We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay on the 2nd floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Chicago
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Stay on the 2nd floor”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Overall not a bad hotel. The Holiday Inn Express chain is pretty consistently good for all their hotels. Everything was clean and comfortable. The rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave. The breakfast area was well stocked even though it was busy. Seating at breakfast can be a little tight since there are 10 or less tables.

The indoor pool is a little larger than most hotels. It is not big but I have seen plenty hotel pools that were smaller.

My main issue with the hotel was the noise. The people upstairs were walking around, but not stomping, jumping etc..., it was really noisy. The floor joists really squeaked and made it very difficult to sleep until the upstairs guests slept. There are only two stories at this hotel so make sure if you want a quiet room to ask for the second floor.

My other issue is about the hotel security. A side entrance door which was not visible to the front desk was not locked. Anyone could access the hotel without a key.

If you are passing through the area this is not a bad place to stay. The hotel has easy access to the highway. There are a variety of chain restaurants close to the hotel. A Walmart is also close by.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Baxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    97
    34
    12
    8
See reviews for
72
53
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed for one night with family of five. Rooms were decent size, clean with comfortable beds. Nothing to wow you but provides a nice, pleasant stay. Not a large hotel but had a decent size breakfast bar area and pool with hot tub. Not many name brand hotel options as you get this far north or on the east side of state so it's location is perfect to enjoy the many tourist attractions in area at an affordable price. It's what you would expect from a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simbadusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed twice in ten days; once on our way down to southern Ontario and once on our way back home.

First time: didn't exactly get the best reception; felt like I was bothering her; got a little resistance when I asked for seniors rate and a room on the ground floor since both of us are handicapped.

Second time: got the same receptionist.... got completely different reaction. She was very helpful and friendly, so I just took it as having a bad day the first time.

PROs: we stayed in room 302 & then later, on the return trip, in 313. Both rooms were large, two very comfortable queen-size beds and great pillows, no traffic noise, large fridge with freezer compartment, 32" HD TV, microwave, coffee maker, very clean bathroom and a security box. The HVAC unit did a good job at keeping the room cool; the one in 302 was quiet, the one in 313 was a bit noisy. Nearby, there were two pop machines (one with Pepsi products, the other with Coke products - nice to have both, so we could have a choice); an ice machine, and a "goodies" machine with a reasonable selection. AND, last but not least, one of the best continental breakfast rooms we have ever had the pleasure to experience; lots of hot and cold varieties of food to enjoy, plus the supply was constantly replenished.

Also available, a pool and hot tub. And free internet access. Good access to handicap parking in the "300s" section of the Inn.

Easy exit and access from the I75 to the Inn.

Although there is no restaurant at the Inn, there are several in the immediate area.

CONs: First: what is the use of have a great TV with 84 channels, including 5 HBOs and NOT having a TVguide channel. I was told they USED to have one but it was canceled; ridiculous!
Second: the system to evacuated the "methane gasses" and shower steam from the bathrooms of both rooms (302 & 313) is highly inadequate.

If it wasn't for the two "cons" above, the stay would have been excellent.

Room Tip: Recommend the "300s" section of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed Sunday night to Wednesday morning. Had a quick check in. Room had two queen size bed with refrigerator, microwave wave and sink outside the bathroom. Very roomy with enough space for 4 adults to move around easily. Housekeeping staff was amazing. Provided extra towels and cleaned our room leaving little surprises for the kids. Laundromats was on floor was convenient and away from rooms that you couldn't hear them.

Breakfast was excellent! So many different options. Leann was amazing. She made sure everything was well stocked. Very friendly with the kids. Newspaper at nearly every table to read was a nice touch. Pancake machine was a hit with the kids. Fresh sausage, bacon, and eggs were wonderful! As well as chocolate milk....A huge hit with the kids!

Pool and hot tub was great! Water was warm. Plenty of towels nearby. Staff was very helpful in making sure we had everything we needed when we were finished swimming. Handicap access to the pool was nice to see too.

Will stay here again in a heartbeat! ! Thank you! !!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marcie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

1st time I've ever given 5 stars and that may be a little generous, but we really enjoyed our 2 night stay. Convenient location and friendly quick check in. Our room was a deluxe 2 queen - it was plenty big and had a second vanity outside the bathroom and with the refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker it was almost like a kitchenette. The room was very clean, beds and pillows were comfortable and despite the hotel being rather full, it was very quiet. The breakfast area was very busy, but they worked hard to keep it stocked. The first morning they had cheese omelets and bacon, the second morning they had scrambled eggs, biscuits, gravy and sausage, along with the normal fare and a pancake machine and cinnamon rolls. It didn't look like anybody was going away hungry. The pool and hot tub were really nice too. The water was a little cloudy, but it didn't have the strong chemicals like most hotel pools. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed in the Grayling Holiday Inn Express on our way home recently. Great overnight stay, beds were great and it was very quiet even with all of the children in the hall heading to the pool.

They have staffed the breakfast room very well, especially on Sunday to make sure everyone if happy and fed. I congratulate the manager and the people who keep the breakfast room filled with food.

Will stay here again when I am in the area.

Thanks

Lary1047

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lary1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have stayed at this HI Express numerous times, each time with the same issues, which we shared online directly with the hotel and through our Trip Advisor reviews. However THIS time they GOT IT RIGHT!!! The Wi-Fi now reaches the rooms handily. The front desk staff were quite friendly and helpful when we asked for a restaurant recommendation (if you're up for Italia go to Mama Leone's - see separate review); and the breakfast started at 6AM so we could get an early start. PLUS they changed over to cable TV, which is infinitely better. I complimented the front desk person as we left telling her basically how much we appreciated their upgrading and fixing the previous issues. The room we had this time was much nicer than previously as it had a separate mini-kitchen area, which gave us two areas for getting dressed this morning. I have already recommended this HI Express to friends, and definitely appreciate the management's listening to input from customers. Thank you for a really fantastic stay!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 14 in Gaylord
467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
0.4 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#12 of 14 in Gaylord
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 14 in Gaylord
169 reviews
5.1 mi away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#5 of 14 in Gaylord
481 reviews
10.2 mi away
Waters Inn
Waters Inn
#2 of 14 in Gaylord
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gaylord

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Address: 1201 W Main St, Gaylord, MI 49735-7407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gaylord 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Gaylord, in Northern Michigan, 45 minutes from beautiful Mackinac Island and located on the 45th parallel Gaylord, Michigan. Guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators, free wired/wireless high-speed Internet access and a 27 cable television with HBO & voice mail. King rooms offer 32' HD LCD TVs with DVD players. Free DVD rentals are available at the front desk! We also offer Jacuzzi rooms. Enjoy the spectacular hot Smart Start breakfast and our indoor heated pool, hot tub, dry sauna and fitness center. Our 2 meeting rooms accommodate 6-50 people. For outdoor enthusiasts we are minutes to Treetops Golf Resorts, Boyne Mountain and Shanty Creek. Join us in Gaylords golf Mecca with 24 of Michigan finest golf courses.Upcoming events: Boyne Morel mushroom Festival, regional hockey playoffs, soccer tournament, and baseball camp, trout season is open! Guides available. Plenty of shopping and restaurants are located nearby as are Halliburton, Wal-Mart, Lowe s, Home Depot, Norandex, Georgia Pacific, Wolverine Power, Holland Dist. Gordon Foods , M-DOT, MIDNR, Nabisco, Reinhart, and the Ostego County Sportsplex. We are FEMA approved for all federal and state meetings. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Gaylord! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gaylord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord Hotel Gaylord
Holiday Inn Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing