We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, warm and welcoming”
Review of Clarendon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clarendon Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hebden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business.

Checked in to my room which had a nice comfy double. Bathroom was small, but had everything required including a nice warm shower which i used the next morning.

Down to the bar for some Yorkshire Ale and crisps. I ate there that night and the quality of food and the price was exceptional for such a small place and it was full with diners all night.

Owner was kind enough to get up early on the Monday morning to cook my full English as I had an early start. Breakfast set me up for the day.

In summary. Friendly. A bit of character to the place with a lovely woodburner to sit in front of and drink Beer! But no Irn Bru?!?!?

Will use again if back!

Many thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMac1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 113 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Family visit. Interior of this pub rather outdated and tired. Outdoor seats not best either (next to parking and main road) but food was good. Like home made dinner hence lack of finesse but I was sad when I have finished my beef and kidney pie. I wanted to enjoy it for longer! Soup seemed to be fresh made too. In summary: good home made like meal in not the best surroundings but worth visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped here for a meal and found they had rooms so decided to stay the night. What a great find, family run pub with excellent food and very friendly welcoming staff. Would definitely recommend and would certainly return. Great value for money and in a perfect location for exploring the area

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Owner at Clarendon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you so much to everyone who has taken the time to write such lovely reviews recently. All your comments are most appreciated.
We look forward to more great reviews and revisits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Although we didn't stay at the hotel, we enjoyed an excellent meal. Fantastic variety of dishes to choose from everything from grouse to curry. The landlady and staff were very attentive and nothing was too much for them.

Would thoroughly recommend a visit even if it's just for a drink!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Having little success with full up restaurants in nearby Grassington, we were happy to discover The Clarendon. My fish pie was generous with lots of salmon and some white fish. Perhaps a third ingredient would have added variety, for example prawns. And just a bit less mashed potato. My friend's smoked chicken salad with chips got the thumb's up. With a beer, a glass of wine and a coffee the bill was a modest £32.
We sat outside next to the kitchen so we can vouch that the chef prepared everything from scratch.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank WinstonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stopped in here while doing a walk up Hebden Gill. Everything was spot on with a friendly girl bringing the food and offering helpful guidience for my walk. I felt at home and will go back. The location is wonderful, right on the road. The outdoor seating was comfortable, being nice and clean. Great parking if you are driving a motorcar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A lovely place. My wife and I booked a night at the Clarendon after searching for "dog friendly pubs" on google maps. The staff were more than helpful throughout our stay and extremely friendly. Great food cooked by the owner - the lasagne was "fantastic", according to my wife and the pork fillet roulade filled with black pudding & apricots which was simply delicious.

We spent the early evening outside eating and drinking in the sun along with other dog owners then moved inside to enjoy more drinks and hospitality - the locals were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was clean and comfortable, however the ensuite bathroom was a bit of a squeeze!

In the morning, we both enjoyed a lovely breakfast and the chef even did some scrambled eggs for our dog!

Overall, we had a fantastic time here and it was a great way to start our weekend break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hebden
1.5 mi away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
140 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Ashfield House
Ashfield House
#6 of 20 in Grassington
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Inn

Address: Hebden, Hebden, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Grassington BD23 5DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Grassington > Hebden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hebden
Price Range: $85 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clarendon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing