (info@thehomesteadresort.com) with your last name so we can correct the mattress problems that would be appreciate. Please know your suggestions on staffing are also a top priority of ours.

We do hope for the opportunity to have you again as our guest.

Sincerely,

Adriene Kokowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 558 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

After reading the mixed reviews for this resort, I was a little worried. However, we truly enjoyed ourselves. The resort was pristine. The check-in was quick and problem free. We stayed at Fiddlers Pond because we had 2 pugs with us. We felt the price for the room was reasonable given that there was no extra charge for the pets and no resort fee tacked on like a lot of other resorts do. Our room was very clean and of a good size. There was a pool and hot tub right in front of our room. We used the hot tub and it was clean and very relaxing. We had dinner the first night at Cafe Manitou. Although the menu had limited selection, the food was very good and you can't beat the location overlooking Lake Michigan! QC's has a decent breakfast buffet which we ate at twice. All in all, a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pugchic76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Public Relations Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of you visit to The Homestead. We're thrilled to hear that you (and your 2 pugs) enjoyed the accommodations, Village pool amenities and you Cafe Manitou dining experience.

We hop to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at the Inn at The Homestead;and were extremely disappointed for the $$. The room was outdated, had a tube tv and the furnishings were not in great condition, especially for a room in the $350 per night range. We chose the Inn for accommodation due to views of the water and proximity of the beach. I have friends that stayed in Little Belle who were very pleased with the accommodations, but it is not close to the water. The condition of basically everything near the pool and water was also disappointing. We ate at Nona's on the property and had a really good dinner,

Room Tip: Do not stay at the Inn, stay in a condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank mgoblue81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Homestead for your recent stay. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful meal at Nonna's and that your friends enjoyed Little Belle during their visit. Our four small hotels certainly offer not only different locations, but different amenities and unique decor. The Inn is a period design from when the building was originally built in the 1920's. Just last year we updated the televisions in the guest rooms and main sitting areas of the suites to flat panel, smart TV's. This year, new bed coverings were purchased. We do hope that you will consider visiting us again. Perhaps we can seek alternate accommodations that may suit you better. We also just completed renovations of the restroom/locker facilities at the Beach Club. Our next undertaking will be the boardwalk and pier as our winters have taken a toll. Please feel free to contact me directly at jamie@thehomesteadresort.com.
Sincerely,

Jamie Jewell
VP, Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at The Homestead in Suite 11 of Little Belle during the second week of July. Check in and check out were both quick and professional. The suite was beautiful, immaculate, and tastefully decorated. Loved the jacuzzi and two-head shower! Each of the maids for our room made an effort to accommodate our schedule and one even came back after her shift to bring us an extra blanket! The resort was beautiful, well maintained, and away from the hectic pace of Glen Arbor. We kayaked the Crystal River, hiked the dunes, and enjoyed wonderful meals at the local restaurants, all within minutes of the Homestead. I was a bit concerned about booking the Homestead due to the mixed reviews on TripAdvisor, but the accommodations at Little Belle were lovely, renovated, and tastefully tucked among the shops of the village at the resort (without any village noise). Our experience at The Homestead was pretty much perfect and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in the area!

Room Tip: The second floor suites of Little Belle have cathedral ceilings and look over the village. Definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, General Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for sharing specific information about your visit to The Homestead with us and others. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the area, the accommodations and amenities on property. We hope to have you as our guest again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Located right on the shores of Lake Michigan and in the middle of sleeping bear dunes. Townhouse was huge and clean with amazing views. Pool area next to Beach was great despite the lackluster staff. If you need to stay in this area for any reason this is the place to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank The33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, General Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This has been my favorite place to stay for the past 5 of the last 6 yrs. You can walk along lake MI in the morning and it AWESOME. We have always stayed at Fiddler's pond because we have a med. size dog. Every morning, I would walk through the wooded walking path to the swim club to access the lake. Wonderful walk for me, very peaceful & refreshing. I was able to handle the outdated accomodations (at F's P)& they no longer plant flowers in the flower boxes on the 2nd flr private decks of the pet bldg. Due to an over abundance of skunks, raccoons & mosquitos this year, we had to leave for the safety of our dog who has been with us here every time in the past. The front desk rec'd approval from Adriene - VP for us to get our compete deposit back, which was very accomodating. I was heart broken to leave, since this has always been the place I wanted to stay at.
While unloading luggage my husband came upon a skunk with her baby by the Registration pool. He had to work at getting the skunk to leave and he saw her enter a hole nearby. Luckily we had not taken our dog out of our vehicle yet. I personally saw a raccoon on the steps of the Registration steps when we were checking in at 6pm. In the past 5 stays there I had only seen 1-2 raccoons total over by Nonni's. We talked it over at dinner and decided we would have to leave due to the safety of our dog. I was the one who always wanted to stay here & we had just driven 6-7 hrs to get here. My suggestion to Mngmt they need to control the over abundance of wildlife for the safety of the clients.

Room Tip: If you have a small or medium size dog you may have to watch for skunks near Fiddler's Pond. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Public Relations Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

We are sorry to hear about your recent experience. Given our rural, country location, animal control is a necessity. Please be assured that we will follow up to be certain that the area is safe for our guests. We are sorry that you had to cut your vacation short and hope that we will have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stay away from this place. We checked out on 4/4/14 and in the lobby we met 4 other couples who also said they would never return. Accommodations are not very nice, it's difficult to get around, the service is horrendous and the restaurants (Cafe Manitou) are staffed with trainees from Jamaica. 2 hours to get a coffee and dessert. Bugs in room and outdated furnishings. Go to Old Mission Pennisula and stay at a winery and dine at The Boathouse instead! They know service and quality!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jlbuzjlbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, General Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at The Homestead. We are continually working to hire and train the best associates possible while continuing to update our facilities to ensure we're providing the best facilities possible. We're sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be shared with others in our organization so that we can work to improve.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Arbor
12.8 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
80 reviews
20.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
21.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
361 reviews
21.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.7 mi away
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
#2 of 3 in Glen Arbor
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead

Address: 1 Wood ridge rd, Glen Arbor, MI 49636
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glen Arbor
Price Range: $93 - $927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
Homestead Glen Arbor
Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
The Homestead Michigan/Glen Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing