We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family experience for food and fun!”

Alpine Tavern and Eatery
Ranked #4 of 70 Restaurants in Gaylord
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Our family has over 50 years of experience providing excellent service in restaurants and catering events. We invite you to bring your family and meet your friends for award winning chili, gourmet pizzas, burgers stuffed any way you'd like, hand cut fries, slow roasted brisket, fresh healthy salads and much more. Or invite them to your home and we will do the cooking for you. Try one of our Chef's daily specials. We even have Gluten free items! Our kids menu is very friendly and comes with Scooby Snacks! Everything is house made and we are committed to serving Michigan-made products whenever possible. For refreshments we offer a vast selection of craft beers on tap and in the bottle, wines, spirits, specialty cocktails and hot chocolate/coffee drinks. Our soft drinks include fresh brewed ice tea and Northwoods Soda which is based right here in Northern Michigan. There is something for everyone. Come to Alpine Tavern for our fabulous food, drinks and service. Stay to watch all of the big games on any of our many tv's or pick up something on the go to take home for those you love. This winter ride the snowmobile trails right to our doors and enjoy. After a long day on our local slopes let us warm your bellies with great food and drinks. The atmosphere here is fun and friendly, we know you'll have a great time- and hope you'll feel like part of the family soon! We'll see ya here!
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
“Perfect family experience for food and fun!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Great place to come with kids
The food was really good and we loved our waitress. Very friendly and casual place. Kids got to play games while we relaxed with a drink. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovgudfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    115
    31
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Little disapointed”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Front desk staff at the Baymont suggested I check this eatery out, decided to order take out. Had the olive burger, requesting no onions, simple mistake when I returned to see red onions, burger wasn't as good as I expected for the price. Will give it a try again when I'm traveling/staying longer.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank grneyes131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and price”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Food and service is very good. During the summer they have a nice deck outside and games for everyone to play.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Railfanfilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devils Lake, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Below Average”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I was very disappointed. Server was snotty and the food was
obviously prepared in advance. My veggie sandwich was
boring and uninspired. The bread was something you'd expect
from Arbys, hell, Arby's is better.

Over priced and below average food, perhaps if one was drunk
enough??

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Northern Michigan”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

First, I have mentioned this as one of the best places I've ever eaten at, but I should qualify that a bit. the alpine Tavern is excellent, but it is not a 5 star restaurant with gourmet food. It IS, however, a restaurant / bar with great food and some hidden gems on the menu.

Located in downtown Gaylord, the parking for this place is behind the restaurant. I mention this because for out of town people, there is a one way quirky street here.

We have eaten here many times since this establishment opened and have seen it morph from a small place, to the larger one that exists today. We have never had a bad meal here and have found a few things on the menu that really stand up to just about any place.

The mozzarella sticks here are the best I've ever had, period. Not really a stick, they are instead a hand made wedge, using a seasoned bread crumb, they are not frozen and are served with a creamy tomato sauce. The sauce is NOT your normal marinara that most places serve, it is much better. The cheese actually has taste!!! We have found that many places serve a tasteless mozzarella stick, not here, you get the cheese flavor in every bite.

The other thing we have found to be awesome is the stuffed burger. Do not get the smaller portion burger, get the largest one. I usually have them stuff bacon in it, with swiss cheese on top. The burger is huge, with nice taste, not dry. Always get a side of tater tots, which are just your basic variety tater tots but the portion is decent and they are always served hot.

Although I haven't had the pizza in awhile, it has always been very good. I can't get past the burger to have the pizza at this point.

Overall, The Alpine Tavern is a nice place to eat if you are from the area or visiting Gaylord. Food has always been well prepared and hot, which in reality beats a vast majority of places. Don't expect five star dining, but do expect food that is a couple steps above your average bar food fare.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canoe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Tavern and Eatery also viewed

 
Gaylord, Otsego County
Gaylord, Otsego County
 
Gaylord, Otsego County
Gaylord, Otsego County
 

Been to Alpine Tavern and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing