We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Avenue Bar and Grill

Western Avenue Bar and Grill
Ranked #12 of 13 Restaurants in Glen Arbor
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kekaha, Hawaii
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Arrived on a busy day. It was inviting and smelled good. We were told we would have to wait 20 minutes which was no problem but we were still almost discouraged by the host. We were put on the list and sat at the bar for 45 minutes. Others came in and were seated. We asked if we could just order from the bar. Again we were discouraged from this idea even though others were doing it. We left. The staff was visably unorganized with no direction by a manager. The bartenders where also wait people hosts and bus staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kekaha8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    58
    36
    20
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for lunch and dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great food and service. We liked the ambiance here. It's a great place to eat when you are in Glen Arbor.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeromeJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Go for lunch and get a whitefish sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great Michigan whitefish sandwich for lunch --a fried plank on excellent bun and delicious homemade tartar sauce. Came with homemade chips and slaw, both appealing. Seems like this should be a staple at lakeshore restaurants in the area but surprisingly hard to find on our recent trip in northern MI--most places serve a whitefish dinner rather than a sandwich. Lunch menu had reasonable prices and good selection, but dinner entrees mostly over $20. We ate lunch outside at patio dining but interior looked appealing with vintage northern MI style, featuring birch log beams on the ceiling and birch bark on the walls. Not kitschy fake vintage, either. Servers were young and friendly. Have eaten at other restaurants in town and food is better quality here. Several years back had the lobster roll and enjoyed it then, but went with whitefish on this trip. We'd go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerkalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed with food a server attitude.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This used to be my favorite restaurant until tonight. My favorite dish was wrong and the server made me feel stupid. I know what I ordered, I get the same thing ever time. Service was slow, no smiles, bland food. I will never go back. No discount, cost $90 for nothing. Worst part of our date day:(

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karabj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Food, A little pricey but wine is nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you want fine dining in Glen Arbor this is it. Interesting is that if you catch fish and let the chef know ahead of time he will prepare your catch for a fee for dinner that night. Just let them know ahead of time. We ate off the menu and it was very good and the wine list was reasonable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brewski00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Avenue Bar and Grill also viewed

Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 

Been to Western Avenue Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing