We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Yummy!!”
Review of Blu

Blu
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Glen Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in Glen Arbor on the shore of Lake Michigan with panoramic views of Sleeping Bear Bay and the Manitou Islands, Blu has a location unparalleled by any Michigan restaurant. With thoughtfully executed cuisine, our award winning wine program and gracious hospitality we seek to excite, inspire, and transport guests for one memorable evening.European techniques fused with local ingredients and the finest from afar will influence Chef Randy Chamberlain's daily changing menus with an emphasis on the products, simplicity and flavor. The carefully chosen wine list includes vintners from around the world including local favorites as selected by Sommelier Mari Chamberlain.Since opening in 2008 Blu has received numerous accolades including a James Beard nomination for Best Chef-Great Lakes and high praise from Wine Spectator and Travel+Leisure. Blu continues to set the standard for fine dining with a modern interpretation in Glen Arbor; we look forward to your visit.
Houghton, MI
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply Yummy!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We enjoyed dinner at Blu two years ago and went back there again because the food is so exceptional and the setting with a view of Lake Michigan is absolutely stunning. My husband had a cold radish soup with a morel on top as a starter and the best way to describe it--a pop of spring. He had the walleye and loved it. I had the dry aged NY strip steak and it was one of the best steaks I've ever had. Dessert was delicious, we made sure we had room for a decadent chocolate treat. The owner/chef chats with each guest and I think that's a nice touch to get customer feedback. Equally charming is his wife who oversees the dining room. This is a wonderful restaurant. We stayed at Arcadia Bluffs golf lodge and its a scenic one hour drive to the restaurant. Its worth it!! Thank you for a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yooper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    21
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delphos, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Coffee & Desert”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

What a fabulous restaurant. Very friendly & happy people.
The flourless chocolate cake was heavenly.
Awesome view.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank orode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple City, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The restaurant has it all !!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great food, spectacular views and fantastic service. I had the duck and it was the best I had ever eaten. Others at the table ordered fine wines and were very satisfied with the selection. I highly recommend Blu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
609 reviews
442 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Refinement on the Lake”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Blu is an upscale restaurant with a chef who knows what he is doing. We tried two fish dishes accompanied by salads and desert. All were very good, perhaps not of the presentation or quality of a Chicago notable chef that we have been so accustomed to and spoiled by, but we are after all in Glen Arbor, Michigan. The room is beautiful, sits on Lake Michigan's shoreline, and is full of light. Service was first class with a server named Ed in complete and confident control. The wine list is outstanding, and the after dinner drink list as good as any I have seen. Prices are definitely on the high side for Glen Arbor, but the location and food quality support them.
ZB

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
497 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Amazing Discovery! Food, Service - A+”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

What a find. This is one of the premiere dining spots in Northern Michigan. Located at Le Bear Resort in Glen Arbor, Blu is a small, intimate dining room with a gorgeous view of Lake Michigan. Chef Randy Chamberlain delights with fresh ingredients and imaginative offerings. My husband and I took advantage of a special Friday night offering of two entrees, salads and a bottle of wine for $59. We added an appetizer of Blu Crab Puffs and sipped perfectly prepared martinis. Our entrees were a lightly breaded Roc Sole fillet with tiny green beans and whipped potato and a risotto with sauteed scallops. The side salad was fresh greens with a maple vinaigrette and caramelized almonds. The wine pairing was a very nice Argentinian Chardonnay - Casarena 505. We saw another couple having a decadent dessert and had to have it ourselves - Marscapone donuts, hazelnut brittle, vanilla ice cream with a caramel sauce. What can I say? Sigh....

We were delighted to meet the chef and his wife (who works the front of the house) and will definitely be back. Our only regret was not being able to see the lake as it was literally blowing sideways and snowing!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dre51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu also viewed

Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 
Maple City, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 

Been to Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing