We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Long Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lost Arrow Resort on the Water

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gladwin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lost Arrow Resort on the Water
Ranked #1 of 2 Gladwin B&B and Inns
detroit
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Long Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We had a great time the cabins and motel rooms were all nice and clean. My husband and I rented a River House Cabin # 38 which is the last cabin on the end. All together we had two motel rooms and a small cabin. The motel rooms for $69. do not have fridges but the cabins have small fridges and coffe makers.They have a very nice restaurant and continental breakfast.It would have been nice to have a toaster.We were able to bring our dogs. They have a real nice pool.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raco13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    6
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

We recently stayed at the Lost Arrow Resort for a wedding. There were definite pros and cons to the trip. We stayed in one of the motel suites for two nights. The suite could have definitely used some updating and since smoking was allowed in the room, the light fixtures and some of the paintings seemed a little yellowed, althought the room was spotlessly cleaned. Also, the chair had a large tear in it and the carpeting was frayed. There was a hot tub in the room which was very nice and clean. The bathroom was nice although the chain to the toilet kept coming undone so we had to keep reattaching it throughout the stay. There was a sink area with an older small refrigerator but no microwave which would have been nice.

The grounds were very nice and we loved the outdoor deck at the restaurant. It has been mentioned in other reviews and should be noted that there are no cooking facilities in any of the rooms or river houses (although I believe they do have microwaves) so the restuarant is the only dining choice you have since the resort is pretty much in the middle of nowhere. The food in the restaurant was very good though but rather pricey for dinner. Breakfast and lunch are very reasonable however and as I have said, it was very nice to eat outside and enjoy the river view.

We had the opportunity to visit all of the other types of lodging available since we were with a large group and the river houses are very nice and where I would stay if I went back. The rustic cabins were also a good value for the money.

We did not use the pool or hot tub, but the pool looked a little dirty. It was not so bad that I wouldn't use it, we just never had the chance.

The banquet facilites were wonderful and we had a great time at the reception. The gazebo was also very nice for the wedding but most of the chairs were placed on the sides of the gazebo so you couldn't really see the ceremony.

All in all, it was very nice and I would go back but I probably wouldn't stay in the motel again and would opt for a river house.

  • Liked — The outdoor patio at the restaurant, the river views.
  • Disliked — No microwave in the room, room needed updating.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BGFamily730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

We went to attend a Murder Mystery Dinner and booked one of the Lake Houses. The Dinner Show was VERY disappointing and the dinner was worse. It was obvious the Resort was not prepared to serve the 100 people that attended the event. When we booked the Lake House, we expected it to be equipped for a stay longer than an overnight, i.e., dishes/glasses & utensils at least, but there was nothing like that (there is a small fridge and sink in the 'kitchen' area). For $335.00 a night, and knowing it's available for a week-long stay, I would think these items would have been provided. Breakfast, on the other hand, was absolutely FABULOUS. Overall it was a very nice stay but the Lake House was not worth the high price. The staff were very accommodating and the bar was a perfect place to enjoy a preprandial cocktail.

  • Liked — without a doubt -- the location! Lovely spot on the Tittabawassee River.
  • Disliked — No dishes/glasses/drawer space in the Lake Houses -- could not stay longer than a night.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula-Cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

I recently stayed at the Lost Arrow Resort for a 2 night wedding weekend for a friends family member. I was expecting a lot more from what I experienced at Lost Arrow and for the price.

Location: Lost Arrow is located near Gladwin, MI which is about 45 minutes north of Mt. Pleasant, MI right about in the center of Michigan. Around the resort is not much besides farmland and forest. Downtown Gladwin is about a 15 to 20 minute drive from the resort. The resort is located on a river in which you can boat on but not swim in.

Rooms: There are several different types of rooms. There are the cottages or Riverhouses that are located on the water, there are the Guest House Suites which are the same but not on the water, there are the motel rooms, and Cabins. We stayed in the Riverhouse cottages and the motel rooms (as a group). The Riverhouse cottages were quite nice. They included cable television, a gas fireplace, kitchen table, small mini-fridge, large spacious bathroom, 1 master bedroom with a small television in it, and a small living room area. Also, each Riverhouse has it’s own outdoor deck that overlooks the water. The deck was quite nice to sit out and relax on. The beds were okay (nothing special). The bathroom was clean as well as the rest of the cottage. However, at Lost Arrow, I believe that the resort might be using well water so when taking a shower, the water has a distinctive odor.

Main Lobby/Restaurant/Bar: Lost Arrow did not have much of a lobby. There was a reception desk and a small gift shop that continued right into the restaurant/bar area. The restaurant was divided into two sections. The first section was the non smoking and the second section was smoking area containing tables and the actual bar itself. The food was okay – nothing special especially for the price but if you are staying at this resort, there is not much to choose from in restaurants as downtown Gladwin is 20 minutes away (with a limited selection of places to eat) and there is nothing, I mean absolutely nothing around the resort property. So unless if you are planning on cooking out on the bbq pits, the lost arrow restaurant is all that you have. It offers lobster, fish, steak, venison, along with small appetizers. It was a full service bar with Lottery Machines (KENO) and a television.

Pool/Gameroom:

The pool and game room was located next to the RiverHouses. Inside the building, the area it’self was extremely hot inside and the pool was dirty. When we were there, it appeared that it had not been cleaned in a while and the water stagnant. The game room for children has about 4 to5 video games which most were out of order and not operational at the time we were there.

It appeared to be a small petting zoo at the entrance to the resort. We did not par take in these activities, but appeared to be a few animals there to see.

Staff:

We found the staff at Lost Arrow not as pleasant as you would think from a country style resort such as this. The group we were traveling with just about rented out the whole property for this wedding weekend. The food was catered by them and it was like I stated above nothing great. We did however ask for to go trays as there was left overs (that by the way was already paid for) and they stated, “NO, it is against resort policy.” How can you deny someone a to go tray when they already paid for the food. Also, just the overall friendliness was not there that you would expect. The bartended is the bar however was very nice.

There is also a fire pit at the resort.

All in all, if going away to the middle of nowehere for a romantic getaway is your cup of tea, this might be the place for you. If you are looking for a place that has activities for children and things and restaurants to go and visit, I would definitely look elsewhere Also, for the price, I could definitely do a lot better than Lost Arrow..

  • Liked — If you like Quiet, it was definetely Quiet.
  • Disliked — Location was too remote. No activities on the resort. No Cell Phone or Phone Service Available in Area.
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gladwin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gladwin
11.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in West Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
11.8 mi away
Super 8 West Branch
Super 8 West Branch
#1 of 3 in West Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Arrow Resort on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Arrow Resort on the Water

Property: Lost Arrow Resort on the Water
Address: 1749 Bowmanville Rd, Gladwin, MI 48624-8301
Location: United States > Michigan > Gladwin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gladwin
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Lost Arrow Resort On The Water Hotel Gladwin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing