We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be rated -10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Gaylord
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Should be rated -10”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We found the hotel in need of a good cleaning! We had used priceline or we would have found another hotel. We had used pricline in the past and this was the first time we had ever been burned. The Lobby was full of their family/friends and they all must live at this hotel. We went to lock our door and the lock would not work. Had to use our suitcases to make our room safe!! They offered coffee but could not even make our way to the lobby as it was still full with their family/friends. Not that we would have gotten it as everything was dirty! Thankful that a gas station was next door. They have great coffee!! This hotel should be CLOSED!! I have emailed the hotel and priceline!!

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel all rooms are dirty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmtreePaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    10
    16
    44
See reviews for
28
26
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
surprise, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I will start by saying that the bathroom was clean and sheets clean. We stayed here during Sept. They were obviously having a "family" reunion and they were always in the front lobby, morning, noon, nite, along w/ their select type of foods. If you had wanted to have breakfast in the am it would have been impossible as they were always sitting in the lobby which is where you were supposed to eat. I emailed the CEO & Cus. Relations and have never heard anything back. Also, had to go out and buy my own shampoo as the only thing they supplied was soap. Even if you have a pet traveling with you - go someplace else. Also, had to call front desk & tell them to pipe down as kids were crying & people slamming doors til aft 1 am.

Room Tip: Go to another motel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gaylord hotels

Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

first, i'm not a hotel snob...i really don't expect much from a $99 hotel room. anyway, i checked in and went up to the room, and had no idea a hotel room could be so bad. it was a hot day, and the room's AC was not on....the temperature in the room had to be about 110F. the smell in the room was unbelievable. it smelled like a combination of vomit and a dead carcass. i literally almost puked on myself the smell was so bad. in fact, it was so bad that i could only stay in the room for a minute or so. the comforter looked 50 years old and never washed...it was really dirty.

the entire room was hot, smelly, and very old looking. it literally looked like the room had not been cleaned or updated since the 1970's. i walked straight to the front desk, and with customers waiting, i did not hold back. i told the lady that the room was disgusting, etc. she asked if i wanted a different room and i laughed...didn't even answer her and walked right out. to be honest, this motel should be shut down if the rest of the rooms are the same as the one i saw.

Room Tip: just save your self the trouble and pass on this place :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadman1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed here on a Friday night in September. I booked the room using Priceline an hour or so before arriving. They did have my reservation, which is the one good thing I can say. The man at the desk was unfriendly, did not make any eye contact with me, and spoke quickly and without care as to whether I understood what he said when he told me the location of my room. And he was wearing a white t-shirt! Who wears a white t-shirt to work? The room was okay. I felt uneasy trying to find my room, and I didn't feel like there was much security. I actually put one of the room chairs in front of the door as an extra safety precaution or obstacle to anyone trying to break in. The bed was actually comfortable and looked clean. I was uneasy walking on the carpeting in my bare feet and the carpet had some stains. The sink was quite clean and looked as if it was new within the past 6 months. If you can get a room elsewhere, you should. Don't stay here. The breakfast was pathetic. When I went to check out in the morning, there was a hand written sign that said to leave your room key on the desk. That was it. There were people smoking cigarettes right outside the entryway to the lobby. The whole place had a really trashy, unsafe, uncaring feeling to it. I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poodlegirl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I can sum up this hotel in one word.....GROSS! Do yourself a big favor, stay somewhere else!
I had to stay here for labor day weekend. My husband and I wanted to walk the mackinaw city bridge and some rooms were running 500.00 a night. So I opted to book a room here. Let's just say, I won't be back!! Dirty, dirty, dirty!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here, It really doesn't matter what room you have, it's still gross!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loriann30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My mom and her friend had reservations and when they arrived their room was not ready.

They said the place was unkempt and the people there made them feel uneasy.

They decided to chance it, left for a bit and when they came back and the room still was not ready.

They decided to leave without ever setting foot in their room and the hotel staff refused to refund their money.

What a disgusting way to treat two elderly women.

DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE, AVOID IT AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The most disgusting, filthy, and run down motel I have ever seen. We reserved 2 rooms and couldn't stay in either because of the bugs that moved in before we got there. We are pretty sure the ticks were throughout the motel since we saw some in the bathroom downstairs and our rooms were upstairs. We ended up sleeping in our cars because they couldn't find another room. Do not stay here

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinlifeandmydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
2.5 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#12 of 15 in Gaylord
23 reviews
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 15 in Gaylord
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 15 in Gaylord
484 reviews
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Gaylord

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Gaylord
Address: 2880 S Otsego Ave, Gaylord, MI 49735-8435
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Gaylord 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn - Gaylord features 40 spacious guest rooms. All of our pet friendly guest rooms offer hi-speed Internet access, cable TV with HBO, microwaves, and mini-fridges. Other hotel amenities include complimentary continental breakfast, coffee and tea available 24 hours a day in our lobby, and complimentary newspapers. We are looking forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Gaylord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing