We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Homestead(Glen Arbor)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Bear Motel(Glen Arbor)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
75
30
9
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
30
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolafresh fruitb bsleeping bear duneslake michiganold houseshort drivecovered porchstayed nightsgreat place to staydining tableevery morningfrench toastlocation is greatbreakfast was delicioustraverse citysauna
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 117 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2009

My husband and I spent two nights at the Sylvan Inn and loved it. The location is perfect--just enough apart from the charming but busy town of Glen Arbor to merit its name. We spotted a red fox while sitting on the porch one evening. Ralph and Rose were excellent hosts, our room was lovely and spotless, the grounds beautifully maintained. The breakfasts were great--not too heavy, with plenty of fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, pastries, and very good coffee. I learned to sprinkle a little of the chocolate cherry mixture (a local product) on my coffee, which I usually drink black, and eventually purchased a bag of this mixture to take home. What a great idea! We loved the little touches that made the inn really feel like home. The second morning, we woke to no electricity, thanks to a storm during the night, but the generator was quickly fired up, coffee was soon available and breakfast was served just a little bit late. The inn is a little pricey, but we felt it was worth it. The area is wonderful, too, with the spectacular Sleeping Bear dunes close by, the beach around the corner, and great roads for biking. Glen Arbor is full of high-quality shops and very good restaurants. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conwoman43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

The Sylvan Inn is a B&B with the best qualities of both a hotel and a B& B. The owners/staff are very friendly, eager to please, & helpful without being intrusive. The location is perfect (just on the edge of town, but a very short walk to downtown Glen Arbor). The rooms are very clean, cute, quiet, & well maintained. There is free wireless internet throughout the inn including the rooms. There is a beverage center with water, ice, a mini fridge, & wine glasses. The free breakfasts were great also. The owners are very helpful with tips about the area & directions. We had a wonderful stay & hope to return in the future. We will be sending friends & family as well. Don't miss your chance to stay at this great B & B!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCTRoyalOak_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

My new wife and I were looking for a place to spend our honeymoon and I ran across a brochure for the Sylvan Inn. We wanted our privacy yet looked for some personal attention. Our hosts provided us with both. We stayed in their penthouse room which had a private balcony. The room was decorated very nicely and gave it lots of charm. Breakfast was served every morning and we had plenty of information about the area provided. Our future vacation plans have yet to be determined but we do know we want to return soon. I would recommend the Sylvan Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jimmyMundeleinIll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Ralph and Rose at the Sylvan are awesome hosts in an accomodation and location that make ones stay relaxed and effortless. The rooms are simple, quiet and clean. The house is walking distance to food, stores and the big lake. It is simply a pleasure to stay at the Sylvan.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Earthling71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

The Sylvan Inn bed & breakfast is top notch. I was expecting a comfortable cottage, but it was not cottage at all. We had a very comfortable, beautifully furnished room which was private and quiet. There's also a wonderful spa with hot tub and sauna.
Ralph & Rose greeted us at check in and told us all about the Glen Arbor area.
The continental breakfast was fresh & plentiful, with something for everyone.
I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bessence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews