We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run!”

Western Avenue Bar and Grill
Ranked #11 of 13 Restaurants in Glen Arbor
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Macomb, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Run!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We came here for the first time. Wait staff were horrible. They need to have some training on how to deal and talid to customers. It took them over 20 min to seat us. We sat outside. Food was ok. Over priced for what they offer

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nevzeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    65
    40
    23
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Up North Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stopped for lunch during a stay at the Homested Reort. Both my wife and I ordered the whitefish sandwich which was very good.Soup of the day was a crab corn chowder which was excellent. Service was good and the decor is typical rustic northern Michigan. The menu had several interesting like lobster rolls that would be worth returning for. All in all a very pleasant lunch!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PHX53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always horrible service at the bar!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have been here three times this summer and everytime the service at the bar has been horrible. I've always come in with the intention of sticking around for a while and left before my meal was complete. I'm tired of giving the WAG another try.
The hostess has never been warm and welcoming either.
I'm local and they treat me this way, I cannot even imagine the way they treat tourist!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SBBelle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kekaha, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Arrived on a busy day. It was inviting and smelled good. We were told we would have to wait 20 minutes which was no problem but we were still almost discouraged by the host. We were put on the list and sat at the bar for 45 minutes. Others came in and were seated. We asked if we could just order from the bar. Again we were discouraged from this idea even though others were doing it. We left. The staff was visably unorganized with no direction by a manager. The bartenders where also wait people hosts and bus staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kekaha8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for lunch and dinner”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great food and service. We liked the ambiance here. It's a great place to eat when you are in Glen Arbor.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeromeJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Avenue Bar and Grill also viewed

Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 

Been to Western Avenue Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing