We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience”
Review of Treetops Resort

Treetops Resort
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There are four courses at Treetops - the Masterpiece, Treetops Premier, the Signature and the Tradition.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed at the lodge in a very nice, large room with all the amenities. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Played at the Fazio and Jones's courses. Fazio was tired;however, the Jones course was in superb shape. Always a joy to visit Treetops.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank hasbeanshockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    47
    25
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Okemos, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Treetops Golf - Fazio Course”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Gaylord, MI - Treetops Fazio June 2012. Annual golf trip with 4 buddies. Well Treetops isn't what it used to be. We have made Treetops part of our 10 course rotation for several years. Last year the round was so slow (+7hrs) because the rangers went home early. Clubshouse management gave a free replay as mea culpa. We cashed the replay in this year. Round was faster because tee sheet empty! To be fair, the greens and course were lush as weather this winter and spring have treated all northern Michigan courses kindly. But this is where Treetops continues to go down hill. Their on-course management is poor and getting worse! Agian, no ranger to move things along. Furthermore they don't rake the bunkers, and most importantly they don't have a beverage cart or staff the half-way house. For the fees they charge you would at least expect the basics at a top flight course. We have decided to take the two rounds we normally play there each year off the rotation and will play other courses. If we hear they make improvements we will consider again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MyDailyNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davisburg, Michigan
1 review
“Golfing for Multiple Sclerosis”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We were granted 36 holes of golf for a minimal cart fee to raise money for Multiple Sclerosis. The Signature course was in great shape and had fantastic vistas. The entire staff at Treetops treated us kindly and we would recommend Treetops to any golfer looking for a most pleasant golf adventure.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tmpmgoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Golf, golf, golf and what fantastic views!”
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We arrived on Friday, early check-in, for my husband to attend day 1 of 3 lessons, and I had a fantastic, wonderful 85-minute massage.

The Spa: nice, friendly people. Prices a little on the high end, but well worth the endulgence to treat ones self.

The Lodge room: for 2 people...huge space, a bit out dated decor but if you are here it's for the beautiful, natural views outside. Pool was closed but hot tub was open, a nice relaxing way to end the day. Kitchenette area has coffee pot and mugs but no other utensils. Left overs were a waste without the use of forks and knives.

The Courses: we did two...Fazio course, amazing layouts and long lush green spaces. Finished with 9-holes of the Masterpiece, mostly because of weather - cold and rainy keeps people away, but after 9 holes it gets a bit chilly. Amazing course, water hazards, rolling green grass, troublesome sand traps.

It was a joy to be able to go out and hit a few balls. I'm just a beginner, with 4 weeks of instruction under my belt, and these two days make my 2nd and 3rd days out actually golfing. I loved both courses, completely amazing experience!

My husband thoroughly enjoyed his lessons, and had enough energy to go out and golf with me. I look forward to coming back in a year or two for my own lessons, if need be, and playing on those courses again.

The food: dinner at Legends was very good, service was friendly, food portion was extremely too big, price was decent. Breakfast on Saturday at Legends was awful! We waited 45 minutes for a plate of disgusting scrambled eggs and a plate of over medium eggs (which were too runny). The waitstaff ran around refilling coffee cups instead if bringing out plates of food.
Breakfast on Sunday at Legends was a bit better, but still slow, they added an express breakfast sandwich, but I don't think that helped. Wait for pancakes and waffles was around 20 minutes. Lunch at the Sports Bar was quite good, before we headed out to golf.

Overall, you go to this resort to enjoy the outdoors, either golf, or snow related activities. The rooms could be updated but I'd suggest that they soundproof the hallways instead. The front desk staff are fantastic, the cart helpers are courteous and extremely professional. It feels as if everyone has made this stay memorial for us, and we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly!

Helpful?
Thank Raza88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful golf, dated room.”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

A friend and I used a gift certificate to stay in one of the older rooms and play the Fazio "Premier" golf course. Room was fine and clean but dated as was the entire lodge building. The Fazio course was fabulous! Beautiful rolling land used imagineably and creatively in crafting 18 unique holes. Greens were in fine shape, medium fast and readable. In late August, we teed off at 8:30 and had the course to ourselves finishing in 3 1/2 hours.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank RLL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treetops Resort also viewed

 
Gaylord, Otsego County
 

Been to Treetops Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing