We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf; Average accommodations”
Review of Treetops Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Treetops Resort
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband is an avid golfer so we decided to visit this well known resort. The golf was superb and definitely lived up to its reputation.The lodge, on the other hand, was less than impressive. Although generally clean, our room was sorely outdated especially the bathroom. The toilet barely flushed and the hot water was practically non-existent. The room layout was odd with a huge empty area devoid of any furniture. The windows were old and the curtains were shabby. The door to the outside was old and badly in need of paint or staining. This place should be gutted and completely remodeled or the prices should drop to below $100 per night. Needless to say I was very disappointed with our stay and will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PRexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Our guests’ input lets us know what areas of the resort we need to work on. I am sorry about the issues you had during your stay with us. We want every aspect of your stay to be great, not just your golf, and knowing your room was not what you expected concerns us. Please know that we have taken care of the maintenance issues in the room you stayed in. On a positive note, it is good to hear that you enjoyed the golf during your time here.

Thank you again for your post, and again my apologies. I do hope you will consider staying with us again. We would love the opportunity to make your next visit great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 517 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Room had no A/C. Not great on an 85 degree day. Mold in the bathroom along with a tub that you need to ladder to get in and out of. No water pressure when taking a shower. Dirty carpet and the decor is 15 years past the point of renovation. The television set was sold old that if you try to donate it to the Salvation Army they would say thanks but no thanks. Pool was cold and dirty. Hot tub did not even get hot. Do not stay at the resort unless you are used to living like a PIG.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It lets us know how we can improve our guests’ future stays. I am truly sorry about the issues you had during your visit to Treetops. We want every guest to have a great time while they are here, and knowing that your stay did not meet your expectations is a cause for concern. Please know our housekeeping department have been made aware of your concerns and have addressed them. I am also pleased to let you know that the issue we had with the air has been taken care of.

Thank you again for your post, and once again my apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. May 19, 20 and the 21. The air was not working for the first 2 nights and the temperature even with the window open was 80-85 degrees all night. They offered us a large fan on the second day which just blew the hot air around and added some noise to the already difficult conditions to try to sleep in. As well the wi-fi in the rooms was something rather archaic. They sent us an email and asked us to comment on our stay. Because the Internet was so slow we could not fill it out until we had left the property! The golf was wonderful but unfortunately the accommodations were way below our expectations as this is rated the top resort in the area? To top it off no one called us back after we filled out the comment email. So, I wrote the travel advisor telling her our story and she was wonderful. She passed our email on to her supervisor, the front desk supervisor, the manager, the director of rooms and the general manager. She said the front desk manager would be in touch shortly as we'll. Well here it is June 20 and low and behold we've yet to hear anything! That is why I decided others should be aware. Hopefully, I'll be able to write another comment saying that they do care about how their people are being taken care of but only time will tell!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if all the amenities are available and in working order. Also, ask for a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfcanadian2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Director of Rooms at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for the post. I am glad I got the oppurtunity to speak with you about this. I take full responsiblity for not getting back with you sooner. Like I mentioned I thought that this was taken care of at check-out (like it should have been). As for the AC, we were able to locate the problem and fix it. Our IT department is working on making sure the Internet is fixed and working properly as well. Once again I apologize for your stay and for my communication breakdown. It was a pleasure talking with you on the phone and I look forward to having you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I attended the Ladies' Golf Academy at Treetops. Fabulous instruction with their wonderful pro staff, and the golf was challenging and fun. Every staff member, from the hotel, restaurant and pro shop were smiling and went out of their way to make sure the clients were having a good time. The accommodations and food are excellent. I would highly recommend Treetops for the value, scenery and all around good time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thanks so much for the wonderful feedback! We are so happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you back again next year for another Ladies Golf School! Thanks again for posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I came with a group of 20 men from the Detroit area. High School and College buddies. CMU. We had a great time. The golf was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The people in the pro shop loaned me a golf bag. Mine got crushed by the airline. Luckily the bag did its job and protected my clubs. They were so helpful and friendly. I recommend this to couples, and groups who want a nice class A golf experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your post! We are glad that you and your friends had fun during your visit to Treetops, and that the pro shop was so helpful in getting you a golf bag to use. We hope we will see you all next year for more great golf. Thanks again for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Always heard about the golf here so booked 3 days, just me and my wife. Reservations were easy - Julie was understanding and informative. Facility is a bit worn but no complaints given this is ski AND golf - party people are hard on a building.
Staff in the hotel, pro shops, reastaurants, bag drops, and starters were all good - no exceptions. Legends had buffet breakfast - all good. Sports bar is what it is - some decent food choices.
My issue was not Treetops fault - rainy first day, and cold the next (2 hr frost delay) - comes with the time of year.
Only mistake I made was taking the unlimited golf package - since we only played 2 times, plus the par three (and only 3 holes due to heavy rain), this wasn't a good choice for me. The groups of guys there playing 36 a day got their money's worth.
Good experience.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Insguy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Treetops. I am sorry you weren’t able to get in all the golf you wanted-the weather can be pretty unpredictable this time of year. Hopefully we will see you back next year so you can get your golf on! Thanks again for posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We played The Jones, Smith Signature, Fazzio and Three Tops. All were in excellent shape and the staff was outstanding with the services they rendered. We were given our own Complex Guide that made sure all tee times went as planned. To summarize, "WE HAD A GREAT EXPERIENCE AGAIN". This was our 6th year in a row, which started with 8 golfers and this year 20 golfers.

Room Tip: When booking, The LODGE is what I would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thanks so much for the feedback! It is fantastic to hear how much you enjoyed your time at Treetops, and how your group has grown over the past six years. We look forward to seeing you all again next year for more great golf. Thanks again for posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 15 in Gaylord
495 reviews
4.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gaylord
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 15 in Gaylord
187 reviews
11.9 mi away
Waters Inn
Waters Inn
#2 of 15 in Gaylord
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Resort

Address: 3962 Wilkinson Rd, Gaylord, MI 49735-9800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range: $151 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular golf, world-class instruction, spa, downhill skiing, snowmobiling, meetings and fairytale weddings are just some of the reasons people visit Treetops Resort & Spa. Let's start with golf, Treetops is truly the Midwest's "Must Play" resort and arguably the best collection of golf anywhere in the country. Our awards and accolades from the nation's top golf and travel publications seem to agree. Treetops is home to 81 holes of championship golf and features five distinctly different courses by renowned designers Robert Trent Jones, Sr., Tom Fazio and Rick Smith. Dramatic views, contours and rolling terrain provide a beautiful setting for world-class golf. The Masterpiece Course was Robert Trent Jones, Sr.'S final design in Michigan and is truly a masterpiece. In his own words, Jones claimed it his crowning glory. The course is located at the headwaters of the Pigeon River and takes full advantage of natural valleys, ravines and broad plains. The signature sixth hole features a 120' vertical drop and a panoramic view of the Pigeon River Valley. Dine Like a Champion, Party Like a Rock Star! Enjoy a hearty backwoods breakfast, great food, fine wines and good times, in a casually quaint atmosphere with spectacular views. Rich beginnings, succulent entrees and signature desserts are the perfect complement to a great day on the course or the slopes. Nightlife also abounds too with live entertainment and a sports bar with a massive collection of the world's favorite brews. Enjoy your favorite team on a host of flat screen TV's or create your own action on one of our pool tables or relax and take in the spectacular star show in the sky as you cozy up to our fire pit. Sleep Like a Bear Treetops Resort features 238 guest rooms, including standard and deluxe hotel rooms and two and three bedroom condominiums. Nearly every room takes advantage of our majestic setting and offers sweeping vistas of ski hills, golf courses, pristine woods or wetlands. Wake up refreshed as a bear in springtime, ready to do it again, for with five courses, 23 runs and the vast beauty of the Michigan wilderness surround you, you'll never get bored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Treetops Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Gaylord
Treetops Resort Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing