We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't do it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Crest Motel Gaylord
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Yuck. Our towels were definitely not clean, the shower curtain stank and had mold all over it. Don't be enticed by the pool, sauna or whirlpool. The pool is sketchy and looks really icky. The sauna is a work zone full of paint cans and the whirlpool isn't even full. We didn't even want to sleep under the covers of the bed for fear of contracting cancer or tuberculosis, so I slept on a towel (that I hoped was clean).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sdk0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    9
    17
    38
See reviews for
33
18
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
burtchville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Roach Motel, third world rating. The english speaking staff does not care....... Stay away. Holes in walls, dirty floors, mold and gooey stuff on night stand. Would not give refund. Find some place else to stay.
Sheds bad light on a nice town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gaylord hotels

Marquette, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

To start i am not an English professor or perfect with grammar i just write how ever just a heads up!!!
So we reserved three rooms for one night and two for the next and what do we get when we come into town? they said they didn't find our reservations it was the night before the wedding for my best friend and her now husband we wanted the wedding party to have a good nights rest well needless to say it was the worst night possible the lights didnt work with the switches so we had to find our way in the dark and to top it off the next day was not so great either. to start off the outlets in the room were actual holes in the wall not only that the heater had no knobs to control it and the one outlet that had been completely covered it didn't work so we compermized and left stuff unplugged for the night thank goodness we didn't have a dead camera for the next day in the middle of the night both the bride and i feel in the room. Before going to the hotel for the night the bride and i were getting our nails done at a local friends house and when we got back to the hotel the room key didnt work we had to actually go down to the office which was locked up and no one around to get help from we were waiting almost a half hour before the guy came out to help us then he gave us a new key to the room and told us that it was our fault the key didn't work but they didn't say to not put the keys near phones or magnets so we got into the room and the bride and i was discussing ideas for the next day. The night was progressing the room was getting colder so we went to sleep well turns out there was no alarm clocks to be found not even a clock of any kind and then to top it all off we couldn't get the water to work in the sink finally we got the water to work and got ready for bed it was so cold by this point we practically had to use everything we could find just to get warm the next morning thank heaven for the sun we woke up a little late so we decided that we would do showers one right after the other to perserve a few mins well as i was getting out of the shower the bride was getting in not two mins later i heard a loud crash well it was the bride falling out of the tub they are lucky it was her and not me cause i am a heavier set person and i could of been hurt worse then her well she ended up with a bruise on her chest and mind u we were paying extra cause they couldn't find the reservations we made weeks in advanced the next day come check out time we decided to combine to the better rooms of the three there was a few staff members that asked to come in and tidy up now i don't know about anyone else but every motel hotel room for a night place i been in they always change the bedding when they tidy up well since we were going to be in the room for a second night the staff assumed it would be okay with the same bedding from the night before okay well had it been us in that room maybe but since we was cominding to two rooms and one of the groomsmen slept in the bed the night before its only fair the bedding be changed well the bride had to ask for the staff to change the bedding and then instead of them just doing it no questions asked he screamed down the hall in a different language and then called someone on the phone and still in a different language he made the bride talk to who ever was on the phone and then when she hung up this perticualr staff member had instantly getting an attitude he just looked at us and stomped out of the room mumbling things in his own language and then looked at me and said "but its family" with the biggest attitude possible he then ripped all the bedding off and reluctlently changed it the point is that we were paying to stay in these rooms and its his job to tiddy up and what ever happend to "the coustomer is always right?" once he got done with the bedding we said nicely thank you and he gave the evilest look possible so overall for what we had to pay and supposidly there was a discount they are lucky we didnt have little kids because there is no way these rooms are up to code no heat no covers for the outlets half the lights not working correctly and then to top it all off no slip resistent things on the bottom of the tub when the bride fell she and the shower curtian went down luckly she didnt brake any bones or hit her head on the toliet. definetly not worth the money spent for the rooms and as for the ammenities well we didnt even have heat or proper electricity let alone the hot tub in pieces out the back door!! overall this was one terrible night and i will never go here again.

Room Tip: don't get one period!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkins Glen, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was the only hotel open when we needed a last minute hotel on Labor Day weekend. After reading the reviews about this place I was not looking forward to our stay, but we had no other choice. Overall my experience at this hotel was average to what I would expect for a hotel of this price. It doesn't advertise itself as a 5 star hotel, and it isn't a 5 star hotel, but it had a nice place to sleep after a long day on the road. The pool did look a little "cloudly" and the continental breakfast could have been cleaner/better stocked, but it worked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

There is nothing good to say about this hotel. Dirty floors and carpets met us as we went to our room. Trash bags by door. Pool cloudy, drinking fountain in pool area not working and full of rust. Hot tub not in operation, even though the info lists it. Been out of commission for some time. Pile of trash 3 ft high next to the building. Bought on Travelocity so felt we were stuck. Room itself had clean carpet. Bathroom had peeling wall paper, Asked for more towels. 2 in room but needed a third. Never brought extras. Just not a very nice place to stay. Would not stay again and would not recommend to anyone. Beware!

Room Tip: If you book thru an on-line service, take their phone number along. Call them immediately, if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briggssprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I travel a lot for business and always stay at Choice Hotels, whenever possible. The Econolodge is on the low end (price) of the Choice Hotel chain. We stayed at this Econolodge as we needed a place to stay on our way up and back to/from Mackinac City for vacation. We stayed at this hotel twice in one week, on two separate occasions.

FIRST STAY: For our first visit, at first appearance the hotel room (suite) seemed fine. However, when I picked up the beds (recline into the wall) I noticed tons of dirt, food, grime, and even a child’s toy and a pair of baby socks. Also, I noticed that the bedding on the bed I slept in had a rip of about 2 feet long, which had been placed at my feet. This wasn't the end of the world for us, but we did notice. The staff seemed nice and we were fine with the accommodations, as the room was very cheap (6,000 reward points), so we decided to come back again as it wasn't the unbearable for the price.

SECOND STAY: On our second stay, we went to check in and found out that the hotel had checked someone else in under my name (and apparently using my rewards points)! As we had kids with us and desperately needed the one suite at the hotel which we had reserved in advance, the room with two double beds was not going to work. I asked about what they could do, and without hesitation kicked out the patrons who they had checked into our room! The manager then came over and apologized and said that he had "a couple of meatheads" working for him.

BREAKFAST: The next morning, we got to breakfast about 15 minutes before it closed. They were out of everything. It seemed they were rationing everything from the cream cheese (which was out) to the spoons (which were out). We then poured milk on the last of our children’s special allergy free cereal to find out that the mild was sour. When we told the manager the milk was sour, he argued with us but eventually brought fresh milk. We then asked him why they were out of everything and he said that breakfast had closed 10 minutes ago (when it was only 2 minutes after the closing and they had been out of everything since we got there).

I have stayed in many hotels over the last year (about 75) and this was by far the WORST hotel I have ever been at.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank AJTravelReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I'd never come back to this motel in my life. Everything had stains. From the matresses to the sheets and even the floors and the siding of the bed. The room smelled of mold and felt like I was getting a lung infection from the janky ars air conditioner that kept me awake all night. The pool looks nothing like the picture as well as the non-existing hot tub and sauna. They were secluded in some walk to outide shack with a bunch of [--] everywhere covered by dust. Like its obvious they havent attempted to try n fix it. This place needs to be condemded, it feels as if it had been a mental institution at one point with the setup. its godawful. DO NOT waste ur money. If its ur last option? Sleep in ur car. U'll feel safer i guarentee it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
0.8 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#8 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
4.1 mi away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#5 of 13 in Gaylord
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Crest Motel Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Crest Motel Gaylord

Property: Royal Crest Motel Gaylord
Address: 803 South Otsego (Old 27 South), Gaylord, MI 49735 (Formerly Econo Lodge Gaylord)
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Crest Motel Gaylord 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Crest Motel in conveniently located in Gaylord, Michigan and just four miles from Otsego Lake State Park, Otsego Memorial Hospital, Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse, Pigeon River State Forest, Call of the Wild and Bavarian Falls Park. Our motel amenities include an indoor heated pool, free continental breakfast, free wireless high-speed Internet access and free local calls. All guest rooms include hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some of our rooms also feature microwaves, refrigerators and sofa sleepers. This is a pet-friendly hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Crest Motel Gaylord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing