We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burger and view just checking the place out”
Review of Treetops Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Treetops Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wife and I drove through the property which is beautiful. We both love to golf and were very impressed with what we saw of the courses. Didn't get to play but we decided to grab a bite to eat so we went to the Sports Bar on their North property. Sat outside to take in the beautiful fall foliage. Great view and the colors were amazing. I had a burger that was thick, juicy and delicious. Definitely on our list of places to go for a golf vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thanks for checking us out on your trip through Northern Michigan! We look forward to having you come back and see us next year to do some golfing! Thank you again for the post!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 528 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place was incredible. The colors we saw were right out of a magazine. The friendliness of the staff from rangers & starters to housekeeping was incredible. I have been to multiple Golf Resorts in Northen Michigan and throughout the country and this facility writes the book on hospitality.

You won't find a more challenging or picturesque facility to play and the food is comparable to the golf.

We went on this trip with a total of eight golfers and to a man everyone said it was the best golf experience they have ever had. Keep in mind one of the golfers had played Pebble Beach and two of them had played and stayed at Whistling Straits.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrit W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for the post! We love that your group had an awesome time while you were here, and appreciate your kind words about our staff. Hopefully we will see you back again next year to do some more golfing. Until then, take care, and thanks again for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Book 3 days two nights at Treetops Resort in Gaylord, MI through Michigan Golf web site. We had two rooms for four golfers. Included breakfast each morning and unlimited golf. Got there eartly enough to play the Par 3 nine hole Tree Tops course. Very nice three par by the way. In the afternoon we played 18 on the Signature course. The next day we played 18 on Masterpiece , which was suppose to be their hardest course, then not quite 18 more at the Premier course. Unfortunately because of the time of year the sun goes down a little too early. The next day we tried another course in Gaylord called Black Forest. Had to be the hardest and longest course of our stay. All great courses!!

Treetops Resort was very comfortable and the hotel staff were excellent. Next time looking forward to talking the wives with us. They would enjoy the experience too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Main Lodge and next time I would like to stay at the North Clubhouse as there are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LionFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves while you were here. Hopefully we will see you back next season. Thanks again for the post, and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I were at Treetops for a dental course on September 21. We checked-in at 10 PM the night before. That took 30 minutes with extra people in the office but none of them willing to come out to help the one beleaguered desk clerk. We went to bed after a drink at the sports bar, which was very good with a great staff. When I arose early for my course, I noticed hardened fecal material...not just stains, which we have seen in hotels/motels three or four times before...but material on both sides of the toilet where the seat meets the bowl. Since the place was full and I did not know if other rooms were available, I did not say anything to my wife or the hotel but cleaned it up myself before she got up. When we checked out the next morning, the pleasant gal at the desk comped me for one of the two nights. All I really wanted was some apology from the management for a terrible experience. But now I have waited for two weeks to no avail...they apparently don't care. Worst room that we have ever had, and we have spent at least a thousand nights in hotel rooms over 41 years of marriage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hennepinbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Director of Rooms at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

My apolgizes for your stay with us. I am not sure why you did not get a call back. Not here to make excuses so if you could call/email me as I can not figure out who you are through Trip Advisor. I would like to talk with you about your stay with us. Any type of feed back is important to us. I am happy to see they comped your first night for your bad experience. Please call or email me at jvanderveer@treetops.com.

James Vanderveer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I've JUST recently started Golfing in May... to my surprise I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE it!!! Its also given my husband and I something to do together since it is his FAVORITE thing to do. We decided to spend our 9th anniversary at TreeTops.. and it was an INCREDIBLE experience. We had our room upgraded and it was perfect! The room was clean and comfortable. We played the Signature and ThreeTops and they were both beyond GORGEOUS. It was relaxing and fun and we've decided to make it a new yearly trip to get away for a bit. The entire staff was VERY friendly and helpful. The views were breathtaking and BeAuTiFuL. We had a GREAT time and can't wait till next year!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thanks for the post, and happy belated anniversary! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Treetops, and can’t wait to see you back to celebrate your 10th anniversary with us. Thank you again for the wonderful feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a good news, bad news story.
First the bad news. Upon arrival, my wife requested an upgrade to the "Lodge: so that she could have a jacuzzi tub to help with sore muscles after golfing. At an extra $55.00 a night, I was hoping for something great. Sadly, the rooms are way overdue for an refurbishing. The room was very spacious however, it was dark and the fixtures were vintage 1970 or so. I don't think I've ever seen a toilet that shade of burgandy before. The carpet was in poor condition and the electrical outlets looked pretty sketchy. Did I mention the room was dark, like a cave. I'd hate to see the rooms in the Inn, since we had to pay extra for the Lodge.
But, there was good news.... First of all the golf courses are spectacular.. great condition, superb views, fun, fun, fun. Speaking of fun, if you go, do yourself a favour and play the Threetops par three course. You will not regret it. Secondly, all of the staff members we encountered, from the check in staff to the people in the pro shops to the starters and rangers on the courses could not have been more friendly or engaging. Anyone we spoke to were very helpful and professional. We ate several meals on site and the wait staff was always attentive and the food was very good, although, the menus were somewhat limited.
All in all, we had a great time playing golf here and would look to come back, but not until the rooms are fixed up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dobber16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your feedback about your experience at Treetops. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the golf, and the staff, but I am sorry to hear you had issues with your overnight room. We do have some renovations planned once golf season ends, and hope they will make all of our guests more comfortable while they are here. Thanks again for posting, and we hope to see you back and give you a great all-around Treetops experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Admittedly the Lodge is older and in need of updating , our room was clean and nice.Beds were comfortable . The staff were excellent and we had fun at the on-site sportsbar with bartenders.
We played Fazio course which was outstanding ! attended the 1hr clinic which was helpful and played Threetops which is a must !
We are planning on going again next year but for 2 nights instead of 1.
5hr drive that was well worth it !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreetopsResort, Front Office Manager at Treetops Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for posting! We are glad to hear you had a great time at Treetops, and look forward to having you back again soon. Thanks again for your post!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 15 in Gaylord
508 reviews
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 15 in Gaylord
188 reviews
3.1 mi away
Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Resort

Address: 3962 Wilkinson Rd, Gaylord, MI 49735-9800
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range: $128 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Treetops Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular golf, world-class instruction, spa, downhill skiing, snowmobiling, meetings and fairytale weddings are just some of the reasons people visit Treetops Resort & Spa. Let's start with golf, Treetops is truly the Midwest's "Must Play" resort and arguably the best collection of golf anywhere in the country. Our awards and accolades from the nation's top golf and travel publications seem to agree. Treetops is home to 81 holes of championship golf and features five distinctly different courses by renowned designers Robert Trent Jones, Sr., Tom Fazio and Rick Smith. Dramatic views, contours and rolling terrain provide a beautiful setting for world-class golf. The Masterpiece Course was Robert Trent Jones, Sr.'S final design in Michigan and is truly a masterpiece. In his own words, Jones claimed it his crowning glory. The course is located at the headwaters of the Pigeon River and takes full advantage of natural valleys, ravines and broad plains. The signature sixth hole features a 120' vertical drop and a panoramic view of the Pigeon River Valley. Dine Like a Champion, Party Like a Rock Star! Enjoy a hearty backwoods breakfast, great food, fine wines and good times, in a casually quaint atmosphere with spectacular views. Rich beginnings, succulent entrees and signature desserts are the perfect complement to a great day on the course or the slopes. Nightlife also abounds too with live entertainment and a sports bar with a massive collection of the world's favorite brews. Enjoy your favorite team on a host of flat screen TV's or create your own action on one of our pool tables or relax and take in the spectacular star show in the sky as you cozy up to our fire pit. Sleep Like a Bear Treetops Resort features 238 guest rooms, including standard and deluxe hotel rooms and two and three bedroom condominiums. Nearly every room takes advantage of our majestic setting and offers sweeping vistas of ski hills, golf courses, pristine woods or wetlands. Wake up refreshed as a bear in springtime, ready to do it again, for with five courses, 23 runs and the vast beauty of the Michigan wilderness surround you, you'll never get bored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Treetops Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Gaylord
Treetops Resort Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing