We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel with lovely staff. Everything here is wonderful and of exceptional quality. Attention to detail is obvious in all areas. Even the gardens are immaculately maintained. The rooms are wonderful and the spa bathing area is gorgeous. Food lovely too.

Room Tip: There are two types of room. One very modern and the other much more traditional and with character...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It's great to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your Stanley House experience. We appreciate you taking the time to give such an amazing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Stanley House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 705 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

What a great venue to relax and have some fantastic treatments in very reasonable prices!!! The place is sparkling clean, with new facilities of high standards and with very friendly staff. We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GChatzidamianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your amazing comments about our wonderful spa. So pleased that you decided to choose the Spa at Stanley House for your relaxing experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I can think of no better lunch in Lancashire than Fish and Chip's at Mr Fred's with a very well priced Chablis. Friendly staff and professional service In a perfect lunch time room, glass on most sides makes it light and airy, very easy to order that second bottle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank UKAbroad_Shop_Online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments, the traditional, simple dishes are always the best, I agree. So pleased that you really enjoyed your lunch with us, we shall see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just wanted to write a quick review to say just had a lovely afternoon tea at Stanley House. It was a treat afternoon out with family and it was great. Great selection of cakes and very yummy scones!!!!! I have to also say a thank you for making a special gluten free afternoon tea for one of the guests in our party, I had rung ahead to advise of our dietary needs. The selection of gluten free cake was excellent! Good service and a lovely setting.
Thank you, will sure be back

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank thelittleeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Afternoon Tea, such a treat! Thank you for your lovely feedback, so pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon with us. We do cater for all dietary requirements and I'm pleased that you enjoyed our selection of the day. Please do come back 'up the hill' very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I visited Stanley House Spa with my two friends .It was lovely to be able to have the Spa to ourselves and relax .Although this paradise was slightly disturbed when other guests arrived. The spa is very small with only four beds, so it looks full with the minimum amount of guests. But we all had a fantastic time .
We dined at Mr Fred's and had a wonderful meal in the restaurant ,they kindly let us drink our processco which is usually part of the spa package whilst we ate.
Everyone was so attentive .

Room Tip: If you book for the twilight spa go early.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

What lovely comments, thank you! So pleased to hear that you had a great time at our wonderful spa. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Why not try an overnight spa package as a special treat next time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

1. Beautiful location. large room, nice bed, good food.
2. Not put into booked room. (Hotel did offer to change)
3. Not enough clothes storage for a long stay for a couple.
4. No hand towel ring by sink.
5. TV remote control difficult to operate.
6. Shower floor very slippery.
7. Dangerous loose paving stones outside restaurant.
8. Very poor lighting outside to get to satellite building at night.
9. Buffet breakfast croissants and danish not replenished after 9.15.
10. Receptionist could not be bothered to write down complaints at check out. 3 items of above are possibly dangerous!!

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room close to main building.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnkmcdonagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

I am sorry to hear that you didn't have such a perfect stay with us recently. I know that you came to stay with us in relation to a family wedding that was at the weekend so it's such a shame that you didn't have the most positive of stays.
You mention about being checked into a different room than you expected and as you state, we offered to change the room for you immediately though this was declined.
Points 3 - 5 have been taken on board for reference to improve our accommodation facilities further. I am so pleased that you thought that our new Woodland rooms were lovely and spacious and the beds comfortable.
Thank you for your comments regarding maintenance and I would like to confirm that these issues have been rectified after the receptionist handed these over to the maintenance manager on the day of your departure. I am aware that you thought she had ignored you (as the items weren't written down) but I can assure you that this wasn't the case and we dealt with all the issues in question.
I'm sorry that the breakfast buffet ran low of pastries, which must have been an oversight and more would have been replaced if you had mentioned to the staff that day. Though of course this shouldn't have to be the case, I appreciate.
In summary, I am genuinely sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your Stanley House experience on this occasion and I can assure you that this is not our usual level of service. I do hope that this doesn't prevent you from returning some time in the future. Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My daughter and I had an overnight spa escape for her birthday which we both enjoyed. The spa staff were marvellous, nothing was too much trouble, they were very pleasant and a fine example of how staff make a huge difference to any experience. The spa was small and although we enjoyed our time, we wouldn't go back. There were five steps down into the pool without any hand rails then another three steps further. I always write from the experience of a person with limited mobility and I found the spa very difficult to get in and out of. There were only four beds to relax on and other people were using these. One person said that they were going into one of the sauna rooms so we could use theirs. However, each of the four had towels on and drinks beside them although they were not being used. The member of staff who showed us around said that we could remove the towels if they were not being used and use them however, we felt very uncomfortable doing this and did not want to start WW3 so we didn't do that. We both had a back and shoulder massage in a twin treatment room. Delightful!! The treatment beds were large and very comfortable and the massage was bliss. Once again the staff were really pleasant and eager to please the customer.

The room was delightful. A large room with beautiful views over the Ribble Valley. Walk in shower, but the TV was temperamental. It worked when it wanted to and we couldn't adjust the sound from the remote. The beds were very comfortable. There was a light, ironing board, iron, robes, safe and flip flops in the wardrobe. The only gripe was that the people in the next room were noisy. It sounded like a baby crying all night but when we checked out the receptionist said that there wasn't a baby in that room. Also the residents of that room continuously went in and out until the middle of the night. We were just getting to sleep when the door would go again. Perhaps, Stanley House would like to find a way to reduce the noise from doors being opened and closed in the early, (and not so early), hours of the morning.

The food was excellent as usual, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience but felt that the spa didn't really live up to our expectations. The 'pool' was small, the facilities were limited so we wouldn't go again. Would rather travel to Ragdale Hall in Leicestershire, which is also cheaper per visit overall. What a pity, it would be nice to visit a real Spa in Lancashire without having to travel to Leicestershire.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 31. Used the lift to the 1st floor and then had the longest walk as room 31 was t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemini096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C, Front Office Manager at Stanley House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent spa package booking and I'm sorry to hear that not everything was to your satisfaction. It's great to hear that you both enjoyed your spa treatments and that the staff were extremely helpful. Not so good to hear that you felt our facilities too small. Unfortunately we don't have a swimming pool in the spa but a lovely hydrotherapy pool to help soothe away the stresses of the day. We do have an intimate setting and we do keep the numbers down within the thermal bathing area to prevent overcrowding, so I'm sorry that you felt this didn't happen during your visit.
We really appreciate your feedback about the sound from the doors closing, which has been brought to the attention of the maintenence department to rectify. Unfortunately, on occasion, some of our guests are inconsiderate to the rest of our guests and this can sometimes affect an otherwise peaceful stay. The error with the TV remote was rectified as soon as we were made aware of the issue, I am sorry that there was ever a problem with this.
It will be such a shame if you do decide not to return to Stanley House Hotel & Spa. It would be great if you could provide us with another opportunity to 'wow' you the way that should have happened during your recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellor
4.9 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,092 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
449 reviews
15.3 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
19.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
651 reviews
7.8 mi away
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipping
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House Hotel & Spa

Address: Further Lane, Mellor BB2 7NP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Mellor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellor
Price Range: $157 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanley House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanley House Hotel & Spa is set in 54 acres of Ribble Valley countryside in Mellor, Lancashire, Stanley House Hotel is a stunning, award-winning hotel. With 30 first-class bedrooms, unrivalled wedding and conference facilities, the stylish Grill on the Hill restaurant, the hugely popular Mr Fred's bar and lounge and a world-class spa, Stanley House is truly a hotel like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stanley House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel Mellor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing