We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will upgrade next stay”
Review of The Homestead

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Arbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Homestead
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glen Arbor
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Will upgrade next stay”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in Fiddlers Pond the weekend before Memorial Day. We were impressed with the Homestead grounds and amenities. However, the May flies and loud music til midnight from a wedding next door kept the trip from being perfect. We will definitely book a room closer to the lake or with a view from Loggers Run next time we stay. FYI There is a generous policy to let you use the pool after you check out (keep your room keycard)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kwallskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    142
    106
    55
    43
See reviews for
209
188
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was a little nervous from reading reviews about condos before traveling, but we were very happy with the Crystal condos. We had plenty of room for two adults and three kids. We went to go skiing and it was excellent. The lift operators were friendly and the slopes were not crowded. I will admit our family skill level is low to moderate. So, even though the terrain park was lame, we did not care. Beautiful views of Lake Michigan make the lift rides enjoyable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We have owned a condo since I was born. There. Is so much stuff to do at such a relaxing resort. Lake Michigan is a walk away, the sleeping bear dunes are a short drive away, and if out doors isn't your thing, don't fear, the town is a mile away. It is filled with delightful little shops and, the famous cherry republic head quarters. There is also boat rentals and kayak rentals in the town. There is something for everyone. I love this place and I hope you do to.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michiganstatehockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in the Stoney Brook condos (2 bed/2bath) in Aug 2012. It was a great fit for our family of 4. The kitchen could have been better (it had a stove, but no oven!). There was daily maid service.

It's not cheap, but you are paying for the other shared amenities: the condos had their own pool with nice view. The main beach house has amazing views, a hot tub in addition to pool and lounges, rental kayaks, etc. We also used the childcare, which was wonderful.

Nonna's food is top-notch. Highly recommend.

I wanted to make an appointment at the spa day-of, but was disappointed they never returned my call nor answered the phone.

I'd stay there again, although there are nicer and wider beaches just north (all the beaches are connected) with vacation house rentals I might also price out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the Little Belle guest room, which is perfect for a romantic getaway. Very spacious, with a seperate bedroom and living room. The room was clean with many nice ammenities - fireplace, spa tub, flat screen TV's, refrigerator, and most importantly, a comfortable king size bed. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The grounds are very scenic and they have a nice little ski hill that you can access a short walk from the room. Great proximity to Sleeping Bear Dunes and beautiful beaches.

Room Tip: For a couples getaway, I would recommend the Little Belle, second floor if possible, better view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargaritaVils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in room 1 at the Inn. It was a one bedroom suite with a separate living area, kitchen and gas fireplace. It was very well kept, classy, but a bit dated. Our bed was comfortable and we had a separate tv in the bedroom. The bathroom was clean with a jacuzzi tub that was deep but a bit small. The building is beautiful and overlooks Lake Michigan. The lobby had a very stately feel to it. It was the off season so it was quiet and very serene. There is a lot to do at the Homestead. We had dinner at Nonna's (separate review), and enjoyed walking around the property. We would highly recommend the duet spa at Spa Amira. It is a bit pricy, but it was well worth it. Very professional, soothing, and an overall great experience. The reception area was very nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They even researched the wineries that were open because we wanted to do some wine tasting.

On the down side (there isn't much), we had scheduled a cooking class with the chef that was cancelled because not enough people signed up. Also, everything is far enough apart that you have to get in your car and drive. The Inn is quite a good distance from the restaurants, stores and spa. Although in the summer it would be great with the beach being very close buy. Parking is also a short walk as well.

Our biggest dissapointment was the breakfast buffet at the CQ Cabin. While the assortment of breakfast items was nice, everything we ate was cold. My eggs benedict with potatoes, and my wife's scrambled eggs with sausage looked good, but were miserable. It was as if they had been sitting there for a long time. Also, it is not a one-price buffet. Some of the items are more expensive that others so you have to watch what you buy. Not sure I would do this again. Bring some eggs and make breakfast in your room kitchen.

Overall it was a wonderful weekend and I would recommend it! Would love to go back in the summer and see the beauty of that season.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Beautuful view from the top of the ski hill, just stunning. The Homestead a great place for skiing, glof, summer fun. We have been there for skiing many times, the property has all kinds of differant rentals. The last two years we have been in a three bedroom, 2.5 bath condo which were both very very nice. Before we have stayed in rooms at Fiddler's Pond which were great. Stayed in the smaller condo's also. The skiing isn't Colorado but it fun and a great place to take the family. Spa Amira is just wonderful, facials, massage are out of this world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maurbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Arbor
12.8 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
78 reviews
20.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
24.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
3,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
21.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.7 mi away
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
#2 of 3 in Glen Arbor
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Homestead

Property: The Homestead
Address: 1 Wood Ridge Road, Glen Arbor, MI 49636
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glen Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Homestead 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Also Known As:
The Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
Homestead Glen Arbor
Homestead Hotel Glen Arbor
The Homestead Michigan/Glen Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing