We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slow kitchen, mediocre food”

Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse
Ranked #56 of 73 Restaurants in Gaylord
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Akron, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“slow kitchen, mediocre food”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

went to the big buck after a long day of snowmobiling. arrived there at 7:20 and at 8:30 we still didn't have our food. finally the food came and i had ordered a salad with a chicken breast and it came without the chicken, 20 minutes later i got the chicken. meanwhile another man in our party had ordered a burger, he bit into it and it was rare and he had ordered medium well...waitress took it back and 25 minutes later brought out a new plate for him. meanwhile everyone else had finished eating. the manager (i assumed) came to our table and apologized, explaining that they had new people in the kitchen and she would not charge for my salad or his burger. my salad was supposed to have apples, cranberries and candied nuts, the nuts were burnt and i got 4 verrrrrry thin slices of apple (not even a quarter of an apple). this was a $14 salad! another table mates mashed potatoes were cold.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 61cdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    53
    50
    49
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was our 2nd visit in a 2 year interval. It is absolutely great to eat in this restaurant. The food is good, the staff are pleasant but it is the experience of being in this brew pub that is fun. Beautiful furniture and decor.great beer. I wish we were able to return on a more regular basis.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gaye151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Almost good?? Good intentions!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I've started going to Big Buck many years ago and I stopped in twice last month. Everything here is "okay", and a couple of things are really good! The atmosphere, north country decor, standard IPA, Hickory Smoked Steak Burger, and Nick the server, were very good. But mostly, this well intentioned restaurant misses the mark. The beers are not exceptional craft beers, the food is overpriced ( 6 tater tots wrapped in bacon, $8, a pint and a burger $20), and the service is inconsistent. Perhaps everyone needs more training....the chili was tasty but served lukewarm, the days specials were printed on a slip of paper but the server never mentioned them, charging .50 cents for brown mustard?, another server stating "I don't know, I'm not much of a beer person". Location near the highway and "up north" atmosphere are the only things that will draw you back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre Service; Great Beer”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The service isn't always the best, but we make sure to stop on our way from the U.P. to Detroit for good food and even better beer. Make sure to bring a growler with you and fill it up!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bart22972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Tawas, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had to wait for a table in a mostly empty resturant and then it took our waiter 15 minutes to show up with a beer menu. The food was ok but over priced and once it arrived we never saw the waiter again until he brought the check. I wish I had followed my impulse just to leave before the waiter ever arrived.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse also viewed

 
Gaylord, Otsego County
 
Gaylord, Otsego County
Gaylord, Otsego County
 

Been to Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing