We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Higher prices but worth it!”
Review of Blu

Blu
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Glen Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: American, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in Glen Arbor on the shore of Lake Michigan with panoramic views of Sleeping Bear Bay and the Manitou Islands, Blu has a location unparalleled by any Michigan restaurant. With thoughtfully executed cuisine, our award winning wine program and gracious hospitality we seek to excite, inspire, and transport guests for one memorable evening.European techniques fused with local ingredients and the finest from afar will influence Chef Randy Chamberlain's daily changing menus with an emphasis on the products, simplicity and flavor. The carefully chosen wine list includes vintners from around the world including local favorites as selected by Sommelier Mari Chamberlain.Since opening in 2008 Blu has received numerous accolades including a James Beard nomination for Best Chef-Great Lakes and high praise from Wine Spectator and Travel+Leisure. Blu continues to set the standard for fine dining with a modern interpretation in Glen Arbor; we look forward to your visit.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Higher prices but worth it!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Classy restaurant in a lakefront location. Walkable from downtown Glen Arbor and all their cute little shops. MAKE A RESERVATION. Excellent service with chef checking on all tables. Food is innovative and beautifully presented. Wonderful taste. This is the place for special occasions!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DayBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    23
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“delightful drinks and desert”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stopped in around 8:30 for drinks and desert, where very blessed to get table outside. Definately need reservations well in advance, as we tried to get a dinner reservation for the next night and they where completely booked. Service was great, especially given we where ordering wine (granted a few bottles for our party of 6) and desert. The deserts where amazing. The best part was certainly the gorgeous sunset enjoyed with wine and desert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gagrl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fresh wonderful food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had dinner with our friends at Blu and can't stop raving about it. The location on the lake is fantastic. We had a window table and could see forever. Our meals were 5 star. 3 of us had the corvina on a bed of fresh corn and pinto succotash with a creole menurie. Each taste complimented the fish. Hubby had the scallops on fresh creamed corn. He couldn't stop raving about it. I started with the crab puffs and it was ALL crab!! Want to go back again soon. If you are near here make a point to dine there. You won't be sorry!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerrie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GP,MI
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Enjoy the sunset”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The food and service were excellent. Even the server understood gluten free for my husband. They were very anxious to please The chef went to all tables, greeted diners to make sure all was well. A wonderful touch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jupiter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Delicious food served in beautiful setting on water. Salmon was delicious . Delicious salads and appetizers. Don't pass this restaurant up, it is truly the best around. Chef does a splendid job.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank surfermanmauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu also viewed

Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 
Maple City, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 

Been to Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing