We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tween seasons”
Review of Treetops Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Treetops Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Level Contributor
230 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Tween seasons”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Always heard about the golf here so booked 3 days, just me and my wife. Reservations were easy - Julie was understanding and informative. Facility is a bit worn but no complaints given this is ski AND golf - party people are hard on a building.
Staff in the hotel, pro shops, reastaurants, bag drops, and starters were all good - no exceptions. Legends had buffet breakfast - all good. Sports bar is what it is - some decent food choices.
My issue was not Treetops fault - rainy first day, and cold the next (2 hr frost delay) - comes with the time of year.
Only mistake I made was taking the unlimited golf package - since we only played 2 times, plus the par three (and only 3 holes due to heavy rain), this wasn't a good choice for me. The groups of guys there playing 36 a day got their money's worth.
Good experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Treetops. I am sorry you weren’t able to get in all the golf you wanted-the weather can be pretty unpredictable this time of year. Hopefully we will see you back next year so you can get your golf on! Thanks again for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    124
    71
    57
    51
See reviews for
102
136
1
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We played The Jones, Smith Signature, Fazzio and Three Tops. All were in excellent shape and the staff was outstanding with the services they rendered. We were given our own Complex Guide that made sure all tee times went as planned. To summarize, "WE HAD A GREAT EXPERIENCE AGAIN". This was our 6th year in a row, which started with 8 golfers and this year 20 golfers.

Room Tip: When booking, The LODGE is what I would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks so much for the feedback! It is fantastic to hear how much you enjoyed your time at Treetops, and how your group has grown over the past six years. We look forward to seeing you all again next year for more great golf. Thanks again for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Treetops Resort was an absolutely awesome experience for my spouse and I as we celebrated an early Mother's Day with superb golf and relaxation! From our arrival through departure, we were pleased by the courteous staff and management of the facilities. I cannot imagine anyone being displeased with the amenities, professionalism, and top level customer service. My spouse really enjoyed the pampering she received at the salon! Rain kept us from enjoying the courses we'd lined up, but they graciously gave us rain checks for any missed opportunities

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you posting! We are delighted to hear you and your spouse enjoyed your visit to Treetops, and that she was able to get in some time to be pampered at the spa. I am sorry about the rain-sometimes that mother nature is a fickle lady. Just make sure you get back up to see us and use up those rain checks! Thanks again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

then this is the place. Recently had our annual golf outing here. Great courses, great scenery and great service. Top notch all the way around. thank you for the wonderful time last weekend. Definitely will be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willhubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful feedback! We are happy to hear your group enjoyed their time here at Treetops. Hopefully we will see you all next year, if not sooner, to get some more golf in. Thank you again for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Found this great ski resort through our local Radio Shopping Show so we bought it for a steal! Nice, nice, people up there! The guys running the tubing were especially friendly and the front desk ladies were great too! Great tubing and lots of skiing options from beg. to advanced. The Lodge accommodations were fantastic. The pool and hot tub were warm, clean and very large! The town of Gaylord is 10 minutes down the road from Treetops Resort and holds cute, affordable, charming and delicious restaurants and shops. The people are all friendly and it's not a bad drive from the Chicagoland area!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and stay in the Lodge. The rooms are more spacious and there are several with gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbumtraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks so much for the feedback! It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to Treetops. Hopefully we will see you back next season, or maybe we will see you back this summer for some golf. Thank you again for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linden
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have been going to Treetops to ski for years and always have a great time. The staff is very friendly and do everything to make our stay an enjoyable experience. I have one complaint, I was told at the time I made the reservation that all the runs would be open except one because of a snowmobile race. We were surprised to find that they only had one lift running all weekend which meant only about half of the skiable terain was open. If we knew that we would have looked at other resorts. Before this experience I would have given them a very good rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your post! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Treetops. I am sorry that you were unable to access all of the skiing due to the snowmobile races that were going on. I hope that we will see you back again next year to enjoy the mountain again. I will also be sure to forward your kind words about our staff. Thanks again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Accompanied my husband on a business trip to the resort. We stayed 2 nights and stayed in the largest hotel room that I believe I have ever stayed in! It had a very high ceiling, a small kitchenette and sitting area in front of the TV (enclosed in a pine cabinet) and an open wall to view the bathtub from the big king sized bed. The decor was pretty much early 70's with forest green sinks and toilet with a baby blue lid! However, the room was very comfortable. In fact, I had a better nights sleep there than I do in my own bed!

We both enjoyed spa services and then had lunch in the bar while watching the skiers and snowboarders. We later had dinner in the Legends restaurant. Following that we enjoyed the musical entertainers in the lounge to round out what was a very nice weekend. Food was good but preferred our quieter lunch in the bar to restaurant as noise in restaurant was a bit overwhelming.

All the staff were very courteous and went out of their way to make sure you had an enjoyable time.

I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building where we checked in. Large in/door outdoor pool and indoor as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotgrl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for commenting on your stay! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the resort, and were able to a good night’s sleep. We’re also glad you were able to indulge in a spa treatment and get up to the restaurant and sports bar while you were here. I will make sure to pass along your compliments about our employees. Thanks again for posting, and hopefully we will see you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaylord
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
4.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
4.8 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#8 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
18.9 mi away
Boyne Mountain Resort
Boyne Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Boyne Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Resort

Property: Treetops Resort
Address: 3962 Wilkinson Rd, Gaylord, MI 49735-9800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular golf, world-class instruction, spa, downhill skiing, snowmobiling, meetings and fairytale weddings are just some of the reasons people visit Treetops Resort & Spa. Let's start with golf, Treetops is truly the Midwest's "Must Play" resort and arguably the best collection of golf anywhere in the country. Our awards and accolades from the nation's top golf and travel publications seem to agree. Treetops is home to 81 holes of championship golf and features five distinctly different courses by renowned designers Robert Trent Jones, Sr., Tom Fazio and Rick Smith. Dramatic views, contours and rolling terrain provide a beautiful setting for world-class golf. The Masterpiece Course was Robert Trent Jones, Sr.'S final design in Michigan and is truly a masterpiece. In his own words, Jones claimed it his crowning glory. The course is located at the headwaters of the Pigeon River and takes full advantage of natural valleys, ravines and broad plains. The signature sixth hole features a 120' vertical drop and a panoramic view of the Pigeon River Valley. Dine Like a Champion, Party Like a Rock Star! Enjoy a hearty backwoods breakfast, great food, fine wines and good times, in a casually quaint atmosphere with spectacular views. Rich beginnings, succulent entrees and signature desserts are the perfect complement to a great day on the course or the slopes. Nightlife also abounds too with live entertainment and a sports bar with a massive collection of the world's favorite brews. Enjoy your favorite team on a host of flat screen TV's or create your own action on one of our pool tables or relax and take in the spectacular star show in the sky as you cozy up to our fire pit. Sleep Like a Bear Treetops Resort features 238 guest rooms, including standard and deluxe hotel rooms and two and three bedroom condominiums. Nearly every room takes advantage of our majestic setting and offers sweeping vistas of ski hills, golf courses, pristine woods or wetlands. Wake up refreshed as a bear in springtime, ready to do it again, for with five courses, 23 runs and the vast beauty of the Michigan wilderness surround you, you'll never get bored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Treetops Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Gaylord
Treetops Resort Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing