We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza!”
Review of Pizza Tonite

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pizza Tonite
Ranked #49 of 73 Restaurants in Gaylord
Price range: $3 - $23
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Gaylord, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Pizza!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Best pizza in Gaylord! They make their crust and buy from the farmers market. That is why we go there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tseidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good pizza on a snowy night”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We picked up a pizza here on our way home tonight. The service was great as was the cheese bread. Unfortunately the pizza was cold by the time we got home due to the extra long drive in the snow. It was still good, but we think it would be better warm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spacemonkey682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mediocre, Even For This Area”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

A pretty typical Gaylord pizza, on the lower end of the scale. Nothing outstanding at all. Hand-tossed crust was thin and rubbery, pie was undercooked. Hold a slice vertically, and the toppings slide right off. Sauce was bland and somewhat bitter - no Italian flavor at all. Greasy undercooked pepperoni, Italian sausage with no flavor, and mostly stems and pieces for mushrooms. Not a cheese bubble to be seen - we were pretty disappointed. If you love the pizza from the other joints in town, you might give it a try. We're not going back, though.

This is a carryout-only business, and they also offer limited delivery. Can't really rate service or atmosphere - you order and you take it home.

Also tried the wings, which were somewhat better than the pizza. But they were undercooked and devoid of crispness. The interior of several were borderline bloody. They came slathered with bottled barbecue sauce, which didn't help. There are better choices in town, if you prefer authentic Buffalo-style wings.

We may try a sub from here at a future date, but no more pizza or wings. What a shame - this town could really use an old-school pizza and wing joint.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas J, Owner at Pizza Tonite, responded to this review, September 28, 2016
John, thank you for your review. I know that your review was 4 years ago but I am the new owner and ask that you give us another shot. I changed to a higher grade pepperoni as well as a higher grade of cheese. We have tweaked the sauce and had rave reviews. Now I am not certain why you would hold a slice of pizza vertically but when slices are hot, you would probably find that everything slides off with any pizza.
I too do not like an under-cooked pizza. It does leave the crust rubbery, even with a stone oven. Again, we are under new ownership. Give us another chance and you won't be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We ordered the Coney Island Pizza, sausage and cheese, and Italian cheese bread. The Coney was very different and was great! The sausage was our favorite. The cheese bread was a little salty for my taste, but the rest of the family couldn't get enough.

The staff was very friendly, but the location was a lttle tricky to find if you are picking up.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In a town with a lot of pizza options, this is the best by far.”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

If you like a quality pizza, this is your place. My wife and I are pretty serious foodies and have enjoyed great pizzas from all over the country. These guys can compete with any place that does classic America style pizza. The owner is always friendly and he's trained his staff to be the same way. Pizza Tonite is slightly more expensive than the cheap pizza that is everywhere to be found, but their pizza well worth the small price difference.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Tonite also viewed

Gaylord, Otsego County
 
Gaylord, Otsego County
Gaylord, Otsego County
 
Gaylord, Otsego County
 

Been to Pizza Tonite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing