We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little outdated, but friendly and clean. Recommended.”
Review of Treetops Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Treetops Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Reviewed November 4, 2010

If you're looking for a hip hotel, this isn't it.
We stayed there during a labor day weekend, and it was good for a few days. Very quiet, secluded location on a large golf/forest resort. Nice indoor/outdoor pool.
We stayed in the lodge building, which is supposed to be the better one.
GREAT breakfast at the restaurant, with a great selection of fresh (properly) baked items. Specially recommend the banana bread french toast....

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill2421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 521 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2010

Our group of golfers stayed at the Inn for a week. The rooms were very roomy, but quite dated. The television was older, not high def, and quite small. The shower needed to be replaced. The water pressure was barely enough to wash off the soap.
In addition to these issues, the noise transfer from adjacent rooms was very high. We could hear every step above us as well as the television next door. Conversations in the hall were disconcerting.
The breakfast (included) was very nice. The restaurant employees were great. Always a severe shortage of strawberry preserves, but only shortcoming there.
Pizza at the sports bar also very good. Service good there also.
As other posters have mentioned, stay at the Lodge. If you cannot get a room there I would suggest staying in Gaylord, playing golf at Treetops and the other nice courses in the area. We tried to transfer to the Lodge without success, but were given a discount on our package price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvtkirby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed three nights at Crystal Mountain, playing golf and then drove to Treetops for two nights to play golf. What a night and day difference. Although the golf at Treetops was great (Threetops is a must) and all the staff people on the golf courses were wonderful, the lodging was astonishingly poor. We couldn't believe it. We had stayed there on a two night golf package with 18 holes of golf. DO NOT DO THIS! They will give you the absolutely worst lodging. We stayed at the Inn, near the ski slope. I honestly felt like I was back the 60's with the way the room was. It smelled (so did the hallways), it was grossly outdated and the carpet looked like it was decades old. I am not exaggerating. The bedspreads were gross and I took those off immediately. The outlet in the bathroom was almost unusable because it was so loose nothing would stay in it. I know Treetops is having a hard time financially, but this was beyond bad. If I went back, I would play golf there but would stay in town at the Hampton Inn and have better lodging. The fact that there was no wireless in the room (a must now, as far as I am concerned) meant that we could get no work done or answer any e-mails for two days. I just coudn't believe they call this place a "resort". It was gloomy and dull. After Crystal Mountain, it was a huge letdown.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cascio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

The lodge was very clean - outdated but quiet and comfortable. The food was good - we purchased the meals with our golf package (not have to do this). The courses were outstanding - played the Jones, Fazio courses and Threetops (Par three). The Jones course was the hardest - great vistas and excellent condition. The Threetops was outstanding! What a fun nine holes! One hole is 203 yards with a 280 foot drop tothe green. A fun challenge!

Nothing in Gaylord - so be prepared to stay at the Resort. In door pool and jacuzzi was a welcome relief after playing the courses. Staff is friendly and helpful - especially on the courses. If you like mountain golf - this is the place for you! Great vistas - challenging golf, friendly staff and good food. What else do you need?!

My wife golfed with me - enjoyed playing the courses and the trip. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Putts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Went on a 3 day, 5 round golfing trip with a few buddies earlier this year. Gaylord is a bit of a long ride from anywhere, but that was what we wanted.

The check-in person was a bit sullen, but she was the only staff member we met that wasn't incredibly friendly (including the people on the course). We were in the old motel lodge which definitely showed its age. The beds were fine, the TV a bit small for the room but usable. Breakfast was included with the package, and both the staff and the food were great. The food at dinner was more like a 3-star meal. Not bad.

The golf is what made this trip worthwhile. it's a beautiful area (pine trees, hilly/elevation changes), and the courses were fantastic, with the exception of the Tradition which was a bit of disappointment. If I went back, I'd play one of the other courses again rather than that one. Having the motel so close to the courses (couple mile ride for most of them, the Jones was right there) made it great for us.

I don't know if the rooms are nicer in the Inn itself, but the motel rooms were needing an update. This place is perfect for the golf nut who doesn't care that he's not staying at the Lodge at Pebble Beach. If you're looking for that, you'll be disappointed. But for me, it was a 5-star trip.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDZ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Spent 2 nights at the Lodge on a family golf trip. It was our first time at Treetops. Courses were beautiful and in truly excellent condition, the food and views at the resort's Legends restaurant were very good, decently priced and we definitely would go back. The room at the Lodge was large and comfortable and the price could not be better.

Don't want to be "picky", but though the room was large, it needed freshening/updating, the wireless internet worked only sporadically and the housekeeping service was simply rude. The bathroom, in particular needs attention. Brass fixtures in the whirlpool tub were old and the brass finish was very worn/tarnished. The tub spout w/diverter had been replaced with a hardware store chrome one, giving the appearance of a quick and mismatched fix; worse still, both the tub and the toilet leaked 24/7. The wireless internet was basically impossible to use, as it kept shutting down after a few minutes' use; an hour on the internet became an exercise in total frustration, so we just gave up. I went to breakfast Saturday morning, leaving my 20 year old son asleep. Housekeeping woke him at 9 a.m. He said that he had just gotten up and asked if they could come back later (we had a tee time), he was told "it is now or never!". THAT is a first!

Otherwise, our stay was very good. Treetops golf is wonderful and, with a little effort, the accommodations could be as well. One point to consider is that the resort tends to get large groups of people (girls soccer teams, several golf outings and a wedding when we were there). It was not a problem for us, but might be for those expecting a romantic getaway, unless they stayed during the week instead of on a week-end.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tylerarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed at Treetops on our way to Mackinac Island and got a heck of a deal. For $99 a night we had a huge room, deck, free pizza, family package with movies, popcorn, kites and an hour of golf with our twin boys (Cheap hotels in Mackinac City were going for $40 to $60 more). I played some golf and my wife and I talked about coming back again in the fall. There was a lot of room for my kids to play in the grassy areas and our room backed up to the woods. The only thing that was a little disappointing was that the bathroom needed a "refresher". The fixtures needed to be replaced and someone should calk the tile in the bathroom. Nevertheless, bang for the buck we could not beat Treetops.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psjoe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
4.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 15 in Gaylord
501 reviews
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 15 in Gaylord
188 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
11.9 mi away
Waters Inn
Waters Inn
#2 of 15 in Gaylord
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Resort

Address: 3962 Wilkinson Rd, Gaylord, MI 49735-9800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range: $110 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular golf, world-class instruction, spa, downhill skiing, snowmobiling, meetings and fairytale weddings are just some of the reasons people visit Treetops Resort & Spa. Let's start with golf, Treetops is truly the Midwest's "Must Play" resort and arguably the best collection of golf anywhere in the country. Our awards and accolades from the nation's top golf and travel publications seem to agree. Treetops is home to 81 holes of championship golf and features five distinctly different courses by renowned designers Robert Trent Jones, Sr., Tom Fazio and Rick Smith. Dramatic views, contours and rolling terrain provide a beautiful setting for world-class golf. The Masterpiece Course was Robert Trent Jones, Sr.'S final design in Michigan and is truly a masterpiece. In his own words, Jones claimed it his crowning glory. The course is located at the headwaters of the Pigeon River and takes full advantage of natural valleys, ravines and broad plains. The signature sixth hole features a 120' vertical drop and a panoramic view of the Pigeon River Valley. Dine Like a Champion, Party Like a Rock Star! Enjoy a hearty backwoods breakfast, great food, fine wines and good times, in a casually quaint atmosphere with spectacular views. Rich beginnings, succulent entrees and signature desserts are the perfect complement to a great day on the course or the slopes. Nightlife also abounds too with live entertainment and a sports bar with a massive collection of the world's favorite brews. Enjoy your favorite team on a host of flat screen TV's or create your own action on one of our pool tables or relax and take in the spectacular star show in the sky as you cozy up to our fire pit. Sleep Like a Bear Treetops Resort features 238 guest rooms, including standard and deluxe hotel rooms and two and three bedroom condominiums. Nearly every room takes advantage of our majestic setting and offers sweeping vistas of ski hills, golf courses, pristine woods or wetlands. Wake up refreshed as a bear in springtime, ready to do it again, for with five courses, 23 runs and the vast beauty of the Michigan wilderness surround you, you'll never get bored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Treetops Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Gaylord
Treetops Resort Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing