We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2010

This hotel was just ok and below the Hampton standard. Rooms were dark, small, and out dated. Security hinge on the door was ripped off. Ice machine was broken on the floor. The pool was nice. We were not 100% satisfied with this hotel. Management was polite. I am a Hilton rewards member. After writing Hilton our money was refunded.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripAdCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Gaylord
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 490 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2010

Comfortable for a Hampton, but the only room available was previously a smoking room, and the room still stunk. The air conditioner was clogged with filth (downstream of the filter). It looked like it had never been cleaned. I stayed at this hotel previously and did not have this problem. Recommended with exceptions.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louannarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I stayed at the Hampton Inn for one night on a business trip. I wasn't looking for frills, just a clean room. From the outside the hotel looks great and was right on the highway, which I liked. The front desk had friendly staff and the lobby was decent.

The biggest surprise was when I reached my room. It stunk! Literally! The smell was something terrible and my colleagues room was the same. We were not sure what it was but someone guessed mold and mildew. Since we were only sleeping there and arrived late, I didn't ask for another room. The next day my clothes smelled terrible.

Besides the smell, the room was decent but nothing special. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatLakesBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I was very impressed on how friendly the hotel staff was and how clean the rooms where. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fbarkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

The hotel was really clean, the staff was really professional and friendly. We stayed for a month and loved the fact that it had 2 sets of washers and dryers. People usually don't stay in hotels in the city that they live but we had to for a month and our first pick is definetly the Hampton Inn. So hopefully the next time you need to pick a hotel in Gaylord you will pick the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzie083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

I stay at many Hampton Inns across the country and I have never been more satistifed than staying at the one in Gaylord MI. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. We were there over the Christmas holiday and the pool was very warm, relaxing, and inviting. The room was great, typical Hampton style. The location is great, close to everything. This hotel is our choice every time we visit Gaylord, which is three or four times per year.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We arrived around 7:30 on a Thursday evening so there were no snacks left at the front desk which was fine as we brought some munchies for the kids. They still offered coffee and hot chocolate which was nice for an evening treat. Check in was easy and friendly staff. Rooms were typical size but beds and pillows were great! No frig in room but we knew this when booking the hotel. Entire hotel was clean and all staff extremely friendly. Pool and hot tub also clean and perfect temperature. Towels were not located inside pool area and instead were in the workout room...not convenient, but better than no towels at all. Workout room had an elipticle machine, stationary bike and treadmill which were in great working condition. Breakfast the next day was very good. Eggs, sausage (a little salty), donuts, bagels, english muffins, yogurt, assorted cut fruit and whole fruit, muffins, cereals, and assorted juices. If you like to shop there were a few stores directly behind the hotel that you can walk to. Super Walmart, Claires, Dress Barn, Dollar Tree, Shoe Dept. just to name a few. I would definately stay here again and would recommend to anyone wanting a reasonable priced room with great amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonecuttinghair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 15 in Gaylord
185 reviews
10.1 mi away
Waters Inn
Waters Inn
#2 of 15 in Gaylord
180 reviews
4.9 mi away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#4 of 15 in Gaylord
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gaylord

Address: 230 Dickerson Rd, Gaylord, MI 49735-9205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range: $131 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gaylord 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get out of town and experience the great outdoors with the Hampton Inn Gaylord hotel. Surrounding this clean and comfortable hotel in Gaylord, you'll find the beautiful tree-lined streets of the Alpine Village, home to contemporary shopping and dining. Discover the breathtaking Pine Baron Pathway, a six-mile loop in the Mackinac State Forest or see herds of elk in Beaver Creek. When winter arrives, you can discover a wonderland of snow covered trails, and ride a snowmobile from directly outside the hotel through the Pigeon River State Forest. Summer brings with it a new choice of adventures with an impressive 21 golf courses in the surrounding area, fishing, hiking, or one of our many beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Gaylord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gaylord Hotel Gaylord
Gaylord Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing