We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Gaylord)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ridge(Gaylord)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveler rating
74
101
36
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
101
36
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon rollsfront deskpool and hot tubroom was cleannice hotelstayed one nightwould stay againup to dateflat screen tvmini fridgeshower curtainice machinetraverse citybreakfast barhixpillowsdistraction
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 237 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Comfortable beds, updated guest rooms, microwave/fridge in room, nice towels, clean bathroom with granite countertops, nice TVs with good channel selections, free/fast internet. Front desk staff was courteous and helpful.

Only complaint - the floor/ceilings let a lot of sound through. Sometimes it sounded as though the guest in the room above me was going to fall through the floor. Noisy kids in hallway at very late hours of the night too.....but I suppose the hotel cannot choose its guests!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 412bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed at this property on 7/7/2014. Over all it's a nice place. I'm sure it was a different hotel before it became a Holiday Inn Express, but they have done an amazing job remodeling to fit the Holiday chain. Lobby is spacious, clean and up to date with furnishing and the fire place is beautiful. There is a small business center in the corner. Check in went smooth and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. This is a two story building with no elevators so I would recommend calling ahead and asking to be booked into a first floor room unless you don't mind a little cardio with your luggage. Many key-card entrances into the building so parking close is no issue. Rooms are modern, up to date and extremely clean!!! I did notice that the shower curtain is installed rather high making for little curtain left inside the tub but not a deal breaker. Comfortable beds with the choice of soft or firm pillows. Towels and linens are like new. Breakfast room was well stocked and everything was fresh. There was an attendant wiping off tables and stocking the entire time I was there. Over all a great stay. Big thumbs up for cleanliness. Will return when work takes me back to Gaylord.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Kim_Norton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Overall not a bad hotel. The Holiday Inn Express chain is pretty consistently good for all their hotels. Everything was clean and comfortable. The rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave. The breakfast area was well stocked even though it was busy. Seating at breakfast can be a little tight since there are 10 or less tables.

The indoor pool is a little larger than most hotels. It is not big but I have seen plenty hotel pools that were smaller.

My main issue with the hotel was the noise. The people upstairs were walking around, but not stomping, jumping etc..., it was really noisy. The floor joists really squeaked and made it very difficult to sleep until the upstairs guests slept. There are only two stories at this hotel so make sure if you want a quiet room to ask for the second floor.

My other issue is about the hotel security. A side entrance door which was not visible to the front desk was not locked. Anyone could access the hotel without a key.

If you are passing through the area this is not a bad place to stay. The hotel has easy access to the highway. There are a variety of chain restaurants close to the hotel. A Walmart is also close by.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Baxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed for one night with family of five. Rooms were decent size, clean with comfortable beds. Nothing to wow you but provides a nice, pleasant stay. Not a large hotel but had a decent size breakfast bar area and pool with hot tub. Not many name brand hotel options as you get this far north or on the east side of state so it's location is perfect to enjoy the many tourist attractions in area at an affordable price. It's what you would expect from a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simbadusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed twice in ten days; once on our way down to southern Ontario and once on our way back home.

First time: didn't exactly get the best reception; felt like I was bothering her; got a little resistance when I asked for seniors rate and a room on the ground floor since both of us are handicapped.

Second time: got the same receptionist.... got completely different reaction. She was very helpful and friendly, so I just took it as having a bad day the first time.

PROs: we stayed in room 302 & then later, on the return trip, in 313. Both rooms were large, two very comfortable queen-size beds and great pillows, no traffic noise, large fridge with freezer compartment, 32" HD TV, microwave, coffee maker, very clean bathroom and a security box. The HVAC unit did a good job at keeping the room cool; the one in 302 was quiet, the one in 313 was a bit noisy. Nearby, there were two pop machines (one with Pepsi products, the other with Coke products - nice to have both, so we could have a choice); an ice machine, and a "goodies" machine with a reasonable selection. AND, last but not least, one of the best continental breakfast rooms we have ever had the pleasure to experience; lots of hot and cold varieties of food to enjoy, plus the supply was constantly replenished.

Also available, a pool and hot tub. And free internet access. Good access to handicap parking in the "300s" section of the Inn.

Easy exit and access from the I75 to the Inn.

Although there is no restaurant at the Inn, there are several in the immediate area.

CONs: First: what is the use of have a great TV with 84 channels, including 5 HBOs and NOT having a TVguide channel. I was told they USED to have one but it was canceled; ridiculous!
Second: the system to evacuated the "methane gasses" and shower steam from the bathrooms of both rooms (302 & 313) is highly inadequate.

If it wasn't for the two "cons" above, the stay would have been excellent.

Room Tip: Recommend the "300s" section of the Inn.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews