We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A find near Big Glenn Lake”

Trattoria Funistrada
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Funistrada is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Glen Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Olive St
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A find near Big Glenn Lake”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

It looks like a converted little cottage, but is able to serve a steady stream of hungry diners in a small space! It fills up quickly once the supper hour arrives!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bikeandboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    41
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Italian and worth the find”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a good local find. It is not the best location so the food must be good for them to survive. They did a very nice job.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank otisokansascity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal in every way!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were on a Glen Arbor, MI getaway with our good friends biking, wine tasting, and enjoying early fall in northern Michigan and looking for a last minute place to have dinner. We came across Tattoria Funistrada and walked in at 8:00 on a Monday night and it was packed. Luckily we were able to be seated since we were later told that in high season you often need 2 weeks to get a table! After tasting the food we knew why, it was was phenomenal and Angie our server was more than happy to accommodate our vegetarian needs. We started with a great bottle of Italian wine, always a good start to any meal, and then went on to their special heirloom tomato salad, locally grown tomatoes with pesto, gorgonzola cheese crumbles, and a little drizzle of olive oil. My Italian hubby had their home grown eggplant parmesan special that was one of the best I've had (sorry Aunt Rose!). I had their pasta special (minus the duck breast), perfectly done penne with red onions, capers, light tomato sauce, and even a few cannelloni beans for good measure. Our friends split penne with marinara sauce and homemade italian sausage. Now she is Italian also and thought it was some of the best sausage she has ever had. All of this is amazing since the chef isn't even Italian. We had planned on throwing the diet out the window and splitting a piece of their homemade peach pie a la mode, but unfortunately it was sold out so we settled for just enjoying the last of our wine before we headed home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FranknSherrieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food with lots of locals”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The food was good and the atmosphere upbeat and loud. Wine was reasonable and good. My only complaint was that our waitress, who was very nice, did not have her long hair pulled back. All the other waitresses did have their hair in a pony tail. I now wish I would have said something to her - guess I was just taken back...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“An evening with friends”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Dinner at Funistrada is a must each fall when we visit Glen Arbor with our friends. Although the restaurant is small, the ambiance is wonderful. The wait staff is great and helpful in suggesting wines and entrees.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Funistrada also viewed

Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 
Maple City, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 

Been to Trattoria Funistrada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing