We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveler rating
212
165
119
66
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
165
119
66
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfiddler's pondlittle bellelake michiganbeach clubbeautiful resortsleeping bear dunesstony brook lodgecrystal riveroff seasonski lifthawks nestshuttle servicegreat lakesthe entire resortgeneral storedestination weddinghousekeeping staff
Filter
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 609 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The overall experience was great except for a few minor issues. We stayed in the Little Belle #2 and the refrigerator on our second night was loud which made it difficult to sleep. Other then that this place is amazing. A little river runs through the whole property. The staff is very attentive and pleasent. Walking along the property and seeing the wildlife like deers and racoons made it that much more special. The fall colors were amazing and the whole property is just stunning. We will be making return trips here for years to come.

Room Tip: If your staying at Little Belle see if your able to get suites 1-4 as they have a better view then the others.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Manager at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Mark T,

Thank you for visiting. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you mentioned the issue you experienced with the refrigerator as we are doing some seasonal maintenance now.

We look forward yo hosting you on your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Jamie Jewell
VP Sales and Marketing
The Homestead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

While in Traverse City, Mi. area in May, 2013, scouting out amenities at resorts, stayed one night (my wife & I) here. Shower head had dirty wash cloth draped over it, small 'fridge in room would crank up at least every half hour with sound resembling a noisy furnace turning on. Door connecting ours to an adjacent room acted as a speaker for every f-bomb or other obscenity that a visiting father could throw at his 2 kids and wife ! He was obviously intoxicated,and we had to go to sleep listening to him at 11 pm, and of course, awake at 7 am when they vacated, him threatening to "leave their _sses" if they didn't get out of bed ! As we left the next morning, the maid had left their door wide open, and we noted only one King-sized bed in the room. One bed for 4 people ?! Upon my checkout at the service desk, I clearly but respectfully pointed out ALL OF THE ABOVE to the clerk. I asked for the manager in charge, didn't get one, but listened to the desk clerk apologize, and assure me that he'd have her call me. Never heard from them . On their website, they ask for comments, and I repeated everything in this review, and indicated, per one of THEIR questions that YES, I would like a contact/phone call from management. Again, never heard from them. What kind of operation ignores complaints from a customer potentially steering a Wedding party and attending guests to their property ?The night clerk KNEW the purpose of our visit when SHE asked about it ! MIND-BOGGLING !!! Prior to our room "adventure", my only other concern was the slim piece of Lake Michigan beach attacked to their "Beach Club" for guests. Not adequate for the size of the resort. Other than the above concerns, a truly beautiful physical resort. Too bad they take their guests for granted ! Last time I'll spend a dollar there!!!

Room Tip: Product/Service didn't measure up to the price. As a Businessman with a Fortune 300 company for 20+ years, our associates were drilled with the axiom that "It's far easier to retain a customer than find a New One !!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Mike B,

Terribly sorry that we were unable to connect sooner. We certainly understand the frustrations that you experienced, and we apologize not only that they happened, but also that they were not more properly addressed. We are glad that we were able to connect with you to attempt to resolve this issue.

The experience you had was certainly below our mutual expectations. However, I do hope that you will return with your wife in the future. We are confident that we can impress you with our property and our service on a subsequent visit.

Thank you for visiting, and we do hope to host you and your wife in the future.

Best Regards,

Jamie Jewell
VP Sales and Marketing
The Homestead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Great place to visit any time of the year! Condo rentals and hotel/ lodge rooms! Fine dining and cute shops. A relaxing get away. Sweeping views if Lake Michigan, Sleeping Bear Dunes and the Manitou Islands. We have visited this location for over 30 years and have never been disappointed.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Toni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Toni P,

First of all, thank you for being such wonderfully loyal customers! We love seeing the same people return year after year, and what an immense honor to get a review from such a loyal guest. We are deeply greatful for your continued business, and we thank you for this wonderful review.

We look forward to hosting you and your family on future visits.

Warm Regards,

Jamie Jewell
VP Sales and Marketing
The Homestead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed Oct 2013 for a weekend getaway that involved wine tours in Northern Michigan. Stayed in Little Belle Suites which was a perfect location for us, rooms are adorable, very clean and very quiet, we felt as if we were the only couple staying at the lodge. Check in and out was easy and fast, staff all around were very friendly. We were gone most of the day but in the evening we went into Glen Arbor (about a 4 minute drive) and ate at one of the local restaurants. Visited Cherry Republic in Glen Arbor, if you love cherries they have EVERYTHING cherry! Great place!!
We love Northern Michigan and love staying at the Homestead, we will return!

Room Tip: Little Belle Suites are perfect for a couple traveling without children!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50Cinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

50Cinder,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us while you explored some of the great wineries in our area. We hope that you will come stay with us again to further explore the area and our property.

Warm Regards,

Jamie Jewell
VP Sales and Marketing
The Homestead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

First time to be in Glen Arbor or the Homestead...AWESOME! Our niece handled all the planning w/the staff, but the reception, food, staff, grounds...EVEN MOTHER NATURE cooperated! The food @ the "Mountain Flowers Lodge" (I had the scallops & hubby had the filet) BAR NONE THE BEST WEDDING DINNER WE'VE EVER HAD! The staff, BARBARA, was in charge of our table all night...best service @ a wedding EVER....seriously, still bragging about her! The ski lift to the mountain top was an experience you don't normally have @ a wedding, how fun & scenic...much, much, much more than we expected!!

Room Tip: We asked for early check in (their normal time 5pm), got us in around 2...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHomesteadMI, Director of Sales at The Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

dave s,

Thanks for visiting and congratulations to your niece!

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our property and your experience at your niece's wedding. We are also very grateful for your kind comments about Barbara, we will be sure to share this review with her and her colleagues. We do hope that you will plan to come and visit us again very soon.

Warm Regards,

Jamie Jewell
VP Sales and Marketing
The Homestead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews