We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't be better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celibeth House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Germfask
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Celibeth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Germfask B&B and Inns
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Can't be better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have stayed with Darlene and Roger at Celibeth House only two time, but consider them friends, and that is the way they treat us. It IS going to your good friends' home. The decor is amazing and the breakfast can't be beat. Our regret is that we have only been able to stay for one night each stay. Location in the old resort and logging town of Blaney Park, MI is great for a central location, allowing plenty of flexibility to explore, from the Lake Superior and Lake Michigan coasts, the Tahquamenon Falls, various lighthouses, antique dealers, Seney Nature Preserve, national and state forests, good to great restaurants, the Pictured Rocks, Fayette Historical Site, and even some wineries near Manistique, Michigan.

Room Tip: Check their online site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Darlene, the hostess and owner of Celebeth house truly believes the house loves being filled with people, and she does everything she can to further that feeling. Evening sweet treat to a wonderful breakfast will satisfy your appetite and your need for unique, well-prepared start to the day. Roger and Darlene are amazingly friendly and helpful and love when guests enjoy the house and all of the interesting rooms in which to relax. They are immediately almost family and epitomize what a Bed and Breakfast should be. Great place to use a base for day trips, or to read a good novel and move from room to room to enjoy the carefully planned ambiance of each. 5 Stars for the house and the hosts/owners Roger and Darlene. Great experience.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong in any of them. We had the Queen room and our fellow travelers had the King room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcfrickpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This bed and breakfast's rating is largely based on the owners, Roger and Darlene. They are very kind and hospitable people. However, their rooms and home are in top shape and they serve a solid breakfast as well, so the overall rating deserves to be high.

What puts this B&B into the "excellent" category, though, is most definitely the fact that Roger and Darlene constantly attend to your needs. If you have a coffee and are reading in their library, they'll bring you a refill, and quickly too. They'll cater to your breakfast time needs, and as a clear example of this, people who were staying there at the same time we were wanted to get up early to go to the bridge walk. So Roger and Darlene awoke at 4:30 a.m. in order to serve a 5:30 a.m. breakfast for them. And they were happy to do it.

Moreover, if your tire goes flat and you need a ride, they'll happily give you a ride to any nearby place. (This happened to us while we were there.) And they will even give you help over and above giving directions and advice for meals. They called a local restaurant to set up a time for us to eat, for example.

The location is very close to Seney National Wildlife Refuge, so if you want to bike or walk around that area, this is an excellent place to stay. We recommend the king room or the twin room, for they are very nice with good beds. The queen room bed is a bit springy and uneven, but still it was not really a problem. All rooms are very clean and nicely maintained.

Once again, overall, this B&B surpasses most in terms of hospitality, value, and quality. We recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Choose the suite, the king room, or the twin room. The suite and twin room look over the nicely mani...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank evanbonobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stopped at the Celibeth House B&B by accident after driving past it on the way to Munising. We did a quick U-turn, met the hosts and were immediately delighted. The room we stayed in was clean, spacious, and very well priced at $80. Breakfast was excellent, and our hosts were delightful. Visitors should know that there is no wi-fi and no television, and no air conditioning - not a problem most days in the Upper Peninsula, but none of this mattered to us. We were especially pleased that, unlike some B&B's, they were perfectly all right with our early (7:30) breakfast request. It's just a few miles from the Seney National Wildlife Preserve, which features a beautiful drive with numerous photo opportunities, a very nice nature walk, and a helpful visitor's center. We will definitely stay at the Celibeth House if we visit again.

Room Tip: Our room with a double bed was excellent. The b&b also features a suite that consists of a serie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dstring13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was our 4th Trip to the Celibeth House in the past 21/2 yr and we will keep going as long as we can. Darlene and Roger are the best, they make you feel right at home and talk about a BREAKFAST, you won't find a better one anywhere and that is a BIG PLUS in my book for Iam a very pickey eater. Athough you eat what she makes but I have not had a bad experiece yet and she does take alegeries ect into account. The House is absolutley gorgeous along with the scenery, it is very peaceful there. You do have to do some traveling to do most activities but it is well worth it and you also need to try the restruant call Tovey's Jolley food is very good and the portion size is great!! they are located about 1/2 hr from the B&B. Please check out the Celibeth House at least once!! You won't be DISSAPPOINTED!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alannrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

Celibeth House is located south of Germfask and about a mile north of highway 2, in Blaney Park, which was once a resort. Celibeth was one of 2 properties I had on my list of places to stay the night. As I drove into the parking area, Roger and Darlene were walking to their vehicle preparing to leave. I drove up and asked if they had a room for the night. Without hesitation, Darlene said they did and offered to show me what was available. (They could have easily said to come back later but interrupted their plans.) I parked and went with them into this grand old lady of a house. I selected the Queen room because I use stairs as little as possible. It is decorated in the style that reminded me of visits to my grandma's house. The bed was very comfortable. Both Roger and Darlene were great hosts and I felt welcome to meander in the public areas. The breakfast served was a FULL, tasty breakfast. I could not finish eating everything. I intend to go back to the UP next year and will visit Celibeth again. They have a website: celibethhousebnb.com

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcg281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Celibeth House on our first trip to the U.P. The owner's, Roger and Darlene, were warm, hospitable, accommodating, and made us feel like family. We had ample privacy and felt priviledged to stay at this beautifully restored and furnished home. Breakfast was exquisite. I've felt tempted to make the 8-hour drive back there for the cream cheese stuffed french toast with blueberry compote and homemade sausage! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Germfask
20.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Newberry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
21.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
20.4 mi away
Zellar's Village Inn
Zellar's Village Inn
#8 of 8 in Newberry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Budget Host Inn Manistique
Budget Host Inn Manistique
#6 of 7 in Manistique
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Celibeth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celibeth House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Celibeth House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4446N Hwy, Blaney Park, Germfask, MI 49836
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Germfask
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Germfask
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing