We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little diner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arlene's Diner

Arlene's Diner
Ranked #11 of 69 Restaurants in Gaylord
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ph (989) 732-5654
Holly, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice little diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We went here twice for breakfast in the 3 days that we were in Gaylord. I had a spinach omelette both times that were both excellent. The waitress brought me salsa to go with it, because that is how I prefer my omelettes. My husband had a Polish sausage omelette and Polish skillet. He thought they were both good. Our only complaint was that it smelled a little musty in there. We thought it was just the location that we were sitting in the first time we were there, so we sat at the opposite end the second time, but it still smelled musty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl196082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheboygan, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always a winner!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very good food,very good service, everytime has been a nice experience. Nice variety and have real good assortment of meals and sides.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
99 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Eating my way through Gaylord, MI”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Nothing fancy, but the breakfast was very good. Price is decent, good selection. Enjoyed eating there and will go back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMarshall06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a homey restaurant. Great homemade desserts. They have a homemade bread cinnamon french toast that I love. Good service, reasonable prices. I am a resident but especially like breakfast there. The portions aren't huge but quite adequate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetennisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service STINKS”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Service is terrible in this place!! we are currently here and it took the waitress 20 minutes to even acknowledge us although the food is just ok I would recommend not coming in here if you're in any type of a hurry.upon our arrival we came through the back entrance which leads you through the kitchen. the owner walked past us with no eye contact and no greeting at all. they are not busy and I don't understand why customer service isn't there top priority! we stopped coming here for this reason exactly but I must say the spinach omelette is very good and that's the only reason we're here. I do not recommend this is establishment and this is my last visit here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foodguy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlene's Diner also viewed

Gaylord, Otsego County
Gaylord, Otsego County
 
Gaylord, Otsego County
 

Been to Arlene's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing