We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service and food have gone downhill”

Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse
Ranked #45 of 70 Restaurants in Gaylord
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Service and food have gone downhill”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our service was extremely slow, and the restaurant was almost empty. The food was lacking in flavor and lukewarm at best. The beer was a big disappointment for a microbrewery.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank topfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    53
    50
    47
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great steak, great dessert!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We went for dinner. My friend has a summer home in the area and said that they never had a bad meal there. I agree that we did have a good meal. I tried the house distilled gin in a gin and tonic, and the botanicals were not unique or overbearing. The steak was prepared perfectly medium rare, and the side order of beans was also good. The mashed potatoes were OK but cold. The dessert of caramel spiced apples and pears on baked puff pastry with vanilla ice cream was a treat!! I liked the north woods decor. And the service was excellent!!

Helpful?
Thank CJGurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“only beer”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

the wine prices are ridiculous,but the beer is good with a great selection. Food was good too. Service was very personal and helpful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Norm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“so disppointed”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We gave this place a second chance and once again were disappointed. Although large and bright, it was so noisey and we waited a long time before being served our meal. My husband is a Prime rib lover and what we got was overdone,fattyand overly warm even though we asked for a medium rare. Potaoes overcooked and vegetables cold.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kipper2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancelona, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More than a Steakhouse”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Big Buck has a large selection of food. The steaks are excellent and the sides are also. They have seafood and salads and chicken for the people who don't want beef. The decor is northwoods and they have lots of taxidermy. They are a bit pricey but not outrageous. The service is usually good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Delores B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse also viewed

 
Gaylord, Otsego County
 
Gaylord, Otsego County
Gaylord, Otsego County
 

Been to Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing