We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The staff was very helpful--I asked if I could have some butter for my take out and the front desk person got me some. Check-in was very quick. I was asked if I wanted the first or second floor. I chose the second floor. There are stairs and an elevator. The room was clean. The bathroom was beautiful. The living area included a microwave, mini fridge, a second sink (and mirror), flat screen tv and a desk. Beds were comfortable with lots of pillows. Breakfast was great lots of variety including the hotcake maker. I didn't use the pool or the excercise room. I will stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meow-Mom-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 231 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is the best Hotel I have ever stayed at, Room was perfect, staff was even better. The best breakfast and housekeeping knows how to clean a room....WOOW!!! I did NOT find anything wrong with my stay, in room flat screen TV, Wi-Fi, marble floors in the bathroom and countertops, room service, dvd player, coffee pot the works, and this was just a std room.

Room Tip: You want a Good night sleep, and get treatment of A king? Then this is your hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulplj2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay in Gaylord once per year on business. There aren't too many choices for lodging there.
Room was clean and nicely appointed. The carpeting throughout the hotel looked a bit ragged and had some stains. The workout room had no weights at all - just a stepper, treadmill, and bike crammed in to a small space. Breakfast was decent and the room was once again clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. A bit of a strong smell of cleaning chemicals in the hallway.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMHDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My family and I were on the road all weekend so we just picked this place because it was convenient and easy off the highway. We were pleasantly surprised by amazing service and a super clean and comfortable room!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I often use the Holiday Inn chain as I travel around the country. This hotel was effective for its price and suited our purposes for a quick overnight visit. I've seen better, I've seen worse. Location is perfect as a stop on the way to Mackinac Island or the Upper Penninsula.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here while doing a fall color tour. This is one of the nicest Holiday Inn's I have stayed at. The rooms were clean, updated and comfortable. The indoor pool was very nicely heated and enjoyable. The hotel was completely booked, however it was quiet and only seemed like a few other guests. The front desk clerk was a bit rude to people calling on the phone looking for rooms, however was pleasant to us at check in. Would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank TracySMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our way home from Wisconsin. We always stay at Holdiay Inn Express because we have always had a good experience. Not here. First impressions mean alot and this propertys front desk is extremely lacking in common courtesy. My husand asked for a discount and before he could state which one he was told "We don"t give discounts." I know they do from AARP to AAA to Military. Was not going to argue with someone who is nasty. Should have left them but you are kind of in the middle of no where and I least thought we would get a nice room. Wrong. The carpet was absoutley filthy. Thank god we had slippers. The bed was clean. Went to ask the front desk a question and they were to busy entertaining friends to wait on customers. I called the Holiday Inn toll free number and was told that they certaintly do give discounts. Bottom line. Dont go here. Place is not up to standards and the front desk lie and are rude.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank mandmsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gaylord, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear mandmsj,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the bed.

However, We’re sorry you received poor service from out housekeeping and for the poor customer service provide by our from desk. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaylord
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 15 in Gaylord
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 15 in Gaylord
187 reviews
10.2 mi away
Waters Inn
Waters Inn
#2 of 15 in Gaylord
183 reviews
15.4 mi away
Boyne Mountain Resort
Boyne Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Boyne Falls
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gaylord

Address: 1201 W Main St, Gaylord, MI 49735-7407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range: $130 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gaylord 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Gaylord, in Northern Michigan, 45 minutes from beautiful Mackinac Island and located on the 45th parallel Gaylord, Michigan. Guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators, free wired/wireless high-speed Internet access and a 27 cable television with HBO & voice mail. King rooms offer 32' HD LCD TVs with DVD players. Free DVD rentals are available at the front desk! We also offer Jacuzzi rooms. Enjoy the spectacular hot Smart Start breakfast and our indoor heated pool, hot tub, dry sauna and fitness center. Our 2 meeting rooms accommodate 6-50 people. For outdoor enthusiasts we are minutes to Treetops Golf Resorts, Boyne Mountain and Shanty Creek. Join us in Gaylords golf Mecca with 24 of Michigan finest golf courses.Upcoming events: Boyne Morel mushroom Festival, regional hockey playoffs, soccer tournament, and baseball camp, trout season is open! Guides available. Plenty of shopping and restaurants are located nearby as are Halliburton, Wal-Mart, Lowe s, Home Depot, Norandex, Georgia Pacific, Wolverine Power, Holland Dist. Gordon Foods , M-DOT, MIDNR, Nabisco, Reinhart, and the Ostego County Sportsplex. We are FEMA approved for all federal and state meetings. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Gaylord! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gaylord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord Hotel Gaylord
Holiday Inn Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing