We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Travel at in Northern Michigan”
Review of The Homestead

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Arbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Homestead
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glen Arbor
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed at the Homestead on a cold snowy night. Parking was at least 50 yards away from my hotel room at the Inn. On a nice day, this would be fine. That night, it was very cold and the walk was very uncomfortable.

The room was old but very clean. The TV was also old--not a flat screen. For me this is an issue as a business traveler but others may not care. Desk is small but there were lots of outlets for my computer, cellphone, etc. I did like the in-room fireplace and the view of the Lake was special.

The property itself is somewhat hard to navigate, and you must drive everywhere.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choosing a room from the website is a bit unclear. Call the property and they are happy to assist yo...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Russ H,
Thank you for your recent visit and review from a business traveler perspective. We hope you enjoyed a productive environment.

You will be pleased to know that we will be making some updates to The Inn within the next few months. The updates will provide the luxury of a modern hotel with the charm of an historic inn. We do hope to see you again soon for a visit.

Sincerely,

Jamie Jewell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for The Homestead
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 549 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

While I love The Homestead this is my second trip this year with the same kind of experience so I felt the need to review it after last weekends visit. I will say that I was checked in both visits by the same sweet and helpful girl(I wish I could remember her name), the ski lift guys were all very nice and helpful, the bartender at Beppi's was very helpful in assisting us when our waitress was busy talking to a girl at the bar. We ended up at Beppi's after walking into Noona's at our reservation time and waited to be greeted for 5 minutes and decided to leave when another man was searching for his server. We had similar service at Noona's when we visited this summer! The food was great though, just make sure you don't expect anything to get to you in a normal amount of time. Also, the girl working the rental/lift tickets Saturday morning clearly partied the night before and her cheerfulness was less than inviting. I totally recommend a getaway here...summer and winter! Just don't expect to be charmed by all of the staff!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lindsay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, General Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We are very sorry that you have not received a quality guest experience in a couple of our points of sale. We continue to work very hard to train our associates to provide the level of service our guests desire and deserve. It is a great disappointment to us all when we fail to do so. Please be assured that your comments will be used for continued training purposes.

Sincerely,

Adriene Kokowicz,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at 5D Tall Timbers for a weekend ski trip. The resort is next to Lake Michigan and the skiing, while not for the professional skier looking for a black diamond experience, is beautiful and family friendly. The location of the resort is ideal. The condo has a gorgeous view of Lake Michigan with just the river and small dune line between you and the water. The décor is dated and a little dingy, but the three story lay out with a loft helps separate sleeping for couples or extended families as we were. The Motel 6 that we stayed in a few weekends ago was more modern and cleaner, but with this view I'm sure the owners don't have to maintain it perfectly to keep it rented. You are paying for the location period amen. The heating system in the condo was awful and the sliding glass door and window in the kitchen make it impossible to get it above 60 degrees after three days of the heat running in all other areas. The bathrooms are tiny and not luxurious by any stretch of the imagination. The ski facility is great in some areas - less than average in others. Great ski lessons, instructors and managers that were very accommodating, friendly and helpful. The rental department and office for purchasing lift tickets were very unorganized - no signs telling you which of several counters or lines to wait in so we had to try a few before getting it right. The rental equipment area is well staffed so the wait wasn't as long but they were not super interested in getting the equipment adjusted or personal service by any stretch of the imagination. It was a good value though as we were able to get free rental equipment and lift tickets with the lessons for our kids and with the buy one get one deals on lift tickets for adults that you can get at most Shell stations, it was a very reasonable way for all of us to ski at flexible times to accommodate the kids needing to go back to the condo etc. All in all, a great family vacation spot as long as your expectations are for the experience and not a 5 star luxury resort.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avery131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear avery131,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. The Homestead does not rent the unit you are referring to. Perhaps it was rented through a private owner or an independent rental agency? All of the condominiums and homes are privately owned. Not all of the owners participate in our rental program. Those that do are held to a high level of quality standards and are inspected annually. In addition to the vacation homes and condominiums, The Homestead also operates and manages four small hotels. We would encourage you to reserve directly through us in the future to ensure the highest level of standards for accommodations.

We were pleased to hear of your ski experience particularly with our instructors. And, please know that we are committed to improving the lift ticket and rental equipment process for next year to improve speed, efficiency and overall service. Your comments are helpful to us as we begin that process.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jamie Jewell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Love,love,love this resort! Came here for a quiet weekend and some skiing. Skiing is kicky with some nice rolls to the terrain. Ate dinner at Nonna's which was superb. Breakfast, which was included with the package had awesome food. The staff here are wonderfully friendly and helpful. An all round fabulous time!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, General Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Laurie,
Thank you for providing the recent review. We're thrilled that you've enjoyed the resort many times and look forward to your return.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Homestead for two nights over New Year's Eve. We stayed in Little Belle which is located in the heart of it all and at the bottom of the downhill ski slope. We purchased tickets to the Gala on New Year's Eve that was held at the Mountain Flowers Lodge. Tickets were a little pricey (85.00) for what you got, we probably will skip this next time. The meal was very good though (surf and turf), they had a cash bar which was a turn off, I would have preferred two drink tickets included with our Gala tickets and then a cash bar. Nona's Restaurant had a nice meal very similar for 55.00 a couple, but no band...The band (The Corvair's) was excellent and would be worth seeing again! We did xcountry ski, it was a difficult trail behind the parking lot, REALLY difficult so snowshoeing this trail is a MUCH better idea. Would I go again, absolutely, service, (although they could use more workers) cleanliness and what they have to offer is awesome. This is a GREAT place and I hope to experience it in the summer too:)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Molly G,
Thank you for choosing The Homestead to "Ring in the New Year!" The New Year's Gala was a new event for us and we appreciate your feedback. Your comments will help us as we plan similar events for the future.

We're pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and the season. We do hope to see you again in the summer!
Sincerely,
Jamie Jewell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Homestead is a large, beautiful, hilly property right on Lake Michigan. There are a number of different housing options. We have stayed in the Stoney Brook Lodge, high up on a hill, a few times. The units are like apartments with a living/dining/kitchen area (with cast iron stove), bedroom, bath, and porch overlooking Lake Michigan. Good choice for families.

The ski runs are good for kids and novice adults. No long waits for the lifts. Because it is relatively small, we feel comfortable letting our kids hit the slopes on their own.

There are several dining options from deli style/grocery store (Cavanaugh's) to more upscale adult (Nonna's). Also, Spa Amira offers massages in a beautiful setting high on a hill overlooking the lake.

The adjacent town of Glen Arbor is charming (home to the World Headquarters of The Cherry Republic) and Sleeping Bear Dunes are nearby for sledding and snowshoeing.

Overall, The Homestead is a very low key, relaxing, family friendly resort in a beautiful natural setting on Lake Michigan. Also, excellent value for the rates. We have visited several times with family and friends.

Room Tip: One or two bedroom units in Stoney Brook Lodge are perfect for families. Quiet, roomy, beautiful vi...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr0sseP0inter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, General Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Gr0sseP0inter,
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed The Homestead several times in the past and most recently this December. You may be interested to know that we are in the process of upgrading Stony Brook Lodge. It will continue to have all of the conveniences you've enjoyed with a stunning, upgraded decor. Renovations should be completed by May.

Thank you for your patronage...and we hope to see you and your family again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Adriene Kokowicz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a lovely resort. We came to ski Christmas week. We like everything about the resort except that they don't take care of their roads. It is a hilly property and I often saw cars trying to get up, or down, the hills. It snows a lot there due to being by Lake Michigan and you need to weigh if the aggravation is worth the price. That is why I titled this Skater's Waltz cause it is easy to slip and slide around.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marillynlansing_mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Marillynlansing_mi,
Thank you for your recent stay and comments. The snowfall this year was unusually high, even for our region. In fact, we may have caught the record by now which was set in 1995! That said, the safety of our guests as they move about the property (whether driving or walking) is of the utmost importance to us. Please know that we are committed to improve our snow removal plans particularly when we experience high accumulation in a short period of time or for several consecutive days. We do hope you were able to enjoy your visit and that we will see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Steve Lord - Grounds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Arbor
12.8 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
80 reviews
20.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
21.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
23.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
357 reviews
1.7 mi away
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
#2 of 3 in Glen Arbor
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead

Address: 1 Wood ridge rd, Glen Arbor, MI 49636
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glen Arbor
Price Range: $93 - $927 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
Homestead Glen Arbor
Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
The Homestead Michigan/Glen Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing