We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positives outweighed the negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Positives outweighed the negatives”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here for one night and it met our expectations. The best part was the hotel pool and hot tub. We used it at night, which was very fun and it had longer hours than most hotel pools. It was the warmest hotel pool we have ever used! The hot tub was adjacent, so you could watch your kids in the pool. We stayed in a 2 Queen bedroom. The bedding was clean and comfortable. The carpet, however, appeared as though it needed cleaning. The nice part about the room was that there was a sink and mirror outside the bathroom, as well as one inside the bathroom which allowed our family of 4 more convenience in getting ready. I did find the hotel room to be noisy - not sure if it was just a bad night, or thin walls in general. Breakfast was sufficient, but not overly great. Staff worked hard to keep everything replenished and organized. It did have one of those instant pancake makers, which we enjoy. Overall, the positives outweighed the negatives.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leaners2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    97
    34
    12
    8
See reviews for
72
53
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SUDBURY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stopped as an unexpected layover between destinations and was not disappointed. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly upon checkin. The room was a typlical Holiday Inn and was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included, but the room was so packed we didn't stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian-flyer-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed one night at this property. For a HI Express, it was OK. We reserved a King room and were upgraded to a King with Jacuzzi. No bedbugs....we always check first thing. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, which for me constitutes an average rating because rooms SHOULD be clean and beds SHOULD be comfortable. We did not go down for the breakfast, so I cannot speak to that. We were happy to have the microwave and fridge, and the room was spacious and well furnished. The room was lacking a Hotel Information booklet, which for me is essential. There was air in the rooms, but not in the corridors, so it was really hot in the halls. Overall we felt that we got good value for out $.

Room Tip: join the HI Express rewards program.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonriseBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
531 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Hello. I stayed here for 6 nights. Average HIE in comparison to others. Considering there isn't much around in this area, besides lakes and hunting/fishing resorts, this hotel is conveniently located around several fast food and other restaurants like Big Bobs, Poderosa, Mexican Specialty etc. I especially liked the fact that the "Glens Grocery Store" down the street had a small Starbucks. So I was able to get real coffee every morning on my way to Camp Grayling, MI (about 30 minutes away). Did not have much interaction with the Staff, but when I saw them they were courteous. Room was cleaned to standard when requested. Had a King Bed, mini-fridge, I could use the breakfast microwave when i wanted down the hall from room 119. I would stay here again.

Pros:
- Bigger Pool and Jacuzzi than other HIE *working

Cons:
- No Laundry Dry Cleaning (although they do have machines if you want to wash your clothes)
- Local Dry Cleaners did not offer same day either *not HIE problem just a note
- Sauna *Not Working
- Internet Speed was terribly slow in the evenings
- Only Cardio Machines in exercise room *Could use some small dumbells

Retired Army Ranger
PC Gold Member

Room Tip: Ask for a King Non-Smoking Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WHDSM-Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 3 winters and have come to expect certain things. We were sadly disappointed on this last trip. The hot tub that we always look forward to after skiing was out of order for the whole 4 days we were there-- as was the sauna. The pool was freezing and the pool area was just as cold. Breakfast was awful-- no milk or fruit for breakfast, soggy bacon.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidihausfrau81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel twice now and have enjoyed our stay both times. This is a great hotel at a very reasonable price. The breakfast was great and the kids really enjoyed the pool and hot tub.

Our only complaint was on our second visit the pool and hot tub were broken. Had we known they were out of order we would have stayed elsewhere. It would have been nice if the staff would have made us aware of this in advance.

We have and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Gaylord area. We plan on returning as well as long as the pool is working!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Ontario
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We were doing some hard-core driving so our stay was brief but was very impressed. After seeing the hotel on our GPS we called ahead and negotiated a decent rate. We arrived late (11 p.m.) but check in was smooth and quick. The rooms were really clean and fresh and larger than I expected. The second sink was a nice touch and it did not look cheap like so many do. We were up again early (6 a.m.) and the breakfast did not disappoint. There were hot and cold choices and it was easy to fill up on something tasty. We did not check out any amenities other than the breakfast but for a quiet, clean place to sleep, this was great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowfugitive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 14 in Gaylord
465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
0.4 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#12 of 14 in Gaylord
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 14 in Gaylord
169 reviews
5.1 mi away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#5 of 14 in Gaylord
481 reviews
10.2 mi away
Waters Inn
Waters Inn
#2 of 14 in Gaylord
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gaylord

Property: Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Address: 1201 W Main St, Gaylord, MI 49735-7407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gaylord 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Gaylord, in Northern Michigan, 45 minutes from beautiful Mackinac Island and located on the 45th parallel Gaylord, Michigan. Guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators, free wired/wireless high-speed Internet access and a 27 cable television with HBO & voice mail. King rooms offer 32' HD LCD TVs with DVD players. Free DVD rentals are available at the front desk! We also offer Jacuzzi rooms. Enjoy the spectacular hot Smart Start breakfast and our indoor heated pool, hot tub, dry sauna and fitness center. Our 2 meeting rooms accommodate 6-50 people. For outdoor enthusiasts we are minutes to Treetops Golf Resorts, Boyne Mountain and Shanty Creek. Join us in Gaylords golf Mecca with 24 of Michigan finest golf courses.Upcoming events: Boyne Morel mushroom Festival, regional hockey playoffs, soccer tournament, and baseball camp, trout season is open! Guides available. Plenty of shopping and restaurants are located nearby as are Halliburton, Wal-Mart, Lowe s, Home Depot, Norandex, Georgia Pacific, Wolverine Power, Holland Dist. Gordon Foods , M-DOT, MIDNR, Nabisco, Reinhart, and the Ostego County Sportsplex. We are FEMA approved for all federal and state meetings. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Gaylord! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gaylord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord Hotel Gaylord
Holiday Inn Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing