We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Golf Resort”
Review of Treetops Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Treetops Resort
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Just returned from a great golf vacation at Treetops. We were a little hesitant about going after reading some of the negative reviews but went with an open mind. We're from NY so we flew into Traverse City about an hour from Treetops. We stayed at the lodge which I understand has been remodeled so I can't compare it to the inn. The rooms were very nice and quite spacious. The only negatives were the ease of taking a shower as the shower was located in the jet tub which is quite high off the ground and not easy to step into for short people like my wife. Elderly people who are not agile would have a difficult time. However the jet tub felt great after golf. The only other minor complaint was the position of the television which was difficult to view while lying in bed. Overall service was very friendly. We ate several meals on site and they were all very good with excellent service. Our main purpose of the trip was to attend the Rick Smith Golf Academy and then enjoy several days of golf. The golf school was incredible and way beyond our expectations. My wife and I are long time avid golfers but there is always room for improvement. Henry Young the golf school director is simply amazing and the school staff is most accomodating. Everything is videoed and they give you a cd with the before and after along with voice analysis. We would definitely consider returning. There are several very good dining options nearby. Don't miss Dianas Deelight in Gaylord for breakfast and lunch along with delicious homemade pies. We also enjoyed the Old Depot for dinner in Johannesburg about 15 minutes from Treetops.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron2putt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for Treetops Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 514 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2009

We stayed at Treetops in Jan '09 with a bunch of friends and had a great time. The rooms were nice and everywhere from Legends to the bottom of the hill we were treated well. We even had some special requests for our room and those requests were handled with no problem. The slopes were great but unfortunately I could not get a lesson on a Sat. at 430pm.... wasn't too impressed by that. Over all, however, the trip was pleasant and I would surely return.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank roo222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

This is my families second time back at the resort. Our first time was a disappointment, but we figured we would give them a second chance. This time for New Years 2009, we stayed two nights and for the seond time were unhappy with our experience. During our previous stay at the INN (their 2nd lodge) we enjoyed the outside pool and hot tub during the winter nights. This time, we were disappointed to find that both the pool and hot tub were sitting empty with no water. =( The pool and hot tub inside were not maintained and unfortunately extremely cold. Housekeeping was called three times to replenish towels in an hours time and only arrived with three towels for a pool room full of several people. The INN usually has a front desk, this time no one was around, it was closed down, and we had to travel up the short road to the main lodge for anything we needed. When we spoke of our disappointment the staff was unfortunately very rude at the Lodge's main desk. The rooms were okay and the cleaning ladies were always avaiable during daytime hours. The slopes were GREAT and the ski staff at the bottom of the hill working for the skiiers were nice.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MichiganSkiPole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Such a shame. Stayed here in '06, couldn't wait to return. Very disappointed with the rude staff. I didn't expect 4 star service, but I sure wasn't expecting the 1 star service we received. Stayed before in summer of 06 and had the time of our lives. Beautiful golf (still beautiful, but bad staff experience.) Stay in town in Gaylord and just go here to play golf.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liltraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Simply fantastic! Treetops is the premiere golf destination in Michigan - no doubt. The golf courses are world class and the condition of the courses couldn't have been any better. The staff is outstanding and senior management needs to be commended for their efforts. It has been a few years since we have been to Treetops and some friends told us things have gotten a lot better with some new managers and boy were they right. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to make everyone in our group feel welcome. I can't say enough about the food in the restaurants - outstanding! We were told by the restaurant staff that the new GM is very involved with everything and really cares about the resort and the employees and it shows. We also went to Bay Harbor on this trip but won't do it again next year. We paid a lot more money at Bay Harbor for everything and enjoyed ourselves but had a much better experience at Treetops. Not only will we be back for our golf trip next year, we booked our ski trip for Christmas week. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golf4Fun7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

My husband and I traveled midweek for a 3 day golf package. We were pleased that they offered us an upgrade from the Inn to the Lodge; however, there were two disappointments: 1)After golfing in the heat of the day (July) we returned to our room to find that the thermostat could not be lowered below 75 degrees. 2)Because the room was so warm, we opted to head to the pool to cool off and were surprised to find approximately 30+ small children in the pool area. I was told by an employee that they operate a day care center for the locals. The golfing was beautiful, but the accommodations didn't quite live up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ddmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

We were in Gaylord for a soccer tournament and were booked into another hotel. It was so awful the parents voted to move. Called Treetops and they were able to accommodate our team - even gave us a reduced rate. We stayed in the Inn and the kids loved it - they had room to roam, loved the pools, parents loved the dinning and having everything we needed on site. We had spacious rooms, with a small kitchen area. The game room was great for the siblings that were along and the team loved the internet connection and the parents enjoyed hanging out in the common area. Those of us who golf, had a great time on the courses.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mjwjholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 15 in Gaylord
486 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
4.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gaylord
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 15 in Gaylord
185 reviews
11.9 mi away
Waters Inn
Waters Inn
#2 of 15 in Gaylord
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Resort

Address: 3962 Wilkinson Rd, Gaylord, MI 49735-9800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range: $164 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular golf, world-class instruction, spa, downhill skiing, snowmobiling, meetings and fairytale weddings are just some of the reasons people visit Treetops Resort & Spa. Let's start with golf, Treetops is truly the Midwest's "Must Play" resort and arguably the best collection of golf anywhere in the country. Our awards and accolades from the nation's top golf and travel publications seem to agree. Treetops is home to 81 holes of championship golf and features five distinctly different courses by renowned designers Robert Trent Jones, Sr., Tom Fazio and Rick Smith. Dramatic views, contours and rolling terrain provide a beautiful setting for world-class golf. The Masterpiece Course was Robert Trent Jones, Sr.'S final design in Michigan and is truly a masterpiece. In his own words, Jones claimed it his crowning glory. The course is located at the headwaters of the Pigeon River and takes full advantage of natural valleys, ravines and broad plains. The signature sixth hole features a 120' vertical drop and a panoramic view of the Pigeon River Valley. Dine Like a Champion, Party Like a Rock Star! Enjoy a hearty backwoods breakfast, great food, fine wines and good times, in a casually quaint atmosphere with spectacular views. Rich beginnings, succulent entrees and signature desserts are the perfect complement to a great day on the course or the slopes. Nightlife also abounds too with live entertainment and a sports bar with a massive collection of the world's favorite brews. Enjoy your favorite team on a host of flat screen TV's or create your own action on one of our pool tables or relax and take in the spectacular star show in the sky as you cozy up to our fire pit. Sleep Like a Bear Treetops Resort features 238 guest rooms, including standard and deluxe hotel rooms and two and three bedroom condominiums. Nearly every room takes advantage of our majestic setting and offers sweeping vistas of ski hills, golf courses, pristine woods or wetlands. Wake up refreshed as a bear in springtime, ready to do it again, for with five courses, 23 runs and the vast beauty of the Michigan wilderness surround you, you'll never get bored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Treetops Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Gaylord
Treetops Resort Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing