We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarendon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarendon Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hebden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

First time we've ever been here and it wont b the last! Brilliant staff, breath taking views, great tasting ales and above all some of the finest cuisine I've ever had the pleasure of eating!

Cant wait to get back and try other dishes!!! A real gem of a place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirefoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    14
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
44
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fabulous surroundings and damn fine hotel. Timeless English country pub that thankfully never seems to change, food and service is always spot on. Proposed to my girlfriend in the pub last year, can't wait to go back in October. Would recommend the pork loin and black pudding main, out of this world. And its the finest pint of Guinness in the land, trust me, I've been suppin in the Clarendon since I was 6.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We regularly visit the Clarendon Hotel when we go walking in the Dales. The food is always good home cooking, nothing fancy but good wholesome food and good value for money. The staff are helpful and polite and we have never had to wait too long for our order to be served. There is an outside eating area which is fenced off the car park near the road but the road is very quiet and it is a sunny area. The soup is particularly good and is served in bowls that seem to be bottomless with lovely big chunks of fresh bread! Good portions and good taste. We will continue to visit regularly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business.

Checked in to my room which had a nice comfy double. Bathroom was small, but had everything required including a nice warm shower which i used the next morning.

Down to the bar for some Yorkshire Ale and crisps. I ate there that night and the quality of food and the price was exceptional for such a small place and it was full with diners all night.

Owner was kind enough to get up early on the Monday morning to cook my full English as I had an early start. Breakfast set me up for the day.

In summary. Friendly. A bit of character to the place with a lovely woodburner to sit in front of and drink Beer! But no Irn Bru?!?!?

Will use again if back!

Many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMac1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Family visit. Interior of this pub rather outdated and tired. Outdoor seats not best either (next to parking and main road) but food was good. Like home made dinner hence lack of finesse but I was sad when I have finished my beef and kidney pie. I wanted to enjoy it for longer! Soup seemed to be fresh made too. In summary: good home made like meal in not the best surroundings but worth visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marc187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped here for a meal and found they had rooms so decided to stay the night. What a great find, family run pub with excellent food and very friendly welcoming staff. Would definitely recommend and would certainly return. Great value for money and in a perfect location for exploring the area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Owner at Clarendon Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you so much to everyone who has taken the time to write such lovely reviews recently. All your comments are most appreciated.
We look forward to more great reviews and revisits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydon Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Although we didn't stay at the hotel, we enjoyed an excellent meal. Fantastic variety of dishes to choose from everything from grouse to curry. The landlady and staff were very attentive and nothing was too much for them.

Would thoroughly recommend a visit even if it's just for a drink!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hebden
0.0 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Inn

Property: Clarendon Inn
Address: Hebden, Hebden, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington > Hebden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hebden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Clarendon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing