We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Tribure - Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Otsego Club

Otsego Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A golf & ski resort located in Northern Michigan in operation since 1939. Award winning golf & dining and the best skiing and snowboarding anywhere!! Come check out our beautiful slopes and 36 holes of Championship Golf! Founded in 1939, Otsego Club & Resort has been a prominent fixture in northern Michigan and is the oldest continuously operating private ski club in America. The resort features meticulously groomed, family friendly ski hills, 36-holes of championship golf lead by the Tribute course, which meanders in and around the Sturgeon River Valley, and the parkland style Classic course. In addition, the resort offers a variety of lodging rooms, suites, and condominiums. There are more than 24,000 square feet of meeting space, romantic wedding spaces and the award-winning Duck Blind Grille, a multi-year winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence.
Washington, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Tribure - Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Played there on June 25, 2014. Tee times for our group of 13 started at 9:40am. Starter never warned us about the group of 40 people that preceded us on the course. The round took more than 6 hours. Course layout is challeging, but course condition was poor, especially in the traps and some tee boxes. Besides the brutal pace of play, the worse part of the day were the greens. We played several other courses in the area during the previous four days and the greens were by far the worse at Tribute. Paid $88 for the privilege to play and won't make same mistake again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Head Golf Pro/Asst. GM at Otsego Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of our golf course The Tribute. We sincerely appreciate all comments regarding our property which will result in efforts to make things better for our guests. Unfortunately a few days prior to your arrival, mother nature left us with 3.5 inches of rain which caused a few bunkers to be deemed unplayable. The Tribute golf course is built on 1100 acres and is 7.5 miles around. With it's vistas, views, tree lined fairways and distances between tees and greens, it is a longer than average course to play. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    8
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Tribute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

excellent and demanding golf course that was in pristine condition during our stay June 11. What great views for miles and challenging tees for every level of golfer from the very best to beginners. I was truly impressed and the value was excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GRMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Manager at Otsego Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Good Morning and thank you very much for your comments regarding our property and The Tribute course. We are very proud of the Tribute and are continually making progress to upgrade our guests experiences. Thanks again and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Michigan
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Forgiving course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Golfed the Tribute on a beautiful fall day. We found a good price and golfed mid-week. I think that is the best time anyway as there are not as many folks out. Beautiful scenery, fairways kept up nicely even though it is toward the end of the golf season. This course is long and wide for the most part. Lots of traps-some a bit difficult to get out. Nothing outrageous. I think this is a very good, fair, and forgiving course.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gravesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“6 hour round of golf”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our round took 6 hours which is brutal. We played The Tribute and it is very fair off the tees and has great views. The round was ruined because it took so long to play and we constantly had the group playing after us waiting on our tee and watching our tee-offs which we did not like (though no fault of their own). The whole course was backed up. The course needs to be managed better. There is no way that one should pay a premium price and be forced to endure a 6 hour round.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank slot14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Golf Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Tribute course must be experienced...great design, very well manicured...your cart takes you up side of mountain to 1st tee..NO 2 holes look alike, very playable..staff very humble and helful

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TobyRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otsego Club also viewed

Gaylord, Otsego County
 
Gaylord, Otsego County
 

Been to Otsego Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing