We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place for a Golf Trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Golf Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

We stayed at the Otsego Club for a golf trip in July. This was a great place to stay. I was a little worried after reading all the negative comments. Our room was large, clean and very modern. Overall, it was a great place to take a group of guys. The Tribute Course was phenomenal.

We plan on returning in July of 2009.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucks9395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
17
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janesville,Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

called to book the room. I was given the amount 59.99 plus a tax.
When we arrived we were not told about construction across the hall and the room had a rolled cigarette and beer bottle caps under chair. The coffee maker was moldy and when we wanted to call the front desk, no one was available after 4:30p.m.. Left a list of cell phone numbers to call on the front door of lobby in case of emergency.

The window cranks didn't work. Broke. Srceens bent, broke.
And when it came time to get the bill there was all types of taxes.
Use of room tax. Lodge tax. tourism tax etc. That was not made clear about extra taxing while making the reservation.
I do not reccomend a stay there. So instead of paying the 59.99 per night and 10.00 for roll away per night. the charge was 79.99 per night and all the added taxing. I was not pleased and do not reccomend a stay.

The Alpine Resort was just purchased and I feel they were trying to make the money back for all the repairs needed.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank cowcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, NJ
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2006

Not a Hilton, but decent location, nicer than a typical hotel. Somewhat dated. Each trip to Gaylord, it is our 1st choice for value. Compared to others for value, definitely worth looking into. Nice place to get away from the bustle, quiet.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2006

My boyfriend's company set his stay up at the Otsego Club, on the recommendation of a coworker. I drove 7 hours to spend two nights with him there, and when we got to the room we were horified. The room just had a "Bates Hotel" feel to it. The carpet was nasty, and the beds were very uncomfortable.

Some of the buttons on the remote didn't work. I had problems with water temperature while taking a shower. Both mornings I was woken by men talking loudly in the hallways....they were there to check out leaks in the particular building we were in.

After I left to come back home my boyfriend decided to get his company to transfer him to the Hampton Inn down the road. I'm not sure what his company spent on his room there for those two nights, but whatever it was I think it was too much.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2005

We stay here every year for the golf package. The Tribute course is fantastic. The rooms were adequate, nothing fancy but we weren't staying there for the rooms.

The package for 2 rounds on 2 onsite courses and 2 nights of lodging and a dinner in the Duck Blind only cost us $199. Dinner was better than the local restaurants and the bar is good. All in all, not a bad visit. This was our 3rd trip there. We never have been for skiing since that is usually for members only.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank e135800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Otsego Club 2 years ago. We had driven up to Gaylord from Ann Arbor for a weekend of snowshoeing and relaxing, but we decided not to make any hotel reservations and instead, "play it by ear". That was our first mistake.

That particular weekend, the Iowa Snowmobile Convention had its annual get-together in Gaylord, and every single hotel room was taken, except for one room at the Otsego Club and another room at the Holiday Inn. To make matters worse, it was snowing like crazy and driving conditions were terrible (even for Michigan standards). We chose to stay at the Otsego Club because, from the outside, it looks fabulous and we didn't feel like driving down the road to the Holiday Inn. The Otsego Club looks like a quaint golf club full of old world grandeur. Normally, you have to be a member of the club in order to stay there, but the management had opened to hotel to the public for the weekend. The lobby had a sort of rustic charm to it which we liked, so we went ahead and booked a room (sight unseen) for about $200. We thought to ourselves, "not bad for a last minute emergency place to crash, especially since the "resort" seems so charming!" That was our second mistake. The room was a disaster. It was dark, tiny, and dirty, and the black and white TV was straight from the 1970's. I mean, it was so bad that I was expecting to see bugs crawling around the sheets or something. Aweful.

Not only were we dissapointed with the room cleanliness and quality( the Holiday Inn would have no doubt had nicer amenities), the hotel was jam packed with loud and obnoxious kids running around. The whole place seemed like a poorly-run church youthgroup retreat. Besdes the obnoxious kids, the rest of the clientele were pretty strange. We saw one very drunk man walking with his son through the snow stark naked except for his boxers (no shoes or anything- in 10 degree weather) The whole experience was totally surreal. My husband and I felt totally out of place.

To add insult to injury, when we checked out, our bill was $350! Apparently, the management had "forgotten" to tell us that there is a resort charge for non-members. Crazy! Needless to say, we will NEVER return to the Otsego club. Northern Michigan has plently of gorgeous hotels and resorts that really cater to their clients. PLease don't waste your money on the Otsego. Thankfully, we can look back at that weekend and laugh at the crazy experience. We ruefully call it "the worst vacation ever".

The one redeeming aspect to the weekend was that we DID get to go snowshoeing! The blizzard had dumped several inches on fresh powder which we had lots of fun playing in!

  • Stayed February 2001
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 13 in Gaylord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#8 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Gaylord
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.5 mi away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#3 of 13 in Gaylord
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center

Property: Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center
Address: 696 E M 32, PO Box 556, Gaylord, MI 49735-8789
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the hand-hewn beams of the main lodge as you warm up by the roaring fire! The 20 mile vista of the Sturgeon River Valley sprawls out to the north. The sun is shining. It's a perfect day for skiing. The kids grab their friends and their snowboards. Mom and Dad ski to the River Cabin to meet the kids for lunch. It's a full day of skiing followed by a full evening of entertainment. A great day. A great life. This is the essence of the Otsego Club.Short lift lines, combined with advanced snowmaking capabilities, a Professional Ski Instructor Association (P.S.I.A.) ski school, a nationally-recognized "all member" ski patrol, an unparalleled ski safety record, renowned children's program, Dan Webster's Ski Shop with ski and snowboard rentals, on-site bed and breakfast-style accommodations and condominium and log cabin vacation rentals, the award-winning cuisine of one of the finest restaurants in Northern Michigan, all give Otsego Club an appealing, quality atmosphere.Since 1939, a tradition of families spending time together.The Otsego Club also offers a golf experience comprised of two uniquely-challenging PGA championship courses - The Classic, and The Tribute, designed by Rick Robbins and PGA Tour Professional, Gary Koch. Each course offers scenic beauty in the form of woodlands, water and wildlife.THE TRIBUTE - OUR MASTERPIECE!Designed by Rick Robbins and PGA Tour Professional, Gary Koch. It is a Tribute to the game of golf, the Gaylord Golf Mecca Community and the unrivaled natural beauty surrounding it. Winding through 1,100 acres of northern Michigan's majestic Sturgeon River Valley, The Tribute offers stunning vistas and an array of challenge for all levels of play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Otsego Club, Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otsego Club, Hotel Gaylord
Otsego Hotel Gaylord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing