We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst dinner of my life”
Review of Good Harbor Grill

Good Harbor Grill
Ranked #8 of 13 Restaurants in Glen Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Seasonal restaurant (May - October) featuring fresh and locally raised meats, fish and produce, Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily through Labor Day. Fall hours may vary, please call ahead.
5456842
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst dinner of my life”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have no idea how this restaurant has so many positive reviews. This was hands down the worst dinner I or my husband have ever eaten. We came in with our two children on a Saturday night. Our server was friendly. We ordered two items from the kids menu and my husband and I each ordered a seafood dish (after reading the sign that seafood was their specialty). BIG mistake. The salad came out and was tasty, although I thought the addition of raw squash and zucchini was odd. Then our entrees arrived. My shrimp was HARD and the scallops were inedible. My husband had a pasta dish, and normally he will eat almost anything. He had a hard time even taking a few bites. We paid a LOT of money for such a horrible meal. We couldn't blame the server, it was not her fault. The "chefs" should be embarrassed by their lack of care. And what is with the piles of tortilla chips (from the bag) with the kids meal. Oy. Go somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juliebee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    56
    18
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Secret hideaway”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Secret hideaway. Great service excellent food easy menu spicy squash soup suberb. Give up the high end fluff across the street and dine here. I would rate a 10 and I am very a very picky eater. This restaurant is a vegetarians delight. But tons of meat items

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janisue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome vegetarian options”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Came to Good Harbor after leaving another restaurant in Glen Arbor. This restaurant has amazing seafood and vegetarian options - try the vegetarian chili or coconut curry. Excellent wine list with my favorite bottle, M. Chapoutier "Belleruche." (Only $20! Much more reasonable than other spots in the area.) Definitely worth a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claizor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spotty Service and Sticky Table”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Arrived for breakfast and we were sat at a sticky sticky table that the waitress grudgingly wiped down making it slightly better. Nice setting and menu and hopes were high despite the table but the slow service didn't get every order right and barely acknowledged it. Food was good but pricey (which is par for up north we know just wish the service was better.)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mtkMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“It was just O.K.”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I ate here and felt that overall the food and service was just o.k. We both thought the food was rather bland, the potatoes were not that great, and the salad was lacking. We definitely felt like for what we got...we paid way too much. Truthfully, what we liked most about our meal was the bread. Should we visit Glen Arbor again, we would not go back. We found other restaurants in the area in which the food tasted much better, especially for the price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlbdld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Harbor Grill also viewed

Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 

Been to Good Harbor Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing