We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel and great price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Gaylord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Certificate of Excellence
ann arbor
2 reviews
“Awesome hotel and great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

I was very impressed on how friendly the hotel staff was and how clean the rooms where. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fbarkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    115
    56
    30
    11
See reviews for
164
111
16
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaylord,Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

The hotel was really clean, the staff was really professional and friendly. We stayed for a month and loved the fact that it had 2 sets of washers and dryers. People usually don't stay in hotels in the city that they live but we had to for a month and our first pick is definetly the Hampton Inn. So hopefully the next time you need to pick a hotel in Gaylord you will pick the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

I stay at many Hampton Inns across the country and I have never been more satistifed than staying at the one in Gaylord MI. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. We were there over the Christmas holiday and the pool was very warm, relaxing, and inviting. The room was great, typical Hampton style. The location is great, close to everything. This hotel is our choice every time we visit Gaylord, which is three or four times per year.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

We arrived around 7:30 on a Thursday evening so there were no snacks left at the front desk which was fine as we brought some munchies for the kids. They still offered coffee and hot chocolate which was nice for an evening treat. Check in was easy and friendly staff. Rooms were typical size but beds and pillows were great! No frig in room but we knew this when booking the hotel. Entire hotel was clean and all staff extremely friendly. Pool and hot tub also clean and perfect temperature. Towels were not located inside pool area and instead were in the workout room...not convenient, but better than no towels at all. Workout room had an elipticle machine, stationary bike and treadmill which were in great working condition. Breakfast the next day was very good. Eggs, sausage (a little salty), donuts, bagels, english muffins, yogurt, assorted cut fruit and whole fruit, muffins, cereals, and assorted juices. If you like to shop there were a few stores directly behind the hotel that you can walk to. Super Walmart, Claires, Dress Barn, Dollar Tree, Shoe Dept. just to name a few. I would definately stay here again and would recommend to anyone wanting a reasonable priced room with great amenities.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonecuttinghair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Junta, Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

nice new place, rather skimpy breakfast, coffee was OK

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Having never been to Gaylord I found it easy find and close to the highway. When I arrived at the hotel around noon they said they were pretty booked up, so I wasn't expecting an early check in. However the staff did some checking, recommended the closest parking and got me room keys in just a few minutes.

The room was a decent size with 2 beds with an end table and chair, so OK if you need to pull out your laptop but not ideal if you needed some desk space. There was a business centre that I never saw but the WIFI internet was included anyways. The beds were very comfortable. You know those alarm clocks that take forever to figure out? Not this one...easiest alarm clock I have ever used!

Complimentary basic breakfast bar featured cereals, fruits, pastries juice and coffee. My last day there I saw a prepared "to go" lunch bag to grab on the run. Very convenient to grab a quick apple and muffin on your way out.

If you are looking a hotel for luxury or to view the great scenery of Northern Michigan go somewhere else. You have a 24 hour Walmart Superstore directly to the south and the I75 to the east. Having said that it was extremely quiet, very comfortable and easy access to get out the golf courses and around town.

Overall I would recommend this hotel based on the convenience and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDUBandCOCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

We both travel quite frequently for personal and business and when it comes to hotel rooms we know what we like and prefer, this review is very honest!

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Gaylord this week, checked in on Monday for 2 nights. We came to the area to golf at the Treetops Resort. We used points, and since we were using points we were told that points doesn't allow us for the opportunity to have a king bed. There was a king bed/room available but she couldn't give it to us cause the computer wouldn't let her, she was going to speak with her Manager about this, never heard back about this, and didn't get the king bed/room upon check in.

When we arrived we were told we had a $15.00 hidden charge per night, huh, this was the first I had heard of this. Once I got in my room I called the Hilton 1-800 number and got this cleared up, another nice surprise, I probably could of spent my first 15 mins in my hotel room better ways! This hotel looks nice from the outside, they are working on improving things, which is great. The Staff Member at the Front Desk in the evenings was great, helpful and polite, the lady at the morning breakfasts, Mary, was awesome, wow, what a hard worker, takes pride in what she does and it shows, the breakfast area always looked great, neat and tidy and everything was well stocked. We enjoyed the free breakfasts, it was a nice touch, something nicer than the usual continental. The access to the business centre was another nice touch. We never used the pool, it wasn't really big enough to do laps.

Now for the not so great nor awesome part of our stay at your hotel:

1. We stayed in Room 303, facing Wal-Mart and as we entered the room, the smell of the room just hits you, it's not good, something is not being cleaned properly.
2. The bathroom has a smell too, it might be the shower curtain, I don't know, something else not being cleaned properly.
3. The Mould underneath the soapdish in the shower is not good, nor is the mould underneath the shower handle, once you turn to turn the shower on and you are in the shower with that handle facing up, you see the mould, not nice either!
4. The sheets on the bed were neither white or crispy, they were grey and wrinkled to death.
5. The bed spreadsheet looked like something that was very outdated, where was the usual Hilton touch?
6. The mattress was comfortable, but the bedding needs to replaced desperately.
7. Have you smell the phone receiver, that's just gross and take a look at the tv remote, when was the last time that was cleaned?
8. The curtains don't close properly, nor will they stay closed, so you stay awake with those big Wal-Mart parking lot lights peeking thru and then the sunshine at first light, so much for getting a good night's sleep.
9. The treadmill was out of commission our entire stay.

Overall, we enjoyed our visit to the Gaylord area, lots of shopping, restaurants, but the hotel room, we didn’t enjoy at all! This time the people were just not enough to make this bad experience better.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOTB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#8 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center
4.9 mi away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#5 of 13 in Gaylord
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gaylord

Property: Hampton Inn Gaylord
Address: 230 Dickerson Rd, Gaylord, MI 49735-9205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gaylord 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get out of town and experience the great outdoors with the Hampton Inn Gaylord hotel. Surrounding this clean and comfortable hotel in Gaylord, you'll find the beautiful tree-lined streets of the Alpine Village, home to contemporary shopping and dining. Discover the breathtaking Pine Baron Pathway, a six-mile loop in the Mackinac State Forest or see herds of elk in Beaver Creek. When winter arrives, you can discover a wonderland of snow covered trails, and ride a snowmobile from directly outside the hotel through the Pigeon River State Forest. Summer brings with it a new choice of adventures with an impressive 21 golf courses in the surrounding area, fishing, hiking, or one of our many beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Gaylord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gaylord Hotel Gaylord
Gaylord Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing