We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Glen Arbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband suggested that we stay at the Sylvan Inn for our visit to Glen Arbor and Traverse City this month. We had a great time. The owners were very friendly and showed us around the property. They also gave us suggestions on local places to eat and visit. The room was clean, the bathroom was updated, and the complementary breakfast was great - amazing scones. We'll definitely be back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank canesgirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 117 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just spent a night at the inn and if they hadn't been booked for the weekend, would've stayed another. Wonderful host, accomodations, location! I wish I'd brought my suit for the sauna and whirlpool! Ah, next time!
Breakfast is not a hot breakfast, but more a European, buffet style. More than adequate and coffee, tea and hot cocoa is always available. A very nice, historic inn.
We had rooms on the second floor, next to our friends. There were two more rooms there but were not occupied this night. So, much privacy in this case. Bathrooms, shared outside our room. There is a small sink in-room. This is a very old building, so I wonder if the rooms on the first floor have any problem with creaky floors? We slept wonderfully!
Also loved the wrap around porch and lovely flowers!

Room Tip: 2nd floor may be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJo-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a very nice B&B, very well located. Short stroll to the fun restaurants and shops of Glen Arbor, short stroll to the nice beach looking out to the Manitou Islands, short ride to the Sleeping Heritage Heritage Trail -- a marvelous bike bath winding through forests, a campground, Glen Haven, and dunes, ending (for now -- they'll soon extend the trail) at the National Park's main dune climb. Ralph and Rose run a very friendly inn. The breakfast isn't fancy (yogurt, fruit, pastries, etc.), but it's good, and we actually prefer something light like this, rather than those HUGE frittata, fries, sausages, and gravy extravaganzas so common elsewhere. We usually spring for the large top-floor room with the nice little deck. Worth it for the extra space and away-from-it-all feeling. In our view, this is the best of the three B&Bs in town ... though the Glen Arbor Bed & Breakfast's very nice front deck is always tempting too. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iksnamhcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Glen Arbor / Sleeping Bear Dunes for three nights over the Labor Day holiday and although it was a drive from Indianapolis, it was WELL worth it! We were stunned by the beauty of this area and think it is absolutely a hidden gem in this entire country. We have stayed at several bed and breakfasts in our travels together, and The Sylvan Inn was by far one of our favorites. The rooms are cute and private, and the hot tub/spa was wonderful! It is within walking distance to all of the little shops in Glen Arbor. The Inn is also right across from Lake Michigan and the beach (you can hear the waves from your balcony). Most of the beaches actually in Glen Arbor are privately owned, but the B & B is literally less than a five minute drive away from Glen Haven, where there is a beautiful and peaceful public beach to relax on all day long! The Sylvan Inn is also located a short drive away from the actual Sleeping Bear Dunes park and overlook. If you are thinking about traveling to this area, we HIGHLY recommend this place. We already can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VacationerForLife13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Sylvan Inn provided an outstanding home base to explore the coast of NW Michigan. The Inn is quaint and comfortable but had more privacy than other B/B I have explored which was nice. We stayed in room 1 which had a private entrance and bathroom. The common area where breakfast is served is comfortable and provides a nice place to interact with other travelers. Ralph and Rose were delightful and helpful. They provided many outstanding recommendations and advice for exploring.

We explored several towns in NW MI and we were glad to have been in Glen Arbor. Sleeping Bear is minutes away, the town is big enough to provide good services including bike rentals, fishing charters, several good places to eat from all price points, souvenirs and quaint artisan goods, yet it is small enough to maintain local character and flavor with no nationalized corporate logos to be found.

Room Tip: Rooms 1/2 have the private entrance and patio. Hard to beat the privacy of these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jleonsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My Wife and I stayed 2 nights at this bed and breakfast over our honeymoon. The staff was very friendly and gave us an informative tour upon our arrival. Our room was clean and very comfortable. It had lots of hooks to hang our towels and wet clothes as well as 2 night stands, a dresser, and a bench to help us keep our things organized. Breakfast in the morning was full of fresh fruit and granola. Nothing too heavy. (If you are looking for a hardy breakfast, I suggest the "Western Ave Diner" just a short walk away on the same side of the street) Ralph and Rose, the innkeepers are two of the sweetest people you'll ever meet. They are always checking on how your stay is going and making sure that you are taking advantage of all their inn has to offer. (they have a wall of brochures and information on nearby beaches and dune trails) We quite enjoyed the spa area which features a dry sauna and jacuzzi. All in all, a beautiful inn that's within walking distance to food, shops, and beaches.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house upstairs. Nice rooms with access to 2 different bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllisonC824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at the Inn. The location was perfect, the accomodations were gracious, and the inn keepers, Rose and Ralph, thought of even the smallest things that we haven't seen in any other bed and breakfasts. For example, a clock radio with adapters for charging iphones and androids at the same time. Sauna and hot tub were relaxing and everything was super clean! The only thing that we thought could use improving are the daily breakfasts being served. They were pretty much granola, fruit and muffins or similar each day. Would have been nice to one day have some french toast, pancakes or some type of egg meal such as frittata, scrambled eggs or something. That is only suggestion / complaint we have. Otherwise a really nice and quiet pkace to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlennSunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Arbor
14.5 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
82 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
171 reviews
17.5 mi away
Best Western Scenic Hill Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
46 reviews
22.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Traverse City, MI
0.2 mi away
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
#2 of 3 in Glen Arbor
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 6680 Western Ave, P.O. Box 648, Glen Arbor, MI 49636-5103
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Glen Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Arbor
Price Range: $86 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful historic 14 room Inn in the heart of the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore Park. Walk to charming downtown Glen Arbor for boutique shopping, art galleries, restaurants and more. 2 Blocks to beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sylvan Hotel Glen Arbor
The Sylvan Inn Bed And Breakfast
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast Michigan/Glen Arbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing