We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good find for Blackburn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed one night and the hotel lived up to expectations. We were in the old manor house which has been very well converted with good facilities. We ate in the more informal restaurant and both the food and service were very good. Overall, if visiting this part of Lancashire, Stanley House offers excellent facilities in a very pleasant location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

I am delighted that you really loved our Manor house rooms and dining in Mr Fred's during your recent visit to Stanley House Hotel & Spa. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 729 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed for two nights in August as my husband was working in nearby Blackpool (30 mins). We were in the woodland rooms. The room was spacious and very new and clean with a lovely view over the Ribble Valley. Fresh milk in the mini fridge was a nice touch, the walk in shower (as well as bath tub) in the bathroom was great and robes were provided. The black-out bedroom curtains and quiet surroundings ensured peaceful sleep. We ate in Mr Fred's - the food was good but service slow. The thermal spa area is free to guests and includes the hydro pool which has amazing views and the various steam and sauna rooms - it was very pleasant. The only real criticism about our stay was the background music. In the spa it was very loud and had vocals which meant it didn't fit with the relaxing atmosphere and in the restaurant, lounge and public areas we heard Simply Red on continuous loop for the whole of our visit.

Room Tip: Woodland rooms are in the new build extension across the garden from the main hotel and are very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank thebotleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review about Stanley House. Your feedback is much appreciated and can assist us in making improvements to our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I stayed at Stanley House just for one night this week.
Comfortable room in the Woodland block, finished to a high standard with tea and coffee and a small fridge with fresh milk.
Ate in Mr. Fred's - casual dining. The beer-battered haddock and chips were excellent.
I effectively had the gym and spa to myself.
Going back next week!

Room Tip: The Manor House has individual rooms; thick stone walls; four poster bed in at least one room. Wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

What a great review, thank you, and it's even better that you have been back to stay with us again so soon. Hopefully your visits will become more regular so that you can continue to enjoy what Stanley House has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

A very special treat and marvellous location. Our room in the manor house was outstanding,exceptionally clean and spacious. The spa was extremely special and very relaxing with superb professional, knowledgeable staff. We attended this fantastic hotel for a family wedding and were not disappointed. The venue is well suited for providing the ideal wedding . the sensationally decorated reception room to the terrific staff who were always on hand with a smile on their face and always eager to please. The food was of the finest quality and beautifully presented. I believe not one of our family or friends had cause to complain and a great time was had by all. The bride and groom, Cara and Jason were certainly thrilled with their magical day and the hotel and the staff added enormously to their hugely successful and enjoyable experience. Many thanks to all at The Stanley house hotel, from the grooms' father, Mr Paul Wilson

Room Tip: Don't let the price put you off, it really is worth every penny. One of the best hotels I have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Thank you Mr Wilson for such an amazing review. We are honoured to have hosted your son's wedding and it is a delight to hear your wonderful comments. We do hope that you won't be a stranger, please do come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Well, I meet up a few times a year with three friends and we do "something nice" like a trip to the theatre, a meal out or a spa day. This month we visited Stanley House Spa which is near Blackburn and I am not sure what I expected as, although I am very local, you can see little of the establishment from the road and it is a long driveway up to it. The first "Wow" was the 17th century manor house around which the site has been developed and the second has to be the Finnish sauna with a view of rolling countryside, flowers and ducklings playing on the pond. Ideal for anyone who likes saunas but does not like being closeted in a hot dark room. The other facilities were very good too and lunch was quite relaxing. I think I can speak for all of us when I say we were sorry to have to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kernow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am so pleased that you decided to 'give us a try' and that you all had such a relaxing day in our beautiful spa. Hopefully you were all so impressed that you will join us again for one of your days out, perhaps take a step further and have an overnight spa break....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

What an absolutely beautiful place! There are other hotels that offer the 'Thermal bathing' experience, but none that overlook the most beautiful countryside. An excellent back massage was followed by a delicious light lunch.

I'd recommend this hotel for relaxation/romantic getaways/weddings etc

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DBarlow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Thank you for your kind words and glowing recommendation. It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed your relaxing experience in our amazing spa here at Stanley House. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I have had to use the hotel option on Trip Advisor to post this as there was no option for the restaurant. We chose the Grill on the Hill to celebrate our wedding anniversary and what a good choice it was. The setting is beautiful, the staff are wonderful and the food was marvelous. There is not a single bad point to raise, we had a lovely evening and will go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank SarahG17485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

'Perfect', we couldn't ask for a greater review for our delicious Grill on the Hill restaurant. Thank you so much and we'll see you on your next visit 'up the hill'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellor
0.7 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
455 reviews
4.9 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,113 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
791 reviews
19.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
674 reviews
7.9 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Address: Further Lane, Mellor BB2 7NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Mellor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellor
Price Range: $160 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanley House Hotel & Spa is set in 54 acres of Ribble Valley countryside in Mellor, Lancashire, Stanley House Hotel is a stunning, award-winning hotel. With 30 first-class bedrooms, unrivalled wedding and conference facilities, the stylish Grill on the Hill restaurant, the hugely popular Mr Fred's bar and lounge and a world-class spa, Stanley House is truly a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Stanley House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel Mellor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing