We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word......GROSS!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Gaylord
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Caledonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One word......GROSS!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I can sum up this hotel in one word.....GROSS! Do yourself a big favor, stay somewhere else!
I had to stay here for labor day weekend. My husband and I wanted to walk the mackinaw city bridge and some rooms were running 500.00 a night. So I opted to book a room here. Let's just say, I won't be back!! Dirty, dirty, dirty!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here, It really doesn't matter what room you have, it's still gross!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loriann30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    8
    15
    42
See reviews for
26
24
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hudsonville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My mom and her friend had reservations and when they arrived their room was not ready.

They said the place was unkempt and the people there made them feel uneasy.

They decided to chance it, left for a bit and when they came back and the room still was not ready.

They decided to leave without ever setting foot in their room and the hotel staff refused to refund their money.

What a disgusting way to treat two elderly women.

DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE, AVOID IT AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gaylord hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The most disgusting, filthy, and run down motel I have ever seen. We reserved 2 rooms and couldn't stay in either because of the bugs that moved in before we got there. We are pretty sure the ticks were throughout the motel since we saw some in the bathroom downstairs and our rooms were upstairs. We ended up sleeping in our cars because they couldn't find another room. Do not stay here

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinlifeandmydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UP of Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Filthy. Paid $70 but felt like I was staying at a $30 roach motel. Stained carpet was ripped out in the corner. Walls were gouged with black marks and ripped wallpaper. Mysterious brown stains on towels. No shampoo. A dirty tissue on the desk when we arrived. Moldy shower curtain. Room smelled like mildew. Dude at the front desk was wearing a sweat stained undershirt and jeans. Classy. Spent the night jealous of my 5 month old who got to sleep in a Pack and Play whichI knew was clean since I brought it from home. We got there at midnight after a long drive, otherwise we would have left immediately. As it was we were out the door by 7:30am (and this is with the baby- that's how bad it was.) Spend the extra 20 bucks and stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Gaylord. I wanted to get away so bad we skipped the breakfast but based on the other comments it sounds like it wouldn't improve this review much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowcountrymichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very rude front desk clerk. Torn screen on first floor window meant I couldn't have the window open due to bugs and security issues. Mold smell in rugs in hallway and room. Visible mold in pool and hot tub. No coffee at breakfast, which was only milk and cereal. Even construction workers staying there opted to go to Burger King for breakfast. Broken shower curtain rod fell and cut my eye. Need I say more? I wrote to the CEO via email and snail mail and have never received a reply. Avoid this place totally, please, for your sake.

Room Tip: Avoid this motel. There are other decent options one exit north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, On
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here a couple of years ago and the bath/shower curtain was full of mould, carpets were stained and the room and hallway stunk. After I complained they offered me a free nights stay next time I was down that way. I have the free room offer on an email that they sent as an apology however I've been in communication with them for at least a month or two now with no definite response whether or not they will honor the free night. All I want is an answer "yes" or "no". The breakfast in the a.m. was terrible and kind of scary since the muffins were individually wraped in plastic that you could tell they did themselves. With the impression of the dirt on the carpets, etc., we did not stay for the breakfast. The only thing going here is the price.

Room Tip: It may be better to ask to see the room first before commiting yourself. Check behind the shower cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4watt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wawa, ON
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The Inn was close to the highway, with a couple fast food restaurants within view up the street. It was clean. The decor was current. We had the hot tub & pool all to ourselves. The included breakfast was basic but satisfied. Lots of value for a low price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jldefoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
2.5 mi away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#11 of 14 in Gaylord
12 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 14 in Gaylord
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 14 in Gaylord
463 reviews
7.7 mi away
Waters Inn
Waters Inn
#2 of 14 in Gaylord
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Gaylord

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Gaylord
Address: 2880 S Otsego Ave, Gaylord, MI 49735-8435
Location: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Gaylord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Gaylord 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn - Gaylord features 40 spacious guest rooms. All of our pet friendly guest rooms offer hi-speed Internet access, cable TV with HBO, microwaves, and mini-fridges. Other hotel amenities include complimentary continental breakfast, coffee and tea available 24 hours a day in our lobby, and complimentary newspapers. We are looking forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Gaylord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Crest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing