We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overall good experience”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My family and I were on the road all weekend so we just picked this place because it was convenient and easy off the highway. We were pleasantly surprised by amazing service and a super clean and comfortable room!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    99
    35
    12
    9
See reviews for
74
54
13
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
598 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I often use the Holiday Inn chain as I travel around the country. This hotel was effective for its price and suited our purposes for a quick overnight visit. I've seen better, I've seen worse. Location is perfect as a stop on the way to Mackinac Island or the Upper Penninsula.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while doing a fall color tour. This is one of the nicest Holiday Inn's I have stayed at. The rooms were clean, updated and comfortable. The indoor pool was very nicely heated and enjoyable. The hotel was completely booked, however it was quiet and only seemed like a few other guests. The front desk clerk was a bit rude to people calling on the phone looking for rooms, however was pleasant to us at check in. Would stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TracySMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erial, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our way home from Wisconsin. We always stay at Holdiay Inn Express because we have always had a good experience. Not here. First impressions mean alot and this propertys front desk is extremely lacking in common courtesy. My husand asked for a discount and before he could state which one he was told "We don"t give discounts." I know they do from AARP to AAA to Military. Was not going to argue with someone who is nasty. Should have left them but you are kind of in the middle of no where and I least thought we would get a nice room. Wrong. The carpet was absoutley filthy. Thank god we had slippers. The bed was clean. Went to ask the front desk a question and they were to busy entertaining friends to wait on customers. I called the Holiday Inn toll free number and was told that they certaintly do give discounts. Bottom line. Dont go here. Place is not up to standards and the front desk lie and are rude.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mandmsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gaylord, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear mandmsj,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the bed.

However, We’re sorry you received poor service from out housekeeping and for the poor customer service provide by our from desk. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My significant other and I were driving from Grand Rapids to Mackinaw City for the Labor Day weekend in 2012 and left home on a Friday evening. We decided to stay that first night in Gaylord because we knew it wouldn't take too long to get there but that it would be a quick drive from there to Mackinaw City the following morning. We usually like to stay at fairly nice hotels (priced within reason), and the reviews of this Holiday Inn Express were pretty good so we tried it out.

In general, it was very nice! We didn't have a lot of time to enjoy it, though, because we didn't arrive until about 10:30 p.m. on Friday. The check-in process was quick and easy, our room on the second floor was nice, the bed was comfortable, and everything was clean. The only thing that was a pain was finding a parking spot that late at night. There were a lot of large trucks pulling RVs which were taking up multiple parking spaces.

After we checked in and got settled into the room, I took a walk around the hotel just to check things out. The pool/hot tub area was very nice and stays open pretty late (until 11 p.m.), but the sauna was out of order. No big deal for us, though, since we weren't able to use it.

The next morning we went down to the breakfast bar. There was a big variety of breakfast foods available (typical for what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn Express). They had hot eggs, bacon, make-your-own pancakes (instead of waffles like most places have), yogurt, cereal, bagels, cinnamon rolls, and so on. The food is nothing terribly exciting, but it's great that this hotel offers all of it.

The check-out process was pretty quick, and we were out by 11 a.m. (I guess if we wanted to, we could have used the pool but we slept in a little late for that. Ha!)

I wished we would have had a bit more time to enjoy this hotel, but I'll probably want to stay there again the next time we stay overnight in Gaylord.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New_friends_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Ok hotel. Appears remodeled. Clean for the most part. Good breakfast. Maids were the best part of our stay, very friendly, helpful and kind. Front desk. Not so much. When someone was there, they were rather snooty. No pop in any of the pop machines on any floor. Vending machines did not dispense what you asked for. No ice in ice machine. And for some reason, our bathroom had an oder about it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here for one night and liked it. I would book this hotel again. Rooms are clean, don't have that after smell of smoke that alot of places have that have gone non-smoking. Rooms smell clean. Pool was walk in warm and hot tub was fantastic. Nice breakfast bar in the morning with plenty to choose from. The rooms have beautiful marble counters and sink and frig on outside of bathroom, plus sink in the bathroom. Bathrooms are very spacious. This is right off the highway and plenty to choose from for restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachboysbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 14 in Gaylord
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
0.4 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#12 of 14 in Gaylord
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 14 in Gaylord
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
10.2 mi away
Waters Inn
Waters Inn
#2 of 14 in Gaylord
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gaylord

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Address: 1201 W Main St, Gaylord, MI 49735-7407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gaylord 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Gaylord, in Northern Michigan, 45 minutes from beautiful Mackinac Island and located on the 45th parallel Gaylord, Michigan. Guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators, free wired/wireless high-speed Internet access and a 27 cable television with HBO & voice mail. King rooms offer 32' HD LCD TVs with DVD players. Free DVD rentals are available at the front desk! We also offer Jacuzzi rooms. Enjoy the spectacular hot Smart Start breakfast and our indoor heated pool, hot tub, dry sauna and fitness center. Our 2 meeting rooms accommodate 6-50 people. For outdoor enthusiasts we are minutes to Treetops Golf Resorts, Boyne Mountain and Shanty Creek. Join us in Gaylords golf Mecca with 24 of Michigan finest golf courses.Upcoming events: Boyne Morel mushroom Festival, regional hockey playoffs, soccer tournament, and baseball camp, trout season is open! Guides available. Plenty of shopping and restaurants are located nearby as are Halliburton, Wal-Mart, Lowe s, Home Depot, Norandex, Georgia Pacific, Wolverine Power, Holland Dist. Gordon Foods , M-DOT, MIDNR, Nabisco, Reinhart, and the Ostego County Sportsplex. We are FEMA approved for all federal and state meetings. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Gaylord! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gaylord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord Hotel Gaylord
Holiday Inn Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing